Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

La Crosse, Wisconsin

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing University of Wisconsin-La Crosse starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$18,691

Average net price after aid

$15,374

Total attendance cost

$18,115

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Expensive?

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse reports tuition of $18,691 (out-of-state) / $9,651 (in-state) and an average net price of $15,374. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse is a public in La Crosse, WI. The total estimated cost of attendance is $18,115, the acceptance rate is 73.25%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $60,378.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on University of Wisconsin-La Crosse’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View University of Wisconsin-La Crosse tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could University of Wisconsin-La Crosse fit your shortlist?

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse is a public in La Crosse, WI. Its reported average net price is $15,374, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $18,691. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in La Crosse with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 71.19% completion rate and $60,378 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Wisconsin schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. University of Wisconsin-La Crosse may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$18,691

Net price

$15,374

Acceptance rate

73.25%

SAT

1,190

ACT

21-27

Graduation rate

71.19%

Salary after graduation

$60,378

ROI payback

1.0 yrs

Reported snapshot

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

9,194

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

921

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

19:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

85.73%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 1725 State St, La Crosse, WI 54601-9959

Admissions

Is University of Wisconsin-La Crosse hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 73.25%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

73.25%

SAT overall

1,190

ACT range

21-27

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$18,691

Room and board

$7,960

Books and supplies

$120

Other expenses

$2,036

Net price

$15,374

4-year net price

$61,496

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $6,798 $11,317 $567/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $8,794 $9,321 $733/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $13,175 $4,940 $1,098/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $16,528 $1,587 $1,377/mo
Over $110,000 $17,538 $577 $1,462/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

14.23%

Federal loan rate

43.98%

Students with any loan

92.69%

Median completer debt

$22,500

Median monthly payment

$239

Loan principal

$18,000

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 3,102
3-year repayment count 3,318
5-year repayment count 3,160
7-year repayment count 2,550
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

49.05%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

71.19%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$60,378

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $49,626
10-year median earnings $60,378
10-year mean earnings $52,500
Simple ROI payback 1.0 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 88.86%
88.86%
Hispanic 3.96%
3.96%
Asian 2.02%
2.02%
Black 0.66%
0.66%
Two or more races 3.09%
3.09%
Nonresident alien 0.58%
0.58%

Gender and economic profile

Men 43.14%
43.14%
Women 56.86%
56.86%

First-generation share

21.38%

Low-income share

14.41%

Average family income

$3,448

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Associate Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 24.92%
24.92%
Biological sciences 12.56%
12.56%
Psychology 10.86%
10.86%
Parks, recreation and fitness 10.11%
10.11%
Health professions 8.01%
8.01%
Education 7.46%
7.46%
Social sciences 7.21%
7.21%
Communication and journalism 3.80%
3.80%
Liberal arts and humanities 3.20%
3.20%
Computer and information sciences 2.50%
2.50%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 262 $32,649
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 207 $28,771
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 189 $30,101
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 170 $47,712
Marketing Bachelor's Degree 141 $40,183
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Bachelor's Degree 136 $37,920
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 105 $41,819
Communication and Media Studies Bachelor's Degree 103 $35,292
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 96 $54,028
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Master's Degree 82 $48,756
Public Health Bachelor's Degree 74 $37,625
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Master's Degree 65 $101,693
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions Bachelor's Degree 60 $34,193
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 59 $35,281
English Language and Literature, General Bachelor's Degree 55 $31,382
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Bachelor's Degree 54 $67,330
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Bachelor's Degree 53 $37,692
Sociology Bachelor's Degree 52 $26,134

Highest reported program salary signals

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

$101,693

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Bachelor's Degree

$67,330

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$54,028

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Master's Degree

$48,756

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$47,712

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$41,819

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

$40,183

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

$37,920

Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics

Bachelor's Degree

$37,692

Public Health

Bachelor's Degree

$37,625

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$35,292

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$35,281

Published tuition and cost components

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $18,691
In-state tuition $9,651
Out-of-state tuition $18,691
Cost per year $18,115
Average net price $15,374
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $72,460
Estimated 4-year net price $61,496

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse In-State Tuition

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $9,651. University of Wisconsin-La Crosse is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Out-of-State Tuition

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $18,691. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Wisconsin Residency for University of Wisconsin-La Crosse?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $9,040 per year, or $36,160 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$38,604

4-year out-of-state tuition

$74,764

4-year premium

$36,160

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $18,115, while the average net price after aid is $15,374.

Cost per year

$18,115

4-year attendance estimate

$72,460

4-year net price estimate

$61,496

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 73.25%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 73.25%
SAT average/range 1,190
SAT Math middle range Not available
SAT Reading middle range Not available
ACT middle range 21-27
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for University of Wisconsin-La Crosse are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,190, SAT Math range is Not available, and SAT Reading range is Not available.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for University of Wisconsin-La Crosse should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 21-27.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for University of Wisconsin-La Crosse admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 73.25%
SAT data: 1,190
ACT data: 21-27

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if University of Wisconsin-La Crosse provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Financial Aid

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 14.23% and federal loan rate is 43.98%.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Net Price by Family Income

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse net price is $15,374 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Rankings 2026

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 71.19%
Salary after graduation $60,378
10-year median earnings $60,378
State average net price $17,077
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.0 years simple payback

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. University of Wisconsin-La Crosse has 72 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

262 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

207 reported awards

Program

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

189 reported awards

Program

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

170 reported awards

Program

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

141 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

136 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

105 reported awards

Program

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

103 reported awards

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $101,693

Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $71,927

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $71,462

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $67,330

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $65,658

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $59,988

Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $56,576

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Graduate/Professional Certificate

Program earnings: $56,315

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Graduation Rate

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse graduation rate per College Scorecard is 71.19%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Salary After Graduation

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $60,378 for 10-year median earnings.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.0 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$9,651

Out-of-state tuition

$18,691

Average net price

$15,374

Attendance cost

$18,115

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Tuition

Per semester: $9,346

Annual: $18,691

Room and board

Per semester: $3,980

Annual: $7,960

Books and supplies

Per semester: $60

Annual: $120

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,018

Annual: $2,036

Attendance cost

Per semester: $9,058

Annual: $18,115

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$74,764

Four-year attendance estimate

$72,460

Four-year average net price

$61,496

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $9,651 and out-of-state tuition is $18,691. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists University of Wisconsin-La Crosse as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$7,960

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$7,960

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$120

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$2,036

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$18,115

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse pays approximately $15,374 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Wisconsin average of $17,077 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

73.25%

SAT Average

1,190

ACT Range

21-27

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 73.25%. This means approximately 733 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 9,194 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

73.25%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Higher Learning Commission

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$9,651

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$18,691

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$18,115

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$15,374

State avg: $17,077. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

14.23%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

43.98%

Share using federal loans.

What Does University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$18,691

Room and board

$7,960

Books and supplies

$120

Other expenses

$2,036

Sticker price

$18,115

Average net price

$15,374

Average aid coverage

15%

$2,741 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse pays approximately $15,374 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Wisconsin average of $17,077 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is University of Wisconsin-La Crosse?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Wisconsin and national averages.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse net price

$15,374

Wisconsin average

$17,077

National average

$17,506

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $18,691 and average net price at $15,374. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$18,691

Current net price

$15,374

Current out-of-state tuition $18,691
Current average net price $15,374

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

71.19%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$60,378

Undergraduates

9,194

10-Year Median Earnings - University of Wisconsin-La Crosse vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse graduates earn about 1.4x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends University of Wisconsin-La Crosse?

Undergraduates

9,194

Completion rate

71.19%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

14.23%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

43.98%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 14.23% of University of Wisconsin-La Crosse students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 43.98% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

14.23%

Federal loan rate

43.98%

Students with any loan

92.69%

Average net price

$15,374

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$18,000

Median completer debt

$22,500

Median monthly payment

$239

Federal loan rate

43.98%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$42,013,528

Endowment per undergraduate

$4,570

Faculty salary field

$8,149

Tuition revenue per FTE

$7,458

Instructional spend per FTE

$7,669

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse lists Higher Learning Commission as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse is listed at 1725 State St, La Crosse, WI 54601-9959. Accreditor: Higher Learning Commission.

Address

1725 State St
La Crosse, WI 54601-9959

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare University of Wisconsin-La Crosse with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
Accept. rate
73.25%
Tuition
$18,691
Net price
$15,374
10-yr earnings
$60,378
Milwaukee School of Engineering
Accept. rate
60.39%
Tuition
$48,421
Net price
$24,021
10-yr earnings
$89,070
Marquette University
Accept. rate
87.44%
Tuition
$48,700
Net price
$29,237
10-yr earnings
$78,257
Bellin College
Accept. rate
100.00%
Tuition
$28,211
Net price
$27,313
10-yr earnings
$76,222
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Accept. rate
43.35%
Tuition
$40,603
Net price
$16,928
10-yr earnings
$73,792

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is University of Wisconsin La Crosse Tuition?

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $18,691. In-state tuition is $9,651. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's average net price?

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's average net price per College Scorecard is $15,374. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all University of Wisconsin-La Crosse fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

What is University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's acceptance rate?

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 73.25%.

What is University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $60,378 for University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Is University of Wisconsin-La Crosse accredited?

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's accreditor per College Scorecard is Higher Learning Commission.

How many students attend University of Wisconsin-La Crosse?

Per College Scorecard, 9,194 undergraduate students at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

What percentage of University of Wisconsin-La Crosse students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for University of Wisconsin-La Crosse per College Scorecard is 14.23%.

What is the federal loan rate at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse?

The federal loan rate for University of Wisconsin-La Crosse per College Scorecard is 43.98%.

Where should I verify University of Wisconsin-La Crosse data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with University of Wisconsin-La Crosse or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does University of Wisconsin-La Crosse report?

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse reports SAT data around 1,190, with math Not available and reading Not available where available.

What GPA requirements does University of Wisconsin-La Crosse have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does University of Wisconsin-La Crosse offer?

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse has reported program records including Biology, General, Psychology, General, Health and Physical Education/Fitness. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.0 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.