Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Aberdeen, South Dakota

Northern State University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Northern State University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$11,947

Average net price after aid

$17,094

Total attendance cost

$22,223

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Northern State University Expensive?

Northern State University reports tuition of $11,947 (out-of-state) / $8,845 (in-state) and an average net price of $17,094. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Northern State University is a public in Aberdeen, SD. The total estimated cost of attendance is $22,223, the acceptance rate is 92.79%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $47,618.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Northern State University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Northern State University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Northern State University fit your shortlist?

Northern State University is a public in Aberdeen, SD. Its reported average net price is $17,094, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $11,947. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Aberdeen with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 52.24% completion rate and $47,618 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared South Dakota schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Northern State University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$11,947

Net price

$17,094

Acceptance rate

92.79%

SAT

1,090

ACT

18-24

Graduation rate

52.24%

Salary after graduation

$47,618

ROI payback

1.4 yrs

Reported snapshot

Northern State University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

1,239

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

589

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

17:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

75.10%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 1200 S Jay St, Aberdeen, SD 57401-7198

Admissions

Is Northern State University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 92.79%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

92.79%

SAT overall

1,090

ACT range

18-24

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$11,947

Room and board

$10,300

Books and supplies

$1,200

Other expenses

$3,000

Net price

$17,094

4-year net price

$68,376

Northern State University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $13,560 $8,663 $1,130/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $14,226 $7,997 $1,186/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $16,444 $5,779 $1,370/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $19,236 $2,987 $1,603/mo
Over $110,000 $18,673 $3,550 $1,556/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Northern State University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

11.96%

Federal loan rate

23.29%

Students with any loan

90.80%

Median completer debt

$22,320

Median monthly payment

$237

Loan principal

$15,750

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 1,084
3-year repayment count 1,138
5-year repayment count 1,093
7-year repayment count 924
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

31.60%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

52.24%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

21.47%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$47,618

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $41,536
10-year median earnings $47,618
10-year mean earnings $37,300
Simple ROI payback 1.4 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 79.90%
79.90%
Hispanic 5.17%
5.17%
Asian 2.18%
2.18%
Black 4.12%
4.12%
Two or more races 3.63%
3.63%
Nonresident alien 2.10%
2.10%

Gender and economic profile

Men 42.45%
42.45%
Women 57.55%
57.55%

First-generation share

30.69%

Low-income share

29.60%

Average family income

$750

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Associate Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Education 20.24%
20.24%
Business and marketing 19.94%
19.94%
Biological sciences 11.78%
11.78%
Parks, recreation and fitness 9.06%
9.06%
Liberal arts and humanities 7.55%
7.55%
Visual and performing arts 6.34%
6.34%
English 4.23%
4.23%
Psychology 4.23%
4.23%
Social sciences 4.23%
4.23%
Homeland security and law enforcement 3.93%
3.93%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 40 $38,996
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Bachelor's Degree 38 $39,033
Curriculum and Instruction Master's Degree 34 $51,127
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 24 $32,526
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 23 $55,785
Special Education and Teaching Bachelor's Degree 21 Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas Bachelor's Degree 20 $39,862
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 18 $45,902
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 16 $50,634
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas Master's Degree 15 Not reported
Marketing Bachelor's Degree 15 $45,891
Student Counseling and Personnel Services Master's Degree 14 $50,278
Educational Administration and Supervision Master's Degree 13 Not reported
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Master's Degree 13 $38,740
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 13 $33,892
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities Associate's Degree 12 Not reported
English Language and Literature, General Bachelor's Degree 10 Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities Bachelor's Degree 8 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$55,785

Curriculum and Instruction

Master's Degree

$51,127

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$50,634

Student Counseling and Personnel Services

Master's Degree

$50,278

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$45,902

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

$45,891

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Bachelor's Degree

$39,862

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

$39,033

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$38,996

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Master's Degree

$38,740

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$33,892

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

$32,526

Published tuition and cost components

Northern State University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $11,947
In-state tuition $8,845
Out-of-state tuition $11,947
Cost per year $22,223
Average net price $17,094
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $88,892
Estimated 4-year net price $68,376

Northern State University In-State Tuition

Northern State University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $8,845. Northern State University is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Northern State University Out-of-State Tuition

Northern State University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $11,947. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish South Dakota Residency for Northern State University?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $3,102 per year, or $12,408 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$35,380

4-year out-of-state tuition

$47,788

4-year premium

$12,408

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

Northern State University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Northern State University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $22,223, while the average net price after aid is $17,094.

Cost per year

$22,223

4-year attendance estimate

$88,892

4-year net price estimate

$68,376

Northern State University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 92.79%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 92.79%
SAT average/range 1,090
SAT Math middle range Not available
SAT Reading middle range Not available
ACT middle range 18-24
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Northern State University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Northern State University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,090, SAT Math range is Not available, and SAT Reading range is Not available.

Northern State University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Northern State University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 18-24.

Northern State University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Northern State University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Northern State University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 92.79%
SAT data: 1,090
ACT data: 18-24

Northern State University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Northern State University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Northern State University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Northern State University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Northern State University Financial Aid

Northern State University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 11.96% and federal loan rate is 23.29%.

Northern State University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Northern State University.

Northern State University Net Price by Family Income

Northern State University net price is $17,094 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Northern State University Rankings 2026

Northern State University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 52.24%
Salary after graduation $47,618
10-year median earnings $47,618
State average net price $16,583
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.4 years simple payback

Northern State University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Northern State University has 60 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

40 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

38 reported awards

Program

Curriculum and Instruction

Master's Degree

34 reported awards

Program

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

24 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

23 reported awards

Program

Special Education and Teaching

Bachelor's Degree

21 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Bachelor's Degree

20 reported awards

Program

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

18 reported awards

Northern State University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $55,785

Curriculum and Instruction

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $51,127

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $50,634

Student Counseling and Personnel Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $50,278

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $45,902

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $45,891

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $39,862

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $39,033

Northern State University Graduation Rate

Northern State University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 52.24%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Northern State University Salary After Graduation

Northern State University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $47,618 for 10-year median earnings.

Northern State University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Northern State University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.4 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Northern State University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$8,845

Out-of-state tuition

$11,947

Average net price

$17,094

Attendance cost

$22,223

Northern State University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Northern State University.

Tuition

Per semester: $5,974

Annual: $11,947

Room and board

Per semester: $5,150

Annual: $10,300

Books and supplies

Per semester: $600

Annual: $1,200

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,500

Annual: $3,000

Attendance cost

Per semester: $11,112

Annual: $22,223

Northern State University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$47,788

Four-year attendance estimate

$88,892

Four-year average net price

$68,376

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Northern State University is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $8,845 and out-of-state tuition is $11,947. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Northern State University as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$10,300

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$10,300

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,200

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$3,000

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$22,223

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Northern State University pays approximately $17,094 per year after grants and aid. This is above the South Dakota average of $16,583 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

92.79%

SAT Average

1,090

ACT Range

18-24

Northern State University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 92.79%. This means approximately 928 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 1,239 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

92.79%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Higher Learning Commission

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$8,845

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$11,947

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$22,223

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$17,094

State avg: $16,583. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

11.96%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

23.29%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Northern State University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$11,947

Room and board

$10,300

Books and supplies

$1,200

Other expenses

$3,000

Sticker price

$22,223

Average net price

$17,094

Average aid coverage

23%

$5,129 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Northern State University pays approximately $17,094 per year after grants and aid. This is above the South Dakota average of $16,583 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Northern State University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to South Dakota and national averages.

Northern State University net price

$17,094

South Dakota average

$16,583

National average

$17,506

Northern State University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $11,947 and average net price at $17,094. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$11,947

Current net price

$17,094

Current out-of-state tuition $11,947
Current average net price $17,094

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

52.24%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$47,618

Undergraduates

1,239

10-Year Median Earnings - Northern State University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Northern State University graduates earn about 1.1x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Northern State University?

Undergraduates

1,239

Completion rate

52.24%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

11.96%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

23.29%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 11.96% of Northern State University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 23.29% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

11.96%

Federal loan rate

23.29%

Students with any loan

90.80%

Average net price

$17,094

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Northern State University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Northern State University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$15,750

Median completer debt

$22,320

Median monthly payment

$237

Federal loan rate

23.29%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Northern State University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Northern State University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Northern State University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Northern State University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Northern State University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$49,215,371

Endowment per undergraduate

$39,722

Faculty salary field

$8,385

Tuition revenue per FTE

$5,182

Instructional spend per FTE

$11,178

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Northern State University lists Higher Learning Commission as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Northern State University is listed at 1200 S Jay St, Aberdeen, SD 57401-7198. Accreditor: Higher Learning Commission.

Address

1200 S Jay St
Aberdeen, SD 57401-7198

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Northern State University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Northern State University
Accept. rate
92.79%
Tuition
$11,947
Net price
$17,094
10-yr earnings
$47,618
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Accept. rate
85.25%
Tuition
$14,800
Net price
$20,380
10-yr earnings
$72,257
Augustana University
Accept. rate
59.25%
Tuition
$39,190
Net price
$24,723
10-yr earnings
$59,217
South Dakota State University
Accept. rate
98.71%
Tuition
$12,809
Net price
$18,219
10-yr earnings
$55,070
University of Sioux Falls
Accept. rate
82.08%
Tuition
$20,740
Net price
$20,874
10-yr earnings
$54,521

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Northern State University tuition?

Northern State University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $11,947. In-state tuition is $8,845. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Northern State University's average net price?

Northern State University's average net price per College Scorecard is $17,094. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Northern State University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Northern State University.

What is Northern State University's acceptance rate?

Northern State University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 92.79%.

What is Northern State University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $47,618 for Northern State University.

Is Northern State University accredited?

Northern State University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Higher Learning Commission.

How many students attend Northern State University?

Per College Scorecard, 1,239 undergraduate students at Northern State University.

What percentage of Northern State University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Northern State University per College Scorecard is 11.96%.

What is the federal loan rate at Northern State University?

The federal loan rate for Northern State University per College Scorecard is 23.29%.

Where should I verify Northern State University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Northern State University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Northern State University report?

Northern State University reports SAT data around 1,090, with math Not available and reading Not available where available.

What GPA requirements does Northern State University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Northern State University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Northern State University offer?

Northern State University has reported program records including Business Administration, Management and Operations, Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods, Curriculum and Instruction. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Northern State University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.4 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.