Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Hempstead, New York

Hofstra University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Hofstra University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$55,450

Average net price after aid

$35,129

Total attendance cost

$68,298

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Hofstra University Expensive?

Hofstra University reports tuition of $55,450 (out-of-state) / $55,450 (in-state) and an average net price of $35,129. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Hofstra University is a private nonprofit in Hempstead, NY. The total estimated cost of attendance is $68,298, the acceptance rate is 70.59%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $69,039.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Hofstra University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Hofstra University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Hofstra University fit your shortlist?

Hofstra University is a private nonprofit in Hempstead, NY. Its reported average net price is $35,129, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $55,450. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Hempstead with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 67.10% completion rate and $69,039 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared New York schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Hofstra University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$55,450

Net price

$35,129

Acceptance rate

70.59%

SAT

1,294

ACT

27-31

Graduation rate

67.10%

Salary after graduation

$69,039

ROI payback

2.0 yrs

Reported snapshot

Hofstra University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

6,155

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

4,169

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

13:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

83.11%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 100 Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549

Admissions

Is Hofstra University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 70.59%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

70.59%

SAT overall

1,294

ACT range

27-31

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$55,450

Room and board

$17,720

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$2,050

Net price

$35,129

4-year net price

$140,516

Hofstra University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $29,667 $38,631 $2,472/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $31,575 $36,723 $2,631/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $35,162 $33,136 $2,930/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $38,553 $29,745 $3,213/mo
Over $110,000 $37,740 $30,558 $3,145/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Hofstra University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

24.30%

Federal loan rate

46.94%

Students with any loan

92.84%

Median completer debt

$23,621

Median monthly payment

$250

Loan principal

$18,518

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 2,979
3-year repayment count 3,214
5-year repayment count 3,563
7-year repayment count 3,447
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

56.64%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

67.10%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

22.32%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$69,039

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $52,131
10-year median earnings $69,039
10-year mean earnings $59,900
Simple ROI payback 2.0 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 48.16%
48.16%
Hispanic 17.08%
17.08%
Asian 14.78%
14.78%
Black 8.84%
8.84%
Two or more races 5.05%
5.05%
Nonresident alien 3.66%
3.66%

Gender and economic profile

Men 43.51%
43.51%
Women 56.49%
56.49%

First-generation share

23.53%

Low-income share

25.60%

Average family income

$2,652

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 20.85%
20.85%
Health professions 14.22%
14.22%
Communication and journalism 13.27%
13.27%
Psychology 7.90%
7.90%
Social sciences 7.03%
7.03%
Visual and performing arts 6.64%
6.64%
Engineering 6.00%
6.00%
Biological sciences 5.77%
5.77%
Computer and information sciences 4.50%
4.50%
Education 3.24%
3.24%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Law First Professional Degree 273 $61,152
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication Bachelor's Degree 120 $28,127
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas Master's Degree 106 $63,342
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 101 $24,883
Medicine First Professional Degree 99 $64,221
Health and Medical Administrative Services Master's Degree 98 $58,913
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 92 $52,070
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 91 $109,594
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 88 $33,020
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods Master's Degree 84 Not reported
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 77 $42,692
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Master's Degree 75 $116,739
Accounting and Related Services Master's Degree 75 $65,248
Finance and Financial Management Services Master's Degree 73 $73,231
Marketing Bachelor's Degree 72 $39,535
Public Health Bachelor's Degree 68 $35,093
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's Degree 63 $132,442
Journalism Bachelor's Degree 62 $33,777

Highest reported program salary signals

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

$132,442

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

$116,739

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$109,594

Finance and Financial Management Services

Master's Degree

$73,231

Accounting and Related Services

Master's Degree

$65,248

Medicine

First Professional Degree

$64,221

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Master's Degree

$63,342

Law

First Professional Degree

$61,152

Health and Medical Administrative Services

Master's Degree

$58,913

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$52,070

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$42,692

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

$39,535

Published tuition and cost components

Hofstra University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $55,450
In-state tuition $55,450
Out-of-state tuition $55,450
Cost per year $68,298
Average net price $35,129
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $273,192
Estimated 4-year net price $140,516

Hofstra University In-State Tuition

Hofstra University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $55,450. Hofstra University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Hofstra University Out-of-State Tuition

Hofstra University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $55,450. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Hofstra University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Hofstra University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $68,298, while the average net price after aid is $35,129.

Cost per year

$68,298

4-year attendance estimate

$273,192

4-year net price estimate

$140,516

Hofstra University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 70.59%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 70.59%
SAT average/range 1,294
SAT Math middle range 600-690
SAT Reading middle range 610-690
ACT middle range 27-31
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Hofstra University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Hofstra University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,294, SAT Math range is 600-690, and SAT Reading range is 610-690.

Hofstra University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Hofstra University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 27-31.

Hofstra University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Hofstra University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Hofstra University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 70.59%
SAT data: 1,294
ACT data: 27-31

Hofstra University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Hofstra University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Hofstra University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Hofstra University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Hofstra University Financial Aid

Hofstra University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 24.30% and federal loan rate is 46.94%.

Hofstra University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Hofstra University.

Hofstra University Net Price by Family Income

Hofstra University net price is $35,129 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Hofstra University Rankings 2026

Hofstra University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 67.10%
Salary after graduation $69,039
10-year median earnings $69,039
State average net price $18,893
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 2.0 years simple payback

Hofstra University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Hofstra University has 179 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Law

First Professional Degree

273 reported awards

Program

Radio, Television, and Digital Communication

Bachelor's Degree

120 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Master's Degree

106 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

101 reported awards

Program

Medicine

First Professional Degree

99 reported awards

Program

Health and Medical Administrative Services

Master's Degree

98 reported awards

Program

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

92 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

91 reported awards

Hofstra University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $132,442

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $116,739

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $109,594

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $87,095

Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $85,157

Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $78,545

Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $74,178

Finance and Financial Management Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $73,231

Hofstra University Graduation Rate

Hofstra University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 67.10%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Hofstra University Salary After Graduation

Hofstra University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $69,039 for 10-year median earnings.

Hofstra University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Hofstra University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 2.0 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Hofstra University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$55,450

Out-of-state tuition

$55,450

Average net price

$35,129

Attendance cost

$68,298

Hofstra University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Hofstra University.

Tuition

Per semester: $27,725

Annual: $55,450

Room and board

Per semester: $8,860

Annual: $17,720

Books and supplies

Per semester: $500

Annual: $1,000

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,025

Annual: $2,050

Attendance cost

Per semester: $34,149

Annual: $68,298

Hofstra University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$221,800

Four-year attendance estimate

$273,192

Four-year average net price

$140,516

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Hofstra University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $55,450 and out-of-state tuition is $55,450. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Hofstra University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Hofstra University reports $55,450 for out-of-state tuition and $55,450 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$17,720

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$25,303

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,000

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$2,050

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$68,298

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Hofstra University pays approximately $35,129 per year after grants and aid. This is above the New York average of $18,893 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

70.59%

SAT Average

1,294

ACT Range

27-31

Hofstra University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 70.59%. This means approximately 706 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 6,155 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

70.59%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$55,450

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$55,450

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$68,298

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$35,129

State avg: $18,893. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

24.30%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

46.94%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Hofstra University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$55,450

Room and board

$17,720

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$2,050

Sticker price

$68,298

Average net price

$35,129

Average aid coverage

49%

$33,169 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Hofstra University pays approximately $35,129 per year after grants and aid. This is above the New York average of $18,893 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Hofstra University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to New York and national averages.

Hofstra University net price

$35,129

New York average

$18,893

National average

$17,506

Hofstra University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $55,450 and average net price at $35,129. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$55,450

Current net price

$35,129

Current out-of-state tuition $55,450
Current average net price $35,129

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

67.10%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$69,039

Undergraduates

6,155

10-Year Median Earnings - Hofstra University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Hofstra University graduates earn about 1.6x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Hofstra University?

Undergraduates

6,155

Completion rate

67.10%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

24.30%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

46.94%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 24.30% of Hofstra University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 46.94% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

24.30%

Federal loan rate

46.94%

Students with any loan

92.84%

Average net price

$35,129

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Hofstra University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Hofstra University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$18,518

Median completer debt

$23,621

Median monthly payment

$250

Federal loan rate

46.94%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Hofstra University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Hofstra University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Hofstra University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Hofstra University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Hofstra University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$797,726,112

Endowment per undergraduate

$129,606

Faculty salary field

$14,617

Tuition revenue per FTE

$29,657

Instructional spend per FTE

$19,225

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Hofstra University lists Middle States Commission on Higher Education as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Hofstra University is listed at 100 Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549. Accreditor: Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Address

100 Hofstra University
Hempstead, NY 11549

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Hofstra University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Hofstra University
Accept. rate
70.59%
Tuition
$55,450
Net price
$35,129
10-yr earnings
$69,039
Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Accept. rate
59.08%
Tuition
$40,375
Net price
$26,027
10-yr earnings
$131,426
Helene Fuld College of Nursing
Accept. rate
23.81%
Tuition
$24,648
Net price
$37,732
10-yr earnings
$111,027
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$109,601
Center for Allied Health Education
Accept. rate
18.52%
Tuition
Not available
Net price
$35,431
10-yr earnings
$107,249

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Hofstra University Tuition?

Hofstra University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $55,450. In-state tuition is $55,450. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Hofstra University's average net price?

Hofstra University's average net price per College Scorecard is $35,129. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Hofstra University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Hofstra University.

What is Hofstra University's acceptance rate?

Hofstra University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 70.59%.

What does Hofstra University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $29,667 for Hofstra University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Hofstra University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $69,039 for Hofstra University.

Is Hofstra University accredited?

Hofstra University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How many students attend Hofstra University?

Per College Scorecard, 6,155 undergraduate students at Hofstra University.

What percentage of Hofstra University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Hofstra University per College Scorecard is 24.30%.

What is the federal loan rate at Hofstra University?

The federal loan rate for Hofstra University per College Scorecard is 46.94%.

Where should I verify Hofstra University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Hofstra University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Hofstra University report?

Hofstra University reports SAT data around 1,294, with math 600-690 and reading 610-690 where available.

What GPA requirements does Hofstra University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Hofstra University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Hofstra University offer?

Hofstra University has reported program records including Law, Radio, Television, and Digital Communication, Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Hofstra University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 2.0 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.