Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Natchitoches, Louisiana

Northwestern State University of Louisiana: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Northwestern State University of Louisiana starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$19,652

Average net price after aid

$13,809

Total attendance cost

$24,496

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Northwestern State University of Louisiana Expensive?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana reports tuition of $19,652 (out-of-state) / $8,864 (in-state) and an average net price of $13,809. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana is a public in Natchitoches, LA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $24,496, the acceptance rate is 93.74%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $47,021.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Northwestern State University of Louisiana’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Northwestern State University of Louisiana tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Northwestern State University of Louisiana fit your shortlist?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana is a public in Natchitoches, LA. Its reported average net price is $13,809, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $19,652. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Natchitoches with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 44.63% completion rate and $47,021 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Louisiana schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Northwestern State University of Louisiana may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$19,652

Net price

$13,809

Acceptance rate

93.74%

SAT

1,090

ACT

18-24

Graduation rate

44.63%

Salary after graduation

$47,021

ROI payback

1.2 yrs

Reported snapshot

Northwestern State University of Louisiana at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

5,840

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

949

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

16:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

70.42%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 175 Sam Sibley Drive, Natchitoches, LA 71497-0002

Admissions

Is Northwestern State University of Louisiana hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 93.74%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

93.74%

SAT overall

1,090

ACT range

18-24

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$19,652

Room and board

$10,617

Books and supplies

$1,300

Other expenses

$5,924

Net price

$13,809

4-year net price

$55,236

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $12,129 $12,367 $1,011/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $12,307 $12,189 $1,026/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $14,216 $10,280 $1,185/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $17,311 $7,185 $1,443/mo
Over $110,000 $18,107 $6,389 $1,509/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Northwestern State University of Louisiana's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

34.88%

Federal loan rate

36.68%

Students with any loan

83.31%

Median completer debt

$25,000

Median monthly payment

$265

Loan principal

$15,000

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 3,157
3-year repayment count 3,306
5-year repayment count 3,143
7-year repayment count 2,845
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

32.20%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

44.63%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$47,021

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $39,485
10-year median earnings $47,021
10-year mean earnings $39,600
Simple ROI payback 1.2 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 53.61%
53.61%
Hispanic 6.10%
6.10%
Asian 0.96%
0.96%
Black 29.67%
29.67%
Two or more races 4.73%
4.73%
Nonresident alien 1.92%
1.92%

Gender and economic profile

Men 28.84%
28.84%
Women 71.16%
71.16%

First-generation share

42.43%

Low-income share

48.03%

Average family income

$3,979

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Associate Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Health professions 29.07%
29.07%
Liberal arts and humanities 23.56%
23.56%
Business and marketing 9.02%
9.02%
Psychology 6.66%
6.66%
Biological sciences 6.54%
6.54%
Visual and performing arts 3.69%
3.69%
Public Administration Social Service 3.21%
3.21%
Family and consumer sciences 3.03%
3.03%
Homeland security and law enforcement 2.79%
2.79%
Engineering technologies 2.18%
2.18%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 279 $63,885
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities Associate's Degree 211 $32,129
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Associate's Degree 154 $63,860
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities Bachelor's Degree 152 $29,380
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 123 $33,378
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 119 $26,391
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 97 $21,223
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's Degree 75 $90,397
Criminal Justice and Corrections Bachelor's Degree 63 $27,145
Social Work Bachelor's Degree 56 $25,591
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Bachelor's Degree 54 $52,493
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 53 $41,552
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Master's Degree 50 $41,907
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 49 $27,373
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 40 $23,397
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Bachelor's Degree 36 $39,767
Special Education and Teaching Graduate/Professional Certificate 32 Not reported
Information Science/Studies Bachelor's Degree 31 $52,057

Highest reported program salary signals

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

$90,397

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$63,885

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Associate's Degree

$63,860

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Bachelor's Degree

$52,493

Information Science/Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$52,057

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Master's Degree

$41,907

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$41,552

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

$39,767

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$33,378

Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities

Associate's Degree

$32,129

Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities

Bachelor's Degree

$29,380

Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$27,373

Published tuition and cost components

Northwestern State University of Louisiana tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $19,652
In-state tuition $8,864
Out-of-state tuition $19,652
Cost per year $24,496
Average net price $13,809
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $97,984
Estimated 4-year net price $55,236

Northwestern State University of Louisiana In-State Tuition

Northwestern State University of Louisiana in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $8,864. Northwestern State University of Louisiana is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Out-of-State Tuition

Northwestern State University of Louisiana out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $19,652. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Louisiana Residency for Northwestern State University of Louisiana?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $10,788 per year, or $43,152 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$35,456

4-year out-of-state tuition

$78,608

4-year premium

$43,152

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Northwestern State University of Louisiana cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $24,496, while the average net price after aid is $13,809.

Cost per year

$24,496

4-year attendance estimate

$97,984

4-year net price estimate

$55,236

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 93.74%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 93.74%
SAT average/range 1,090
SAT Math middle range 430-623
SAT Reading middle range 495-620
ACT middle range 18-24
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Northwestern State University of Louisiana SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Northwestern State University of Louisiana are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,090, SAT Math range is 430-623, and SAT Reading range is 495-620.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Northwestern State University of Louisiana should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 18-24.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Northwestern State University of Louisiana admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 93.74%
SAT data: 1,090
ACT data: 18-24

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Northwestern State University of Louisiana Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Northwestern State University of Louisiana's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Northwestern State University of Louisiana provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Financial Aid

Northwestern State University of Louisiana financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 34.88% and federal loan rate is 36.68%.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Northwestern State University of Louisiana.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Net Price by Family Income

Northwestern State University of Louisiana net price is $13,809 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Rankings 2026

Northwestern State University of Louisiana ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 44.63%
Salary after graduation $47,021
10-year median earnings $47,021
State average net price $17,038
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.2 years simple payback

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Northwestern State University of Louisiana has 73 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

279 reported awards

Program

Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities

Associate's Degree

211 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Associate's Degree

154 reported awards

Program

Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities

Bachelor's Degree

152 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

123 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

119 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

97 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

75 reported awards

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $90,397

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $63,885

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Associate's Degree

Program earnings: $63,860

Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $57,708

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $53,442

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $52,493

Information Science/Studies

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $52,057

Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $51,023

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Graduation Rate

Northwestern State University of Louisiana graduation rate per College Scorecard is 44.63%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Salary After Graduation

Northwestern State University of Louisiana salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $47,021 for 10-year median earnings.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Northwestern State University of Louisiana reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.2 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$8,864

Out-of-state tuition

$19,652

Average net price

$13,809

Attendance cost

$24,496

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Northwestern State University of Louisiana.

Tuition

Per semester: $9,826

Annual: $19,652

Room and board

Per semester: $5,309

Annual: $10,617

Books and supplies

Per semester: $650

Annual: $1,300

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $2,962

Annual: $5,924

Attendance cost

Per semester: $12,248

Annual: $24,496

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$78,608

Four-year attendance estimate

$97,984

Four-year average net price

$55,236

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Northwestern State University of Louisiana is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $8,864 and out-of-state tuition is $19,652. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Northwestern State University of Louisiana as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$10,617

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$11,337

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,300

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$5,924

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$24,496

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Northwestern State University of Louisiana pays approximately $13,809 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Louisiana average of $17,038 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

93.74%

SAT Average

1,090

ACT Range

18-24

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 93.74%. This means approximately 937 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 5,840 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

93.74%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$8,864

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$19,652

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$24,496

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$13,809

State avg: $17,038. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

34.88%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

36.68%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Northwestern State University of Louisiana Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$19,652

Room and board

$10,617

Books and supplies

$1,300

Other expenses

$5,924

Sticker price

$24,496

Average net price

$13,809

Average aid coverage

44%

$10,687 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Northwestern State University of Louisiana pays approximately $13,809 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Louisiana average of $17,038 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Northwestern State University of Louisiana?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Louisiana and national averages.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana net price

$13,809

Louisiana average

$17,038

National average

$17,506

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $19,652 and average net price at $13,809. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$19,652

Current net price

$13,809

Current out-of-state tuition $19,652
Current average net price $13,809

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

44.63%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$47,021

Undergraduates

5,840

10-Year Median Earnings - Northwestern State University of Louisiana vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana graduates earn about 1.1x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Northwestern State University of Louisiana?

Undergraduates

5,840

Completion rate

44.63%

Below national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

34.88%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

36.68%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 34.88% of Northwestern State University of Louisiana students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 36.68% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

34.88%

Federal loan rate

36.68%

Students with any loan

83.31%

Average net price

$13,809

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Northwestern State University of Louisiana's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$15,000

Median completer debt

$25,000

Median monthly payment

$265

Federal loan rate

36.68%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Northwestern State University of Louisiana Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Northwestern State University of Louisiana's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Northwestern State University of Louisiana's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Northwestern State University of Louisiana's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$17,702,752

Endowment per undergraduate

$3,031

Faculty salary field

$7,186

Tuition revenue per FTE

$5,405

Instructional spend per FTE

$6,892

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Northwestern State University of Louisiana lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Northwestern State University of Louisiana is listed at 175 Sam Sibley Drive, Natchitoches, LA 71497-0002. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

175 Sam Sibley Drive
Natchitoches, LA 71497-0002

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Northwestern State University of Louisiana with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Northwestern State University of Louisiana
Accept. rate
93.74%
Tuition
$19,652
Net price
$13,809
10-yr earnings
$47,021
Chamberlain University-Louisiana
Accept. rate
90.91%
Tuition
$19,686
Net price
$36,972
10-yr earnings
$92,405
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$78,495
Baton Rouge General Medical Center School of Nursing & School of Radiologic Technology
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$75,071
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$74,671

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Northwestern State University of Louisiana tuition?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $19,652. In-state tuition is $8,864. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Northwestern State University of Louisiana's average net price?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana's average net price per College Scorecard is $13,809. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Northwestern State University of Louisiana fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Northwestern State University of Louisiana.

What is Northwestern State University of Louisiana's acceptance rate?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 93.74%.

What is Northwestern State University of Louisiana's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $47,021 for Northwestern State University of Louisiana.

Is Northwestern State University of Louisiana accredited?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Northwestern State University of Louisiana?

Per College Scorecard, 5,840 undergraduate students at Northwestern State University of Louisiana.

What percentage of Northwestern State University of Louisiana students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Northwestern State University of Louisiana per College Scorecard is 34.88%.

What is the federal loan rate at Northwestern State University of Louisiana?

The federal loan rate for Northwestern State University of Louisiana per College Scorecard is 36.68%.

Where should I verify Northwestern State University of Louisiana data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Northwestern State University of Louisiana or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Northwestern State University of Louisiana report?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana reports SAT data around 1,090, with math 430-623 and reading 495-620 where available.

What GPA requirements does Northwestern State University of Louisiana have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Northwestern State University of Louisiana application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Northwestern State University of Louisiana offer?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana has reported program records including Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Northwestern State University of Louisiana's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.2 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.