Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Mobile, Alabama

University of South Alabama: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing University of South Alabama starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$18,652

Average net price after aid

$15,142

Total attendance cost

$22,070

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is University of South Alabama Expensive?

University of South Alabama reports tuition of $18,652 (out-of-state) / $9,676 (in-state) and an average net price of $15,142. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

University of South Alabama is a public in Mobile, AL. The total estimated cost of attendance is $22,070, the acceptance rate is 65.49%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $49,379.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on University of South Alabama’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View University of South Alabama tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could University of South Alabama fit your shortlist?

University of South Alabama is a public in Mobile, AL. Its reported average net price is $15,142, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $18,652. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Mobile with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 52.57% completion rate and $49,379 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Alabama schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. University of South Alabama may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$18,652

Net price

$15,142

Acceptance rate

65.49%

SAT

1,119

ACT

19-26

Graduation rate

52.57%

Salary after graduation

$49,379

ROI payback

1.2 yrs

Reported snapshot

University of South Alabama at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

8,540

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

4,854

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

18:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

76.25%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 307 N University Blvd, Mobile, AL 36688-0002

Admissions

Is University of South Alabama hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 65.49%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

65.49%

SAT overall

1,119

ACT range

19-26

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$18,652

Room and board

$8,830

Books and supplies

$2,020

Other expenses

$5,283

Net price

$15,142

4-year net price

$60,568

University of South Alabama Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $10,148 $11,922 $846/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $11,633 $10,437 $969/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $15,456 $6,614 $1,288/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $21,143 $927 $1,762/mo
Over $110,000 $21,878 $192 $1,823/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use University of South Alabama's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

37.13%

Federal loan rate

48.72%

Students with any loan

88.34%

Median completer debt

$24,929

Median monthly payment

$264

Loan principal

$17,750

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 4,878
3-year repayment count 5,196
5-year repayment count 5,505
7-year repayment count 4,445
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

33.24%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

52.57%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

27.27%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$49,379

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $41,307
10-year median earnings $49,379
10-year mean earnings $46,800
Simple ROI payback 1.2 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 60.91%
60.91%
Hispanic 5.21%
5.21%
Asian 3.98%
3.98%
Black 22.03%
22.03%
Two or more races 4.51%
4.51%
Nonresident alien 1.12%
1.12%

Gender and economic profile

Men 38.23%
38.23%
Women 61.77%
61.77%

First-generation share

33.43%

Low-income share

42.53%

Average family income

$4,665

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Health professions 31.89%
31.89%
Biological sciences 13.01%
13.01%
Business and marketing 9.94%
9.94%
Engineering 8.51%
8.51%
Computer and information sciences 5.45%
5.45%
Psychology 4.97%
4.97%
Education 4.92%
4.92%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 4.92%
4.92%
Visual and performing arts 2.91%
2.91%
Communication and journalism 2.59%
2.59%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's Degree 780 $93,584
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 345 $56,715
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing First Professional Degree 166 Not reported
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 162 $24,634
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Graduate/Professional Certificate 126 $116,286
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs Bachelor's Degree 116 $28,875
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General Bachelor's Degree 111 $28,495
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Bachelor's Degree 106 $35,765
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas Bachelor's Degree 104 $25,298
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 94 $23,217
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Master's Degree 91 $43,585
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Bachelor's Degree 89 $47,344
Medicine First Professional Degree 69 Not reported
Communication and Media Studies Bachelor's Degree 68 $29,678
Civil Engineering Bachelor's Degree 68 $58,512
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 67 $61,253
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma 65 Not reported
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 61 $40,197

Highest reported program salary signals

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Graduate/Professional Certificate

$116,286

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

$93,584

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$61,253

Civil Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$58,512

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$56,715

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Bachelor's Degree

$47,344

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Master's Degree

$43,585

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$40,197

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

$35,765

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$29,678

Health/Medical Preparatory Programs

Bachelor's Degree

$28,875

Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General

Bachelor's Degree

$28,495

Published tuition and cost components

University of South Alabama tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $18,652
In-state tuition $9,676
Out-of-state tuition $18,652
Cost per year $22,070
Average net price $15,142
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $88,280
Estimated 4-year net price $60,568

University of South Alabama In-State Tuition

University of South Alabama in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $9,676. University of South Alabama is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

University of South Alabama Out-of-State Tuition

University of South Alabama out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $18,652. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Alabama Residency for University of South Alabama?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $8,976 per year, or $35,904 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$38,704

4-year out-of-state tuition

$74,608

4-year premium

$35,904

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

University of South Alabama Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

University of South Alabama cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $22,070, while the average net price after aid is $15,142.

Cost per year

$22,070

4-year attendance estimate

$88,280

4-year net price estimate

$60,568

University of South Alabama Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 65.49%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 65.49%
SAT average/range 1,119
SAT Math middle range 495-590
SAT Reading middle range 520-610
ACT middle range 19-26
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

University of South Alabama SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for University of South Alabama are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,119, SAT Math range is 495-590, and SAT Reading range is 520-610.

University of South Alabama ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for University of South Alabama should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 19-26.

University of South Alabama GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

University of South Alabama Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for University of South Alabama admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 65.49%
SAT data: 1,119
ACT data: 19-26

University of South Alabama Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to University of South Alabama Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at University of South Alabama's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if University of South Alabama provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

University of South Alabama Financial Aid

University of South Alabama financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 37.13% and federal loan rate is 48.72%.

University of South Alabama Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with University of South Alabama.

University of South Alabama Net Price by Family Income

University of South Alabama net price is $15,142 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

University of South Alabama Rankings 2026

University of South Alabama ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 52.57%
Salary after graduation $49,379
10-year median earnings $49,379
State average net price $14,203
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.2 years simple payback

University of South Alabama Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. University of South Alabama has 113 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

780 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

345 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

First Professional Degree

166 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

162 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Graduate/Professional Certificate

126 reported awards

Program

Health/Medical Preparatory Programs

Bachelor's Degree

116 reported awards

Program

Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General

Bachelor's Degree

111 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

106 reported awards

University of South Alabama Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Graduate/Professional Certificate

Program earnings: $116,286

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $110,918

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $108,741

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $101,131

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $93,584

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $72,655

Chemical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $70,168

Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $69,913

University of South Alabama Graduation Rate

University of South Alabama graduation rate per College Scorecard is 52.57%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

University of South Alabama Salary After Graduation

University of South Alabama salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $49,379 for 10-year median earnings.

University of South Alabama ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, University of South Alabama reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.2 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

University of South Alabama Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$9,676

Out-of-state tuition

$18,652

Average net price

$15,142

Attendance cost

$22,070

University of South Alabama Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with University of South Alabama.

Tuition

Per semester: $9,326

Annual: $18,652

Room and board

Per semester: $4,415

Annual: $8,830

Books and supplies

Per semester: $1,010

Annual: $2,020

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $2,642

Annual: $5,283

Attendance cost

Per semester: $11,035

Annual: $22,070

University of South Alabama Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$74,608

Four-year attendance estimate

$88,280

Four-year average net price

$60,568

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

University of South Alabama is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $9,676 and out-of-state tuition is $18,652. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists University of South Alabama as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$8,830

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$11,062

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$2,020

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$5,283

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$22,070

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at University of South Alabama pays approximately $15,142 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Alabama average of $14,203 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

65.49%

SAT Average

1,119

ACT Range

19-26

University of South Alabama Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 65.49%. This means approximately 655 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 8,540 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

65.49%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$9,676

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$18,652

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$22,070

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$15,142

State avg: $14,203. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

37.13%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

48.72%

Share using federal loans.

What Does University of South Alabama Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$18,652

Room and board

$8,830

Books and supplies

$2,020

Other expenses

$5,283

Sticker price

$22,070

Average net price

$15,142

Average aid coverage

31%

$6,928 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at University of South Alabama pays approximately $15,142 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Alabama average of $14,203 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is University of South Alabama?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Alabama and national averages.

University of South Alabama net price

$15,142

Alabama average

$14,203

National average

$17,506

University of South Alabama Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $18,652 and average net price at $15,142. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$18,652

Current net price

$15,142

Current out-of-state tuition $18,652
Current average net price $15,142

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

52.57%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$49,379

Undergraduates

8,540

10-Year Median Earnings - University of South Alabama vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

University of South Alabama graduates earn about 1.1x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends University of South Alabama?

Undergraduates

8,540

Completion rate

52.57%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

37.13%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

48.72%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 37.13% of University of South Alabama students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 48.72% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

37.13%

Federal loan rate

48.72%

Students with any loan

88.34%

Average net price

$15,142

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at University of South Alabama

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use University of South Alabama's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$17,750

Median completer debt

$24,929

Median monthly payment

$264

Federal loan rate

48.72%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open University of South Alabama Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open University of South Alabama's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review University of South Alabama's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use University of South Alabama's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

University of South Alabama Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$522,356,776

Endowment per undergraduate

$61,166

Faculty salary field

$7,764

Tuition revenue per FTE

$9,462

Instructional spend per FTE

$10,579

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

University of South Alabama lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

University of South Alabama is listed at 307 N University Blvd, Mobile, AL 36688-0002. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

307 N University Blvd
Mobile, AL 36688-0002

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare University of South Alabama with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

University of South Alabama
Accept. rate
65.49%
Tuition
$18,652
Net price
$15,142
10-yr earnings
$49,379
Auburn University
Accept. rate
50.47%
Tuition
$33,944
Net price
$23,897
10-yr earnings
$65,337
Columbia Southern University
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
$5,808
Net price
$14,975
10-yr earnings
$63,534
University of Alabama in Huntsville
Accept. rate
74.25%
Tuition
$24,662
Net price
$19,880
10-yr earnings
$61,767
Marion Military Institute
Accept. rate
59.17%
Tuition
$15,538
Net price
$10,137
10-yr earnings
$59,644

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is University of South Alabama Tuition?

University of South Alabama out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $18,652. In-state tuition is $9,676. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is University of South Alabama's average net price?

University of South Alabama's average net price per College Scorecard is $15,142. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all University of South Alabama fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with University of South Alabama.

What is University of South Alabama's acceptance rate?

University of South Alabama's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 65.49%.

What is University of South Alabama's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $49,379 for University of South Alabama.

Is University of South Alabama accredited?

University of South Alabama's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend University of South Alabama?

Per College Scorecard, 8,540 undergraduate students at University of South Alabama.

What percentage of University of South Alabama students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for University of South Alabama per College Scorecard is 37.13%.

What is the federal loan rate at University of South Alabama?

The federal loan rate for University of South Alabama per College Scorecard is 48.72%.

Where should I verify University of South Alabama data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with University of South Alabama or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does University of South Alabama report?

University of South Alabama reports SAT data around 1,119, with math 495-590 and reading 520-610 where available.

What GPA requirements does University of South Alabama have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the University of South Alabama application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does University of South Alabama offer?

University of South Alabama has reported program records including Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is University of South Alabama's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.2 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.