Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Washington, District of Columbia

American University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing American University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$56,543

Average net price after aid

$41,945

Total attendance cost

$71,549

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is American University Expensive?

American University reports tuition of $56,543 (out-of-state) / $56,543 (in-state) and an average net price of $41,945. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

American University is a private nonprofit in Washington, DC. The total estimated cost of attendance is $71,549, the acceptance rate is 47.38%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $77,370.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on American University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View American University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could American University fit your shortlist?

American University is a private nonprofit in Washington, DC. Its reported average net price is $41,945, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $56,543. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Washington with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 78.49% completion rate and $77,370 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared District of Columbia schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. American University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$56,543

Net price

$41,945

Acceptance rate

47.38%

SAT

1,392

ACT

29-33

Graduation rate

78.49%

Salary after graduation

$77,370

ROI payback

2.2 yrs

Reported snapshot

American University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

7,593

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

5,202

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

10:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

86.18%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 4400 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington, DC 20016-8001

Admissions

Is American University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 47.38%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

47.38%

SAT overall

1,392

ACT range

29-33

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$56,543

Room and board

$17,012

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$1,620

Net price

$41,945

4-year net price

$167,780

American University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $21,176 $50,373 $1,765/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $18,630 $52,919 $1,553/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $23,477 $48,072 $1,956/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $34,587 $36,962 $2,882/mo
Over $110,000 $53,257 $18,292 $4,438/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use American University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

12.73%

Federal loan rate

35.00%

Students with any loan

95.02%

Median completer debt

$22,750

Median monthly payment

$241

Loan principal

$19,500

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 2,095
3-year repayment count 2,190
5-year repayment count 2,080
7-year repayment count 1,753
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

72.47%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

78.49%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$77,370

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $61,328
10-year median earnings $77,370
10-year mean earnings $67,700
Simple ROI payback 2.2 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 56.87%
56.87%
Hispanic 12.80%
12.80%
Asian 7.11%
7.11%
Black 7.88%
7.88%
Two or more races 5.69%
5.69%
Nonresident alien 6.61%
6.61%

Gender and economic profile

Men 36.45%
36.45%
Women 63.55%
63.55%

First-generation share

15.63%

Low-income share

17.71%

Average family income

$2,451

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Associate Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Social sciences 35.47%
35.47%
Business and marketing 16.96%
16.96%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 9.38%
9.38%
Communication and journalism 8.38%
8.38%
Homeland security and law enforcement 4.37%
4.37%
Visual and performing arts 4.07%
4.07%
Psychology 3.27%
3.27%
Health professions 3.22%
3.22%
Computer and information sciences 2.18%
2.18%
Biological sciences 2.13%
2.13%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
International Relations and National Security Studies Bachelor's Degree 434 $41,948
Law First Professional Degree 413 $60,267
International Relations and National Security Studies Master's Degree 317 $59,460
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 226 $45,217
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 220 $89,205
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 218 $50,809
Public Administration Master's Degree 166 $69,734
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods Master's Degree 129 $87,167
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's Degree 119 $44,939
Criminal Justice and Corrections Bachelor's Degree 108 $39,002
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication Bachelor's Degree 105 $45,098
Educational Administration and Supervision Master's Degree 101 $61,023
Economics Bachelor's Degree 90 $48,661
Accounting and Related Services Master's Degree 88 $61,356
Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies Master's Degree 87 $48,710
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 86 $64,161
Public Health Bachelor's Degree 84 $36,775
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 81 $35,226

Highest reported program salary signals

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$89,205

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

$87,167

Public Administration

Master's Degree

$69,734

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$64,161

Accounting and Related Services

Master's Degree

$61,356

Educational Administration and Supervision

Master's Degree

$61,023

Law

First Professional Degree

$60,267

International Relations and National Security Studies

Master's Degree

$59,460

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$50,809

Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies

Master's Degree

$48,710

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$48,661

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$45,217

Published tuition and cost components

American University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $56,543
In-state tuition $56,543
Out-of-state tuition $56,543
Cost per year $71,549
Average net price $41,945
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $286,196
Estimated 4-year net price $167,780

American University In-State Tuition

American University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $56,543. American University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

American University Out-of-State Tuition

American University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $56,543. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

American University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

American University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $71,549, while the average net price after aid is $41,945.

Cost per year

$71,549

4-year attendance estimate

$286,196

4-year net price estimate

$167,780

American University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 47.38%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 47.38%
SAT average/range 1,392
SAT Math middle range 630-710
SAT Reading middle range 670-740
ACT middle range 29-33
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

American University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for American University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,392, SAT Math range is 630-710, and SAT Reading range is 670-740.

American University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for American University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 29-33.

American University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

American University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for American University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 47.38%
SAT data: 1,392
ACT data: 29-33

American University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to American University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at American University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if American University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

American University Financial Aid

American University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 12.73% and federal loan rate is 35.00%.

American University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with American University.

American University Net Price by Family Income

American University net price is $41,945 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

American University Rankings 2026

American University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 78.49%
Salary after graduation $77,370
10-year median earnings $77,370
State average net price $26,516
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 2.2 years simple payback

American University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. American University has 162 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

International Relations and National Security Studies

Bachelor's Degree

434 reported awards

Program

Law

First Professional Degree

413 reported awards

Program

International Relations and National Security Studies

Master's Degree

317 reported awards

Program

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

226 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

220 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

218 reported awards

Program

Public Administration

Master's Degree

166 reported awards

Program

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

129 reported awards

American University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Taxation

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $93,187

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $89,205

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $87,167

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $87,151

Curriculum and Instruction

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $78,817

Finance and Financial Management Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $76,001

Computer Science

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $73,918

Public Administration

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $69,734

American University Graduation Rate

American University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 78.49%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

American University Salary After Graduation

American University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $77,370 for 10-year median earnings.

American University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, American University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 2.2 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

American University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$56,543

Out-of-state tuition

$56,543

Average net price

$41,945

Attendance cost

$71,549

American University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with American University.

Tuition

Per semester: $28,272

Annual: $56,543

Room and board

Per semester: $8,506

Annual: $17,012

Books and supplies

Per semester: $500

Annual: $1,000

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $810

Annual: $1,620

Attendance cost

Per semester: $35,775

Annual: $71,549

American University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$226,172

Four-year attendance estimate

$286,196

Four-year average net price

$167,780

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

American University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $56,543 and out-of-state tuition is $56,543. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists American University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, American University reports $56,543 for out-of-state tuition and $56,543 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$17,012

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$14,712

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,000

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$1,620

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$71,549

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at American University pays approximately $41,945 per year after grants and aid. This is above the District of Columbia average of $26,516 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

47.38%

SAT Average

1,392

ACT Range

29-33

American University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 47.38%. This means approximately 474 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 7,593 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

47.38%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$56,543

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$56,543

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$71,549

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$41,945

State avg: $26,516. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

12.73%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

35.00%

Share using federal loans.

What Does American University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$56,543

Room and board

$17,012

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$1,620

Sticker price

$71,549

Average net price

$41,945

Average aid coverage

41%

$29,604 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at American University pays approximately $41,945 per year after grants and aid. This is above the District of Columbia average of $26,516 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is American University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to District of Columbia and national averages.

American University net price

$41,945

District of Columbia average

$26,516

National average

$17,506

American University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $56,543 and average net price at $41,945. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$56,543

Current net price

$41,945

Current out-of-state tuition $56,543
Current average net price $41,945

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

78.49%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$77,370

Undergraduates

7,593

10-Year Median Earnings - American University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

American University graduates earn about 1.8x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends American University?

Undergraduates

7,593

Completion rate

78.49%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

12.73%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

35.00%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 12.73% of American University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 35.00% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

12.73%

Federal loan rate

35.00%

Students with any loan

95.02%

Average net price

$41,945

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at American University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use American University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$19,500

Median completer debt

$22,750

Median monthly payment

$241

Federal loan rate

35.00%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open American University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open American University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review American University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use American University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

American University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$961,160,000

Endowment per undergraduate

$126,585

Faculty salary field

$13,264

Tuition revenue per FTE

$33,111

Instructional spend per FTE

$17,225

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

American University lists Middle States Commission on Higher Education as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

American University is listed at 4400 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington, DC 20016-8001. Accreditor: Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Address

4400 Massachusetts Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016-8001

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare American University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

American University
Accept. rate
47.38%
Tuition
$56,543
Net price
$41,945
10-yr earnings
$77,370
Georgetown University
Accept. rate
13.08%
Tuition
$65,081
Net price
$39,433
10-yr earnings
$103,494
George Washington University
Accept. rate
43.54%
Tuition
$64,990
Net price
$37,454
10-yr earnings
$90,873
The Catholic University of America
Accept. rate
83.84%
Tuition
$55,834
Net price
$32,798
10-yr earnings
$73,250
Howard University
Accept. rate
34.89%
Tuition
$33,344
Net price
$47,919
10-yr earnings
$63,066

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is American University Tuition?

American University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $56,543. In-state tuition is $56,543. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is American University's average net price?

American University's average net price per College Scorecard is $41,945. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all American University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with American University.

What is American University's acceptance rate?

American University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 47.38%.

What does American University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $21,176 for American University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is American University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $77,370 for American University.

Is American University accredited?

American University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How many students attend American University?

Per College Scorecard, 7,593 undergraduate students at American University.

What percentage of American University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for American University per College Scorecard is 12.73%.

What is the federal loan rate at American University?

The federal loan rate for American University per College Scorecard is 35.00%.

Where should I verify American University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with American University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does American University report?

American University reports SAT data around 1,392, with math 630-710 and reading 670-740 where available.

What GPA requirements does American University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the American University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does American University offer?

American University has reported program records including International Relations and National Security Studies, Law, International Relations and National Security Studies. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is American University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 2.2 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.