Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Raleigh, North Carolina

Shaw University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Shaw University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$17,176

Average net price after aid

$14,083

Total attendance cost

$29,659

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Shaw University Expensive?

Shaw University reports tuition of $17,176 (out-of-state) / $17,176 (in-state) and an average net price of $14,083. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Shaw University is a private nonprofit in Raleigh, NC. The total estimated cost of attendance is $29,659, the acceptance rate is 30.48%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $34,409.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Shaw University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Shaw University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Shaw University fit your shortlist?

Shaw University is a private nonprofit in Raleigh, NC. Its reported average net price is $14,083, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $17,176. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Raleigh with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 20.25% completion rate and $34,409 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared North Carolina schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Shaw University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$17,176

Net price

$14,083

Acceptance rate

30.48%

SAT

Not available

ACT

Not available

Graduation rate

20.25%

Salary after graduation

$34,409

ROI payback

1.6 yrs

Reported snapshot

Shaw University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

839

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

119

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

11:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

55.96%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 118 East South Street, Raleigh, NC 27601

Admissions

Is Shaw University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 30.48%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

30.48%

SAT overall

Not available

ACT range

Not available

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$17,176

Room and board

$8,940

Books and supplies

$1,300

Other expenses

$3,440

Net price

$14,083

4-year net price

$56,332

Shaw University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $12,125 $17,534 $1,010/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $14,508 $15,151 $1,209/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $16,310 $13,349 $1,359/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $15,059 $14,600 $1,255/mo
Over $110,000 $24,706 $4,953 $2,059/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Shaw University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

65.15%

Federal loan rate

58.44%

Students with any loan

94.48%

Median completer debt

$32,500

Median monthly payment

$345

Loan principal

$19,000

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 1,800
3-year repayment count 1,925
5-year repayment count 1,901
7-year repayment count 1,657
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

12.27%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

20.25%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$34,409

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $26,148
10-year median earnings $34,409
10-year mean earnings $30,500
Simple ROI payback 1.6 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 2.74%
2.74%
Hispanic 3.81%
3.81%
Asian 0.60%
0.60%
Black 63.17%
63.17%
Two or more races 5.01%
5.01%
Nonresident alien 10.49%
10.49%

Gender and economic profile

Men 48.27%
48.27%
Women 51.73%
51.73%

First-generation share

40.05%

Low-income share

63.95%

Average family income

$1,287

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 22.83%
22.83%
Parks, recreation and fitness 16.30%
16.30%
Communication and journalism 11.41%
11.41%
Homeland security and law enforcement 8.70%
8.70%
Public Administration Social Service 8.70%
8.70%
Social sciences 8.15%
8.15%
Psychology 7.61%
7.61%
Computer and information sciences 4.89%
4.89%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 4.89%
4.89%
Biological sciences 2.72%
2.72%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 32 $24,104
Criminal Justice and Corrections Bachelor's Degree 20 $25,649
Social Work Bachelor's Degree 20 $31,535
Theological and Ministerial Studies Master's Degree 19 $38,482
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 16 $18,987
Communication and Media Studies Bachelor's Degree 14 $20,994
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 13 Not reported
Parks, Recreation and Leisure Studies Bachelor's Degree 12 $18,795
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 11 Not reported
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General Bachelor's Degree 11 Not reported
Sociology Bachelor's Degree 9 Not reported
Computer Science Bachelor's Degree 7 Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Bachelor's Degree 6 Not reported
Religious Education Master's Degree 6 Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Master's Degree 4 Not reported
Education, Other Bachelor's Degree 4 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Theological and Ministerial Studies

Master's Degree

$38,482

Social Work

Bachelor's Degree

$31,535

Criminal Justice and Corrections

Bachelor's Degree

$25,649

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$24,104

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$20,994

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

$18,987

Parks, Recreation and Leisure Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$18,795

Published tuition and cost components

Shaw University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $17,176
In-state tuition $17,176
Out-of-state tuition $17,176
Cost per year $29,659
Average net price $14,083
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $118,636
Estimated 4-year net price $56,332

Shaw University In-State Tuition

Shaw University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $17,176. Shaw University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Shaw University Out-of-State Tuition

Shaw University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $17,176. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Shaw University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Shaw University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $29,659, while the average net price after aid is $14,083.

Cost per year

$29,659

4-year attendance estimate

$118,636

4-year net price estimate

$56,332

Shaw University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 30.48%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 30.48%
SAT average/range Not available
SAT Math middle range Not available
SAT Reading middle range Not available
ACT middle range Not available
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Shaw University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Shaw University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is Not available, SAT Math range is Not available, and SAT Reading range is Not available.

Shaw University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Shaw University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is Not available.

Shaw University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Shaw University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Shaw University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 30.48%
SAT data: Not available
ACT data: Not available

Shaw University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Shaw University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Shaw University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Shaw University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Shaw University Financial Aid

Shaw University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 65.15% and federal loan rate is 58.44%.

Shaw University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Shaw University.

Shaw University Net Price by Family Income

Shaw University net price is $14,083 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Shaw University Rankings 2026

Shaw University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 20.25%
Salary after graduation $34,409
10-year median earnings $34,409
State average net price $14,661
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.6 years simple payback

Shaw University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Shaw University has 32 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

32 reported awards

Program

Criminal Justice and Corrections

Bachelor's Degree

20 reported awards

Program

Social Work

Bachelor's Degree

20 reported awards

Program

Theological and Ministerial Studies

Master's Degree

19 reported awards

Program

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

16 reported awards

Program

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

14 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

13 reported awards

Program

Parks, Recreation and Leisure Studies

Bachelor's Degree

12 reported awards

Shaw University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Theological and Ministerial Studies

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $38,482

Social Work

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $31,535

Criminal Justice and Corrections

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $25,649

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $24,104

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $20,994

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $18,987

Parks, Recreation and Leisure Studies

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $18,795

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: Not reported

Shaw University Graduation Rate

Shaw University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 20.25%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Shaw University Salary After Graduation

Shaw University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $34,409 for 10-year median earnings.

Shaw University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Shaw University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.6 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Shaw University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$17,176

Out-of-state tuition

$17,176

Average net price

$14,083

Attendance cost

$29,659

Shaw University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Shaw University.

Tuition

Per semester: $8,588

Annual: $17,176

Room and board

Per semester: $4,470

Annual: $8,940

Books and supplies

Per semester: $650

Annual: $1,300

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,720

Annual: $3,440

Attendance cost

Per semester: $14,830

Annual: $29,659

Shaw University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$68,704

Four-year attendance estimate

$118,636

Four-year average net price

$56,332

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Shaw University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $17,176 and out-of-state tuition is $17,176. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Shaw University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Shaw University reports $17,176 for out-of-state tuition and $17,176 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$8,940

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$8,100

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,300

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$3,440

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$29,659

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Shaw University pays approximately $14,083 per year after grants and aid. This is below the North Carolina average of $14,661 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

30.48%

SAT Average

Not available

ACT Range

Not available

Shaw University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 30.48%. This means approximately 305 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 839 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

30.48%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$17,176

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$17,176

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$29,659

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$14,083

State avg: $14,661. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

65.15%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

58.44%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Shaw University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$17,176

Room and board

$8,940

Books and supplies

$1,300

Other expenses

$3,440

Sticker price

$29,659

Average net price

$14,083

Average aid coverage

53%

$15,576 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Shaw University pays approximately $14,083 per year after grants and aid. This is below the North Carolina average of $14,661 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Shaw University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to North Carolina and national averages.

Shaw University net price

$14,083

North Carolina average

$14,661

National average

$17,506

Shaw University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $17,176 and average net price at $14,083. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$17,176

Current net price

$14,083

Current out-of-state tuition $17,176
Current average net price $14,083

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

20.25%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$34,409

Undergraduates

839

10-Year Median Earnings - Shaw University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Shaw University $34,409
Duke University $97,800
National average $43,639

Shaw University graduates earn about 0.8x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Shaw University?

Undergraduates

839

Completion rate

20.25%

Below national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

65.15%

Above national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

58.44%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 65.15% of Shaw University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 58.44% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

65.15%

Federal loan rate

58.44%

Students with any loan

94.48%

Average net price

$14,083

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Shaw University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Shaw University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$19,000

Median completer debt

$32,500

Median monthly payment

$345

Federal loan rate

58.44%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Shaw University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Shaw University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Shaw University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Shaw University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Shaw University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$13,780,704

Endowment per undergraduate

$16,425

Faculty salary field

$5,125

Tuition revenue per FTE

$9,275

Instructional spend per FTE

$7,396

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Shaw University lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Shaw University is listed at 118 East South Street, Raleigh, NC 27601. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

118 East South Street
Raleigh, NC 27601

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Shaw University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Shaw University
Accept. rate
30.48%
Tuition
$17,176
Net price
$14,083
10-yr earnings
$34,409
Duke University
Accept. rate
6.78%
Tuition
$65,805
Net price
$34,454
10-yr earnings
$97,800
Chamberlain University-North Carolina
Accept. rate
66.67%
Tuition
$19,686
Net price
$21,664
10-yr earnings
$92,405
Davidson College
Accept. rate
14.48%
Tuition
$60,300
Net price
$18,127
10-yr earnings
$81,400
Wake Forest University
Accept. rate
21.56%
Tuition
$64,758
Net price
$28,746
10-yr earnings
$78,158

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Shaw University Tuition?

Shaw University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $17,176. In-state tuition is $17,176. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Shaw University's average net price?

Shaw University's average net price per College Scorecard is $14,083. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Shaw University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Shaw University.

What is Shaw University's acceptance rate?

Shaw University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 30.48%.

What does Shaw University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $12,125 for Shaw University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Shaw University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $34,409 for Shaw University.

Is Shaw University accredited?

Shaw University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Shaw University?

Per College Scorecard, 839 undergraduate students at Shaw University.

What percentage of Shaw University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Shaw University per College Scorecard is 65.15%.

What is the federal loan rate at Shaw University?

The federal loan rate for Shaw University per College Scorecard is 58.44%.

Where should I verify Shaw University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Shaw University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Shaw University report?

SAT score data is not reported for Shaw University per College Scorecard. Check the official admissions page for current testing policy.

What GPA requirements does Shaw University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Shaw University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Shaw University offer?

Shaw University has reported program records including Business Administration, Management and Operations, Criminal Justice and Corrections, Social Work. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Shaw University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.6 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.