Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Tuscaloosa, Alabama

The University of Alabama: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing The University of Alabama starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$33,200

Average net price after aid

$22,150

Total attendance cost

$32,024

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is The University of Alabama Expensive?

The University of Alabama reports tuition of $33,200 (out-of-state) / $11,900 (in-state) and an average net price of $22,150. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

The University of Alabama is a public in Tuscaloosa, AL. The total estimated cost of attendance is $32,024, the acceptance rate is 75.82%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $59,221.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on The University of Alabama’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View The University of Alabama tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could The University of Alabama fit your shortlist?

The University of Alabama is a public in Tuscaloosa, AL. Its reported average net price is $22,150, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $33,200. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Tuscaloosa with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 73.69% completion rate and $59,221 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Alabama schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. The University of Alabama may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$33,200

Net price

$22,150

Acceptance rate

75.82%

SAT

1,287

ACT

24-31

Graduation rate

73.69%

Salary after graduation

$59,221

ROI payback

1.5 yrs

Reported snapshot

The University of Alabama at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

32,323

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

6,187

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

19:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

86.09%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 739 University Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0100

Admissions

Is The University of Alabama hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 75.82%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

75.82%

SAT overall

1,287

ACT range

24-31

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$33,200

Room and board

$14,840

Books and supplies

$800

Other expenses

$5,842

Net price

$22,150

4-year net price

$88,600

The University of Alabama Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $18,592 $13,432 $1,549/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $19,928 $12,096 $1,661/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $23,056 $8,968 $1,921/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $25,396 $6,628 $2,116/mo
Over $110,000 $25,773 $6,251 $2,148/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use The University of Alabama's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

17.99%

Federal loan rate

33.58%

Students with any loan

91.07%

Median completer debt

$22,750

Median monthly payment

$241

Loan principal

$17,986

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 7,161
3-year repayment count 7,612
5-year repayment count 6,936
7-year repayment count 5,289
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

56.23%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

73.69%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

18.05%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$59,221

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $52,233
10-year median earnings $59,221
10-year mean earnings $51,600
Simple ROI payback 1.5 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 72.27%
72.27%
Hispanic 6.92%
6.92%
Asian 1.48%
1.48%
Black 11.03%
11.03%
Two or more races 3.56%
3.56%
Nonresident alien 0.78%
0.78%

Gender and economic profile

Men 43.95%
43.95%
Women 56.05%
56.05%

First-generation share

22.57%

Low-income share

26.15%

Average family income

$9,310

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 30.11%
30.11%
Health professions 9.66%
9.66%
Engineering 9.66%
9.66%
Communication and journalism 9.42%
9.42%
Social sciences 7.99%
7.99%
Family and consumer sciences 6.96%
6.96%
Psychology 5.13%
5.13%
Biological sciences 3.89%
3.89%
Parks, recreation and fitness 2.86%
2.86%
Education 2.72%
2.72%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 615 $48,795
Marketing Bachelor's Degree 605 $45,924
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 491 $58,043
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 431 $42,470
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 407 $65,760
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication Bachelor's Degree 371 $38,904
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 315 $52,220
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 310 $27,760
Criminology Bachelor's Degree 260 Not reported
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 257 $25,063
Social Work Master's Degree 255 $38,260
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas Bachelor's Degree 248 $30,061
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 229 Not reported
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 227 $33,300
Business/Managerial Economics Bachelor's Degree 214 $44,909
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 200 $78,913
Chemical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 199 $65,209
Criminal Justice and Corrections Bachelor's Degree 197 $32,626

Highest reported program salary signals

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$78,913

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$65,760

Chemical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$65,209

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$58,043

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$52,220

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$48,795

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

$45,924

Business/Managerial Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$44,909

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$42,470

Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication

Bachelor's Degree

$38,904

Social Work

Master's Degree

$38,260

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$33,300

Published tuition and cost components

The University of Alabama tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $33,200
In-state tuition $11,900
Out-of-state tuition $33,200
Cost per year $32,024
Average net price $22,150
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $128,096
Estimated 4-year net price $88,600

The University of Alabama In-State Tuition

The University of Alabama in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $11,900. The University of Alabama is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

The University of Alabama Out-of-State Tuition

The University of Alabama out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $33,200. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Alabama Residency for The University of Alabama?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $21,300 per year, or $85,200 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$47,600

4-year out-of-state tuition

$132,800

4-year premium

$85,200

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

The University of Alabama Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

The University of Alabama cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $32,024, while the average net price after aid is $22,150.

Cost per year

$32,024

4-year attendance estimate

$128,096

4-year net price estimate

$88,600

The University of Alabama Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 75.82%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 75.82%
SAT average/range 1,287
SAT Math middle range 580-700
SAT Reading middle range 590-700
ACT middle range 24-31
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

The University of Alabama SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for The University of Alabama are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,287, SAT Math range is 580-700, and SAT Reading range is 590-700.

The University of Alabama ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for The University of Alabama should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 24-31.

The University of Alabama GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

The University of Alabama Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for The University of Alabama admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 75.82%
SAT data: 1,287
ACT data: 24-31

The University of Alabama Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to The University of Alabama Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at The University of Alabama's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if The University of Alabama provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

The University of Alabama Financial Aid

The University of Alabama financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 17.99% and federal loan rate is 33.58%.

The University of Alabama Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with The University of Alabama.

The University of Alabama Net Price by Family Income

The University of Alabama net price is $22,150 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

The University of Alabama Rankings 2026

The University of Alabama ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 73.69%
Salary after graduation $59,221
10-year median earnings $59,221
State average net price $14,203
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.5 years simple payback

The University of Alabama Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. The University of Alabama has 200 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

615 reported awards

Program

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

605 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

491 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

431 reported awards

Program

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

407 reported awards

Program

Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication

Bachelor's Degree

371 reported awards

Program

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

315 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

310 reported awards

The University of Alabama Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $104,741

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $93,535

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $84,175

Civil Engineering

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $83,540

Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $80,715

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $78,913

Educational Administration and Supervision

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $75,975

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $70,103

The University of Alabama Graduation Rate

The University of Alabama graduation rate per College Scorecard is 73.69%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

The University of Alabama Salary After Graduation

The University of Alabama salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $59,221 for 10-year median earnings.

The University of Alabama ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, The University of Alabama reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.5 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

The University of Alabama Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$11,900

Out-of-state tuition

$33,200

Average net price

$22,150

Attendance cost

$32,024

The University of Alabama Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with The University of Alabama.

Tuition

Per semester: $16,600

Annual: $33,200

Room and board

Per semester: $7,420

Annual: $14,840

Books and supplies

Per semester: $400

Annual: $800

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $2,921

Annual: $5,842

Attendance cost

Per semester: $16,012

Annual: $32,024

The University of Alabama Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$132,800

Four-year attendance estimate

$128,096

Four-year average net price

$88,600

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

The University of Alabama is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $11,900 and out-of-state tuition is $33,200. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists The University of Alabama as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$14,840

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$14,564

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$800

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$5,842

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$32,024

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at The University of Alabama pays approximately $22,150 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Alabama average of $14,203 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

75.82%

SAT Average

1,287

ACT Range

24-31

The University of Alabama Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 75.82%. This means approximately 758 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 32,323 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

75.82%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$11,900

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$33,200

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$32,024

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$22,150

State avg: $14,203. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

17.99%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

33.58%

Share using federal loans.

What Does The University of Alabama Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$33,200

Room and board

$14,840

Books and supplies

$800

Other expenses

$5,842

Sticker price

$32,024

Average net price

$22,150

Average aid coverage

31%

$9,874 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at The University of Alabama pays approximately $22,150 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Alabama average of $14,203 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is The University of Alabama?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Alabama and national averages.

The University of Alabama net price

$22,150

Alabama average

$14,203

National average

$17,506

The University of Alabama Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $33,200 and average net price at $22,150. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$33,200

Current net price

$22,150

Current out-of-state tuition $33,200
Current average net price $22,150

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

73.69%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$59,221

Undergraduates

32,323

10-Year Median Earnings - The University of Alabama vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

The University of Alabama graduates earn about 1.4x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends The University of Alabama?

Undergraduates

32,323

Completion rate

73.69%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

17.99%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

33.58%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 17.99% of The University of Alabama students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 33.58% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

17.99%

Federal loan rate

33.58%

Students with any loan

91.07%

Average net price

$22,150

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at The University of Alabama

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use The University of Alabama's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$17,986

Median completer debt

$22,750

Median monthly payment

$241

Federal loan rate

33.58%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open The University of Alabama Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open The University of Alabama's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review The University of Alabama's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use The University of Alabama's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

The University of Alabama Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$1,369,440,098

Endowment per undergraduate

$42,367

Faculty salary field

$11,090

Tuition revenue per FTE

$13,885

Instructional spend per FTE

$9,380

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

The University of Alabama lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

The University of Alabama is listed at 739 University Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0100. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

739 University Blvd
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0100

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare The University of Alabama with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

The University of Alabama
Accept. rate
75.82%
Tuition
$33,200
Net price
$22,150
10-yr earnings
$59,221
Auburn University
Accept. rate
50.47%
Tuition
$33,944
Net price
$23,897
10-yr earnings
$65,337
Columbia Southern University
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
$5,808
Net price
$14,975
10-yr earnings
$63,534
University of Alabama in Huntsville
Accept. rate
74.25%
Tuition
$24,662
Net price
$19,880
10-yr earnings
$61,767
Marion Military Institute
Accept. rate
59.17%
Tuition
$15,538
Net price
$10,137
10-yr earnings
$59,644

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is The University of Alabama Tuition?

The University of Alabama out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $33,200. In-state tuition is $11,900. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is The University of Alabama's average net price?

The University of Alabama's average net price per College Scorecard is $22,150. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all The University of Alabama fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with The University of Alabama.

What is The University of Alabama's acceptance rate?

The University of Alabama's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 75.82%.

What is The University of Alabama's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $59,221 for The University of Alabama.

Is The University of Alabama accredited?

The University of Alabama's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend The University of Alabama?

Per College Scorecard, 32,323 undergraduate students at The University of Alabama.

What percentage of The University of Alabama students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for The University of Alabama per College Scorecard is 17.99%.

What is the federal loan rate at The University of Alabama?

The federal loan rate for The University of Alabama per College Scorecard is 33.58%.

Where should I verify The University of Alabama data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with The University of Alabama or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does The University of Alabama report?

The University of Alabama reports SAT data around 1,287, with math 580-700 and reading 590-700 where available.

What GPA requirements does The University of Alabama have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the The University of Alabama application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does The University of Alabama offer?

The University of Alabama has reported program records including Finance and Financial Management Services, Marketing, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is The University of Alabama's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.5 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.