Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

New Haven, Connecticut

Yale University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Yale University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$64,700

Average net price after aid

$27,818

Total attendance cost

$85,120

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Yale University Expensive?

Yale University reports tuition of $64,700 (out-of-state) / $64,700 (in-state) and an average net price of $27,818. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Yale University is a private nonprofit in New Haven, CT. The total estimated cost of attendance is $85,120, the acceptance rate is 4.50%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $100,533.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Yale University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Yale University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Yale University fit your shortlist?

Yale University is a private nonprofit in New Haven, CT. Its reported average net price is $27,818, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $64,700. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in New Haven with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 96.33% completion rate and $100,533 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Connecticut schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Yale University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$64,700

Net price

$27,818

Acceptance rate

4.50%

SAT

1,534

ACT

33-35

Graduation rate

96.33%

Salary after graduation

$100,533

ROI payback

1.1 yrs

Reported snapshot

Yale University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

6,811

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

8,263

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

6:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

98.97%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address Woodbridge Hall, New Haven, CT 06520

Admissions

Is Yale University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 4.50%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

4.50%

SAT overall

1,534

ACT range

33-35

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$64,700

Room and board

$19,180

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$3,420

Net price

$27,818

4-year net price

$111,272

Yale University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $28,132 $56,988 $2,344/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $19,744 $65,376 $1,645/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $20,900 $64,220 $1,742/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $17,004 $68,116 $1,417/mo
Over $110,000 $49,347 $35,773 $4,112/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Yale University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

19.16%

Federal loan rate

5.82%

Students with any loan

44.87%

Median completer debt

$12,975

Median monthly payment

$138

Loan principal

$11,648

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 439
3-year repayment count 438
5-year repayment count 604
7-year repayment count 813
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

66.12%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

96.33%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$100,533

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $81,765
10-year median earnings $100,533
10-year mean earnings $124,400
Simple ROI payback 1.1 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 32.39%
32.39%
Hispanic 15.71%
15.71%
Asian 22.83%
22.83%
Black 8.81%
8.81%
Two or more races 7.22%
7.22%
Nonresident alien 10.63%
10.63%

Gender and economic profile

Men 48.23%
48.23%
Women 51.77%
51.77%

First-generation share

25.00%

Low-income share

31.74%

Average family income

$731

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Social sciences 22.50%
22.50%
Biological sciences 11.66%
11.66%
Computer and information sciences 10.97%
10.97%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 8.07%
8.07%
Mathematics 6.90%
6.90%
Engineering 6.83%
6.83%
History 5.18%
5.18%
Ethnic, cultural and gender studies 4.76%
4.76%
Psychology 4.35%
4.35%
Visual and performing arts 3.86%
3.86%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 565 $150,882
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Graduate/Professional Certificate 224 Not reported
Law First Professional Degree 218 Not reported
Economics Bachelor's Degree 198 $87,166
Natural Resources Conservation and Research Master's Degree 168 $59,489
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 159 $57,333
Public Health Master's Degree 127 $75,393
Theological and Ministerial Studies Master's Degree 124 $41,037
Music Master's Degree 124 $20,839
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's Degree 116 $95,157
Medicine First Professional Degree 112 Not reported
History Bachelor's Degree 108 $52,357
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 96 $133,998
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Master's Degree 96 $115,929
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences Bachelor's Degree 93 $30,534
Architectural Sciences and Technology Master's Degree 78 $65,632
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology Master's Degree 73 $66,625
Economics Master's Degree 72 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$150,882

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

$133,998

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

$115,929

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

$95,157

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$87,166

Public Health

Master's Degree

$75,393

Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology

Master's Degree

$66,625

Architectural Sciences and Technology

Master's Degree

$65,632

Natural Resources Conservation and Research

Master's Degree

$59,489

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$57,333

History

Bachelor's Degree

$52,357

Theological and Ministerial Studies

Master's Degree

$41,037

Published tuition and cost components

Yale University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $64,700
In-state tuition $64,700
Out-of-state tuition $64,700
Cost per year $85,120
Average net price $27,818
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $340,480
Estimated 4-year net price $111,272

Yale University In-State Tuition

Yale University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,700. Yale University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Yale University Out-of-State Tuition

Yale University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,700. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Yale University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Yale University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $85,120, while the average net price after aid is $27,818.

Cost per year

$85,120

4-year attendance estimate

$340,480

4-year net price estimate

$111,272

Yale University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 4.50%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 4.50%
SAT average/range 1,534
SAT Math middle range 760-800
SAT Reading middle range 740-780
ACT middle range 33-35
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Yale University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Yale University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,534, SAT Math range is 760-800, and SAT Reading range is 740-780.

Yale University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Yale University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 33-35.

Yale University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Yale University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Yale University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 4.50%
SAT data: 1,534
ACT data: 33-35

Yale University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Yale University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Yale University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Yale University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Yale University Financial Aid

Yale University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 19.16% and federal loan rate is 5.82%.

Yale University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Yale University.

Yale University Net Price by Family Income

Yale University net price is $27,818 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Yale University Rankings 2026

Yale University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 96.33%
Salary after graduation $100,533
10-year median earnings $100,533
State average net price $22,661
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.1 years simple payback

Yale University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Yale University has 190 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

565 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Graduate/Professional Certificate

224 reported awards

Program

Law

First Professional Degree

218 reported awards

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

198 reported awards

Program

Natural Resources Conservation and Research

Master's Degree

168 reported awards

Program

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

159 reported awards

Program

Public Health

Master's Degree

127 reported awards

Program

Theological and Ministerial Studies

Master's Degree

124 reported awards

Yale University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $150,882

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $133,998

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $132,023

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $115,929

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $95,157

Health and Medical Administrative Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $88,985

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $87,166

Natural Resources Management and Policy

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $76,818

Yale University Graduation Rate

Yale University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 96.33%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Yale University Salary After Graduation

Yale University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $100,533 for 10-year median earnings.

Yale University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Yale University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.1 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Yale University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$64,700

Out-of-state tuition

$64,700

Average net price

$27,818

Attendance cost

$85,120

Yale University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Yale University.

Tuition

Per semester: $32,350

Annual: $64,700

Room and board

Per semester: $9,590

Annual: $19,180

Books and supplies

Per semester: $500

Annual: $1,000

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,710

Annual: $3,420

Attendance cost

Per semester: $42,560

Annual: $85,120

Yale University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$258,800

Four-year attendance estimate

$340,480

Four-year average net price

$111,272

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Yale University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $64,700 and out-of-state tuition is $64,700. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Yale University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Yale University reports $64,700 for out-of-state tuition and $64,700 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$19,180

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

Not available

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,000

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$3,420

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$85,120

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Yale University pays approximately $27,818 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Connecticut average of $22,661 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

4.50%

SAT Average

1,534

ACT Range

33-35

Yale University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 4.50%. This means approximately 45 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 6,811 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

4.50%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

New England Commission on Higher Education

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$64,700

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$64,700

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$85,120

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$27,818

State avg: $22,661. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

19.16%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

5.82%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Yale University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$64,700

Room and board

$19,180

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$3,420

Sticker price

$85,120

Average net price

$27,818

Average aid coverage

67%

$57,302 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Yale University pays approximately $27,818 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Connecticut average of $22,661 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Yale University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Connecticut and national averages.

Yale University net price

$27,818

Connecticut average

$22,661

National average

$17,506

Yale University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $64,700 and average net price at $27,818. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$64,700

Current net price

$27,818

Current out-of-state tuition $64,700
Current average net price $27,818

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

96.33%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$100,533

Undergraduates

6,811

10-Year Median Earnings - Yale University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Yale University $100,533
Trinity College $90,779
National average $43,639

Yale University graduates earn about 2.3x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Yale University?

Undergraduates

6,811

Completion rate

96.33%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

19.16%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

5.82%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 19.16% of Yale University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 5.82% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

19.16%

Federal loan rate

5.82%

Students with any loan

44.87%

Average net price

$27,818

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Yale University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Yale University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$11,648

Median completer debt

$12,975

Median monthly payment

$138

Federal loan rate

5.82%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Yale University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Yale University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Yale University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Yale University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Yale University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$40,746,867,000

Endowment per undergraduate

$5,982,509

Faculty salary field

$22,124

Tuition revenue per FTE

$19,522

Instructional spend per FTE

$75,416

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Yale University lists New England Commission on Higher Education as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Yale University is listed at Woodbridge Hall, New Haven, CT 06520. Accreditor: New England Commission on Higher Education.

Address

Woodbridge Hall
New Haven, CT 06520

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Yale University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Yale University
Accept. rate
4.50%
Tuition
$64,700
Net price
$27,818
10-yr earnings
$100,533
Rensselaer at Hartford
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$102,051
Trinity College
Accept. rate
33.52%
Tuition
$67,420
Net price
$35,009
10-yr earnings
$90,779
Fairfield University
Accept. rate
44.98%
Tuition
$56,360
Net price
$46,274
10-yr earnings
$88,794
Quinnipiac University
Accept. rate
77.00%
Tuition
$53,090
Net price
$39,207
10-yr earnings
$83,759

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Yale University Tuition?

Yale University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,700. In-state tuition is $64,700. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Yale University's average net price?

Yale University's average net price per College Scorecard is $27,818. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Yale University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Yale University.

What is Yale University's acceptance rate?

Yale University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 4.50%.

What does Yale University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $28,132 for Yale University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Yale University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $100,533 for Yale University.

Is Yale University accredited?

Yale University's accreditor per College Scorecard is New England Commission on Higher Education.

How many students attend Yale University?

Per College Scorecard, 6,811 undergraduate students at Yale University.

What percentage of Yale University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Yale University per College Scorecard is 19.16%.

What is the federal loan rate at Yale University?

The federal loan rate for Yale University per College Scorecard is 5.82%.

Where should I verify Yale University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Yale University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Yale University report?

Yale University reports SAT data around 1,534, with math 760-800 and reading 740-780 where available.

What GPA requirements does Yale University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Yale University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Yale University offer?

Yale University has reported program records including Business Administration, Management and Operations, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Law. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Yale University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.1 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.