Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Amherst, Massachusetts

University of Massachusetts-Amherst: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing University of Massachusetts-Amherst starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$39,293

Average net price after aid

$23,691

Total attendance cost

$33,389

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is University of Massachusetts-Amherst Expensive?

University of Massachusetts-Amherst reports tuition of $39,293 (out-of-state) / $17,357 (in-state) and an average net price of $23,691. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst is a public in Amherst, MA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $33,389, the acceptance rate is 57.77%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $71,631.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on University of Massachusetts-Amherst’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View University of Massachusetts-Amherst tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could University of Massachusetts-Amherst fit your shortlist?

University of Massachusetts-Amherst is a public in Amherst, MA. Its reported average net price is $23,691, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $39,293. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Amherst with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 83.16% completion rate and $71,631 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Massachusetts schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. University of Massachusetts-Amherst may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$39,293

Net price

$23,691

Acceptance rate

57.77%

SAT

1,393

ACT

29-33

Graduation rate

83.16%

Salary after graduation

$71,631

ROI payback

1.3 yrs

Reported snapshot

University of Massachusetts-Amherst at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

23,694

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

7,874

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

18:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

91.00%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 374 Whitmore Building 181 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003

Admissions

Is University of Massachusetts-Amherst hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 57.77%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

57.77%

SAT overall

1,393

ACT range

29-33

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$39,293

Room and board

$14,869

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$1,440

Net price

$23,691

4-year net price

$94,764

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $11,103 $22,286 $925/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $13,259 $20,130 $1,105/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $16,738 $16,651 $1,395/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $24,016 $9,373 $2,001/mo
Over $110,000 $31,297 $2,092 $2,608/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use University of Massachusetts-Amherst's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

20.29%

Federal loan rate

47.89%

Students with any loan

93.58%

Median completer debt

$22,763

Median monthly payment

$241

Loan principal

$20,000

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 8,528
3-year repayment count 8,932
5-year repayment count 8,654
7-year repayment count 7,495
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

76.24%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

83.16%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

10.82%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$71,631

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $60,347
10-year median earnings $71,631
10-year mean earnings $57,700
Simple ROI payback 1.3 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 58.36%
58.36%
Hispanic 8.72%
8.72%
Asian 13.59%
13.59%
Black 4.40%
4.40%
Two or more races 4.22%
4.22%
Nonresident alien 7.50%
7.50%

Gender and economic profile

Men 48.02%
48.02%
Women 51.98%
51.98%

First-generation share

21.55%

Low-income share

22.84%

Average family income

$8,821

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Associate Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 15.12%
15.12%
Biological sciences 10.33%
10.33%
Social sciences 9.62%
9.62%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 8.13%
8.13%
Psychology 7.14%
7.14%
Computer and information sciences 7.02%
7.02%
Engineering 6.91%
6.91%
Health professions 6.62%
6.62%
Communication and journalism 4.46%
4.46%
Agriculture 3.47%
3.47%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 489 $33,355
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 440 $112,236
Economics Bachelor's Degree 404 $49,510
Communication and Media Studies Bachelor's Degree 317 $38,660
Computer Science Bachelor's Degree 310 $79,216
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 302 $31,324
Public Health Bachelor's Degree 292 $35,279
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's Degree 286 $40,847
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 280 $54,919
Computer Science Master's Degree 259 $110,600
Mathematics Bachelor's Degree 242 $49,522
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 234 $57,890
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 208 $35,030
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 194 $66,719
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 185 $68,607
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 180 $62,571
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences Bachelor's Degree 169 $32,667
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology Bachelor's Degree 166 $39,509

Highest reported program salary signals

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$112,236

Computer Science

Master's Degree

$110,600

Computer Science

Bachelor's Degree

$79,216

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$68,607

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$66,719

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$62,571

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$57,890

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$54,919

Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

$49,522

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$49,510

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

$40,847

Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology

Bachelor's Degree

$39,509

Published tuition and cost components

University of Massachusetts-Amherst tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $39,293
In-state tuition $17,357
Out-of-state tuition $39,293
Cost per year $33,389
Average net price $23,691
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $133,556
Estimated 4-year net price $94,764

University of Massachusetts-Amherst In-State Tuition

University of Massachusetts-Amherst in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $17,357. University of Massachusetts-Amherst is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Out-of-State Tuition

University of Massachusetts-Amherst out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $39,293. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Massachusetts Residency for University of Massachusetts-Amherst?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $21,936 per year, or $87,744 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$69,428

4-year out-of-state tuition

$157,172

4-year premium

$87,744

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

University of Massachusetts-Amherst cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $33,389, while the average net price after aid is $23,691.

Cost per year

$33,389

4-year attendance estimate

$133,556

4-year net price estimate

$94,764

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 57.77%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 57.77%
SAT average/range 1,393
SAT Math middle range 650-760
SAT Reading middle range 650-720
ACT middle range 29-33
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

University of Massachusetts-Amherst SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for University of Massachusetts-Amherst are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,393, SAT Math range is 650-760, and SAT Reading range is 650-720.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for University of Massachusetts-Amherst should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 29-33.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for University of Massachusetts-Amherst admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 57.77%
SAT data: 1,393
ACT data: 29-33

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to University of Massachusetts-Amherst Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at University of Massachusetts-Amherst's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if University of Massachusetts-Amherst provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Financial Aid

University of Massachusetts-Amherst financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 20.29% and federal loan rate is 47.89%.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Net Price by Family Income

University of Massachusetts-Amherst net price is $23,691 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Rankings 2026

University of Massachusetts-Amherst ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 83.16%
Salary after graduation $71,631
10-year median earnings $71,631
State average net price $23,961
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.3 years simple payback

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. University of Massachusetts-Amherst has 306 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

489 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

440 reported awards

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

404 reported awards

Program

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

317 reported awards

Program

Computer Science

Bachelor's Degree

310 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

302 reported awards

Program

Public Health

Bachelor's Degree

292 reported awards

Program

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

286 reported awards

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $112,236

Computer Science

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $110,600

Engineering-Related Fields

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $101,532

Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $99,888

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $97,497

Human Resources Management and Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $90,173

Computer Science

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $79,216

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $78,593

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Graduation Rate

University of Massachusetts-Amherst graduation rate per College Scorecard is 83.16%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Salary After Graduation

University of Massachusetts-Amherst salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $71,631 for 10-year median earnings.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, University of Massachusetts-Amherst reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.3 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$17,357

Out-of-state tuition

$39,293

Average net price

$23,691

Attendance cost

$33,389

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

Tuition

Per semester: $19,647

Annual: $39,293

Room and board

Per semester: $7,435

Annual: $14,869

Books and supplies

Per semester: $500

Annual: $1,000

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $720

Annual: $1,440

Attendance cost

Per semester: $16,695

Annual: $33,389

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$157,172

Four-year attendance estimate

$133,556

Four-year average net price

$94,764

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

University of Massachusetts-Amherst is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $17,357 and out-of-state tuition is $39,293. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists University of Massachusetts-Amherst as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$14,869

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$15,437

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,000

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$1,440

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$33,389

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at University of Massachusetts-Amherst pays approximately $23,691 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Massachusetts average of $23,961 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

57.77%

SAT Average

1,393

ACT Range

29-33

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 57.77%. This means approximately 578 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 23,694 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

57.77%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

New England Commission on Higher Education

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$17,357

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$39,293

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$33,389

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$23,691

State avg: $23,961. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

20.29%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

47.89%

Share using federal loans.

What Does University of Massachusetts-Amherst Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$39,293

Room and board

$14,869

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$1,440

Sticker price

$33,389

Average net price

$23,691

Average aid coverage

29%

$9,698 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at University of Massachusetts-Amherst pays approximately $23,691 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Massachusetts average of $23,961 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is University of Massachusetts-Amherst?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Massachusetts and national averages.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst net price

$23,691

Massachusetts average

$23,961

National average

$17,506

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $39,293 and average net price at $23,691. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$39,293

Current net price

$23,691

Current out-of-state tuition $39,293
Current average net price $23,691

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

83.16%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$71,631

Undergraduates

23,694

10-Year Median Earnings - University of Massachusetts-Amherst vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst graduates earn about 1.6x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends University of Massachusetts-Amherst?

Undergraduates

23,694

Completion rate

83.16%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

20.29%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

47.89%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 20.29% of University of Massachusetts-Amherst students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 47.89% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

20.29%

Federal loan rate

47.89%

Students with any loan

93.58%

Average net price

$23,691

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use University of Massachusetts-Amherst's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$20,000

Median completer debt

$22,763

Median monthly payment

$241

Federal loan rate

47.89%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open University of Massachusetts-Amherst Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open University of Massachusetts-Amherst's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review University of Massachusetts-Amherst's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use University of Massachusetts-Amherst's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$506,854,978

Endowment per undergraduate

$21,392

Faculty salary field

$13,556

Tuition revenue per FTE

$14,780

Instructional spend per FTE

$19,397

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

University of Massachusetts-Amherst lists New England Commission on Higher Education as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

University of Massachusetts-Amherst is listed at 374 Whitmore Building 181 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003. Accreditor: New England Commission on Higher Education.

Address

374 Whitmore Building 181 Presidents Drive
Amherst, MA 01003

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare University of Massachusetts-Amherst with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Accept. rate
57.77%
Tuition
$39,293
Net price
$23,691
10-yr earnings
$71,631
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Accept. rate
4.74%
Tuition
$60,156
Net price
$19,813
10-yr earnings
$143,372
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering
Accept. rate
21.66%
Tuition
$64,458
Net price
$20,575
10-yr earnings
$129,455
MCPHS University
Accept. rate
85.21%
Tuition
$38,850
Net price
$35,084
10-yr earnings
$125,557
Babson College
Accept. rate
19.74%
Tuition
$56,032
Net price
$38,876
10-yr earnings
$123,938

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is University of Massachusetts Amherst Tuition?

University of Massachusetts-Amherst out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $39,293. In-state tuition is $17,357. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is University of Massachusetts-Amherst's average net price?

University of Massachusetts-Amherst's average net price per College Scorecard is $23,691. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all University of Massachusetts-Amherst fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

What is University of Massachusetts-Amherst's acceptance rate?

University of Massachusetts-Amherst's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 57.77%.

What is University of Massachusetts-Amherst's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $71,631 for University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

Is University of Massachusetts-Amherst accredited?

University of Massachusetts-Amherst's accreditor per College Scorecard is New England Commission on Higher Education.

How many students attend University of Massachusetts-Amherst?

Per College Scorecard, 23,694 undergraduate students at University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

What percentage of University of Massachusetts-Amherst students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for University of Massachusetts-Amherst per College Scorecard is 20.29%.

What is the federal loan rate at University of Massachusetts-Amherst?

The federal loan rate for University of Massachusetts-Amherst per College Scorecard is 47.89%.

Where should I verify University of Massachusetts-Amherst data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with University of Massachusetts-Amherst or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does University of Massachusetts-Amherst report?

University of Massachusetts-Amherst reports SAT data around 1,393, with math 650-760 and reading 650-720 where available.

What GPA requirements does University of Massachusetts-Amherst have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the University of Massachusetts-Amherst application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does University of Massachusetts-Amherst offer?

University of Massachusetts-Amherst has reported program records including Psychology, General, Business Administration, Management and Operations, Economics. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is University of Massachusetts-Amherst's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.3 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.