Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Boston, Massachusetts

Boston University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Boston University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$65,168

Average net price after aid

$26,996

Total attendance cost

$82,694

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Boston University Expensive?

Boston University reports tuition of $65,168 (out-of-state) / $65,168 (in-state) and an average net price of $26,996. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Boston University is a private nonprofit in Boston, MA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $82,694, the acceptance rate is 10.85%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $83,238.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Boston University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Boston University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Boston University fit your shortlist?

Boston University is a private nonprofit in Boston, MA. Its reported average net price is $26,996, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $65,168. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Boston with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 89.97% completion rate and $83,238 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Massachusetts schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Boston University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$65,168

Net price

$26,996

Acceptance rate

10.85%

SAT

1,473

ACT

32-34

Graduation rate

89.97%

Salary after graduation

$83,238

ROI payback

1.3 yrs

Reported snapshot

Boston University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

17,850

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

17,968

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

10:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

94.51%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address One Silber Way, Boston, MA 02215

Admissions

Is Boston University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 10.85%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

10.85%

SAT overall

1,473

ACT range

32-34

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$65,168

Room and board

$18,110

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$2,085

Net price

$26,996

4-year net price

$107,984

Boston University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $11,453 $71,241 $954/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $11,167 $71,527 $931/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $13,639 $69,055 $1,137/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $25,501 $57,193 $2,125/mo
Over $110,000 $48,018 $34,676 $4,002/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Boston University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

17.97%

Federal loan rate

22.61%

Students with any loan

94.23%

Median completer debt

$23,250

Median monthly payment

$246

Loan principal

$21,500

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 4,536
3-year repayment count 4,714
5-year repayment count 4,735
7-year repayment count 4,579
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

83.37%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

89.97%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$83,238

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $65,655
10-year median earnings $83,238
10-year mean earnings $75,900
Simple ROI payback 1.3 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 32.85%
32.85%
Hispanic 11.31%
11.31%
Asian 19.88%
19.88%
Black 5.96%
5.96%
Two or more races 4.55%
4.55%
Nonresident alien 21.84%
21.84%

Gender and economic profile

Men 41.71%
41.71%
Women 58.29%
58.29%

First-generation share

16.94%

Low-income share

21.75%

Average family income

$4,193

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 17.30%
17.30%
Social sciences 15.21%
15.21%
Communication and journalism 12.64%
12.64%
Biological sciences 10.99%
10.99%
Engineering 7.93%
7.93%
Computer and information sciences 6.84%
6.84%
Psychology 5.47%
5.47%
Health professions 5.23%
5.23%
Visual and performing arts 3.80%
3.80%
Mathematics 2.74%
2.74%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 691 $60,547
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 499 $104,027
Communication and Media Studies Bachelor's Degree 428 $41,873
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods Master's Degree 402 $80,155
Social Work Master's Degree 355 $49,509
Information Science/Studies Master's Degree 351 $92,380
Economics Bachelor's Degree 300 $53,654
Public Health Master's Degree 297 $56,618
Law First Professional Degree 282 $108,069
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 264 $36,705
Finance and Financial Management Services Master's Degree 257 $87,851
Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies Master's Degree 240 $87,263
International Relations and National Security Studies Bachelor's Degree 237 $38,920
Computer Science Bachelor's Degree 232 $82,237
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication Bachelor's Degree 219 $32,475
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 212 $34,542
Dentistry First Professional Degree 202 $115,398
Computer Science Master's Degree 200 $110,318

Highest reported program salary signals

Dentistry

First Professional Degree

$115,398

Computer Science

Master's Degree

$110,318

Law

First Professional Degree

$108,069

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$104,027

Information Science/Studies

Master's Degree

$92,380

Finance and Financial Management Services

Master's Degree

$87,851

Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies

Master's Degree

$87,263

Computer Science

Bachelor's Degree

$82,237

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

$80,155

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$60,547

Public Health

Master's Degree

$56,618

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$53,654

Published tuition and cost components

Boston University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $65,168
In-state tuition $65,168
Out-of-state tuition $65,168
Cost per year $82,694
Average net price $26,996
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $330,776
Estimated 4-year net price $107,984

Boston University In-State Tuition

Boston University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $65,168. Boston University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Boston University Out-of-State Tuition

Boston University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $65,168. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Boston University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Boston University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $82,694, while the average net price after aid is $26,996.

Cost per year

$82,694

4-year attendance estimate

$330,776

4-year net price estimate

$107,984

Boston University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 10.85%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 10.85%
SAT average/range 1,473
SAT Math middle range 720-780
SAT Reading middle range 680-740
ACT middle range 32-34
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Boston University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Boston University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,473, SAT Math range is 720-780, and SAT Reading range is 680-740.

Boston University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Boston University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 32-34.

Boston University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Boston University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Boston University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 10.85%
SAT data: 1,473
ACT data: 32-34

Boston University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Boston University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Boston University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Boston University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Boston University Financial Aid

Boston University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 17.97% and federal loan rate is 22.61%.

Boston University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Boston University.

Boston University Net Price by Family Income

Boston University net price is $26,996 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Boston University Rankings 2026

Boston University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 89.97%
Salary after graduation $83,238
10-year median earnings $83,238
State average net price $23,961
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.3 years simple payback

Boston University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Boston University has 308 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

691 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

499 reported awards

Program

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

428 reported awards

Program

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

402 reported awards

Program

Social Work

Master's Degree

355 reported awards

Program

Information Science/Studies

Master's Degree

351 reported awards

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

300 reported awards

Program

Public Health

Master's Degree

297 reported awards

Boston University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences

Graduate/Professional Certificate

Program earnings: $223,140

Dentistry

First Professional Degree

Program earnings: $115,398

Insurance

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $112,170

Computer Science

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $110,318

Law

First Professional Degree

Program earnings: $108,069

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $104,027

Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $101,869

Computer Software and Media Applications

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $98,965

Boston University Graduation Rate

Boston University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 89.97%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Boston University Salary After Graduation

Boston University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $83,238 for 10-year median earnings.

Boston University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Boston University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.3 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Boston University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$65,168

Out-of-state tuition

$65,168

Average net price

$26,996

Attendance cost

$82,694

Boston University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Boston University.

Tuition

Per semester: $32,584

Annual: $65,168

Room and board

Per semester: $9,055

Annual: $18,110

Books and supplies

Per semester: $500

Annual: $1,000

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,043

Annual: $2,085

Attendance cost

Per semester: $41,347

Annual: $82,694

Boston University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$260,672

Four-year attendance estimate

$330,776

Four-year average net price

$107,984

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Boston University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $65,168 and out-of-state tuition is $65,168. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Boston University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Boston University reports $65,168 for out-of-state tuition and $65,168 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$18,110

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$18,110

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,000

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$2,085

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$82,694

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Boston University pays approximately $26,996 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Massachusetts average of $23,961 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

10.85%

SAT Average

1,473

ACT Range

32-34

Boston University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 10.85%. This means approximately 109 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 17,850 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

10.85%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

New England Commission on Higher Education

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$65,168

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$65,168

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$82,694

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$26,996

State avg: $23,961. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

17.97%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

22.61%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Boston University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$65,168

Room and board

$18,110

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$2,085

Sticker price

$82,694

Average net price

$26,996

Average aid coverage

67%

$55,698 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Boston University pays approximately $26,996 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Massachusetts average of $23,961 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Boston University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Massachusetts and national averages.

Boston University net price

$26,996

Massachusetts average

$23,961

National average

$17,506

Boston University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $65,168 and average net price at $26,996. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$65,168

Current net price

$26,996

Current out-of-state tuition $65,168
Current average net price $26,996

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

89.97%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$83,238

Undergraduates

17,850

10-Year Median Earnings - Boston University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Boston University graduates earn about 1.9x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Boston University?

Undergraduates

17,850

Completion rate

89.97%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

17.97%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

22.61%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 17.97% of Boston University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 22.61% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

17.97%

Federal loan rate

22.61%

Students with any loan

94.23%

Average net price

$26,996

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Boston University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Boston University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$21,500

Median completer debt

$23,250

Median monthly payment

$246

Federal loan rate

22.61%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Boston University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Boston University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Boston University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Boston University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Boston University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$3,138,326,000

Endowment per undergraduate

$175,817

Faculty salary field

$16,124

Tuition revenue per FTE

$35,774

Instructional spend per FTE

$33,815

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Boston University lists New England Commission on Higher Education as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Boston University is listed at One Silber Way, Boston, MA 02215. Accreditor: New England Commission on Higher Education.

Address

One Silber Way
Boston, MA 02215

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Boston University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Boston University
Accept. rate
10.85%
Tuition
$65,168
Net price
$26,996
10-yr earnings
$83,238
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Accept. rate
4.74%
Tuition
$60,156
Net price
$19,813
10-yr earnings
$143,372
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering
Accept. rate
21.66%
Tuition
$64,458
Net price
$20,575
10-yr earnings
$129,455
MCPHS University
Accept. rate
85.21%
Tuition
$38,850
Net price
$35,084
10-yr earnings
$125,557
Babson College
Accept. rate
19.74%
Tuition
$56,032
Net price
$38,876
10-yr earnings
$123,938

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Boston University Tuition?

Boston University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $65,168. In-state tuition is $65,168. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Boston University's average net price?

Boston University's average net price per College Scorecard is $26,996. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Boston University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Boston University.

What is Boston University's acceptance rate?

Boston University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 10.85%.

What does Boston University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $11,453 for Boston University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Boston University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $83,238 for Boston University.

Is Boston University accredited?

Boston University's accreditor per College Scorecard is New England Commission on Higher Education.

How many students attend Boston University?

Per College Scorecard, 17,850 undergraduate students at Boston University.

What percentage of Boston University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Boston University per College Scorecard is 17.97%.

What is the federal loan rate at Boston University?

The federal loan rate for Boston University per College Scorecard is 22.61%.

Where should I verify Boston University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Boston University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Boston University report?

Boston University reports SAT data around 1,473, with math 720-780 and reading 680-740 where available.

What GPA requirements does Boston University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Boston University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Boston University offer?

Boston University has reported program records including Business Administration, Management and Operations, Business Administration, Management and Operations, Communication and Media Studies. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Boston University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.3 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.