Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Southern University and A & M College: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Southern University and A & M College starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$17,198

Average net price after aid

$19,740

Total attendance cost

$26,076

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Southern University and A & M College Expensive?

Southern University and A & M College reports tuition of $17,198 (out-of-state) / $9,940 (in-state) and an average net price of $19,740. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Southern University and A & M College is a public in Baton Rouge, LA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $26,076, the acceptance rate is 49.87%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $43,371.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Southern University and A & M College’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Southern University and A & M College tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Southern University and A & M College fit your shortlist?

Southern University and A & M College is a public in Baton Rouge, LA. Its reported average net price is $19,740, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $17,198. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Baton Rouge with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 28.45% completion rate and $43,371 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Louisiana schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Southern University and A & M College may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$17,198

Net price

$19,740

Acceptance rate

49.87%

SAT

938

ACT

15-19

Graduation rate

28.45%

Salary after graduation

$43,371

ROI payback

1.8 yrs

Reported snapshot

Southern University and A & M College at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

5,323

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

1,500

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

21:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

60.35%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address P.O. Box 9374, Harding Blvd, Baton Rouge, LA 70813

Admissions

Is Southern University and A & M College hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 49.87%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

49.87%

SAT overall

938

ACT range

15-19

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$17,198

Room and board

$9,366

Books and supplies

$1,300

Other expenses

$5,470

Net price

$19,740

4-year net price

$78,960

Southern University and A & M College Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $18,473 $7,603 $1,539/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $19,314 $6,762 $1,610/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $21,614 $4,462 $1,801/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $23,583 $2,493 $1,965/mo
Over $110,000 $23,940 $2,136 $1,995/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Southern University and A & M College's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

64.58%

Federal loan rate

70.10%

Students with any loan

92.59%

Median completer debt

$29,251

Median monthly payment

$310

Loan principal

$15,455

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 3,015
3-year repayment count 3,264
5-year repayment count 3,104
7-year repayment count 2,780
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

9.81%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

28.45%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$43,371

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $33,033
10-year median earnings $43,371
10-year mean earnings $39,600
Simple ROI payback 1.8 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 0.77%
0.77%
Hispanic 0.85%
0.85%
Asian 0.26%
0.26%
Black 94.68%
94.68%
Two or more races 1.52%
1.52%
Nonresident alien 0.30%
0.30%

Gender and economic profile

Men 31.84%
31.84%
Women 68.16%
68.16%

First-generation share

39.66%

Low-income share

60.06%

Average family income

$3,210

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Health professions 21.32%
21.32%
Homeland security and law enforcement 12.73%
12.73%
Business and marketing 11.59%
11.59%
Engineering 7.15%
7.15%
Communication and journalism 7.15%
7.15%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 6.72%
6.72%
Psychology 6.15%
6.15%
Social sciences 5.44%
5.44%
Agriculture 4.58%
4.58%
Biological sciences 3.00%
3.00%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Law First Professional Degree 151 $41,467
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 102 $63,608
Criminal Justice and Corrections Bachelor's Degree 68 $27,947
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 50 $23,611
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 48 $32,812
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services Bachelor's Degree 47 $30,377
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions Bachelor's Degree 46 $27,670
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 43 $46,155
Public Administration Master's Degree 41 $45,056
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's Degree 40 $34,252
Social Work Bachelor's Degree 36 $27,683
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 34 $31,782
Criminal Justice and Corrections Master's Degree 32 $35,369
Agriculture, General Bachelor's Degree 31 $30,865
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 31 $33,461
Communication and Media Studies Bachelor's Degree 29 $22,448
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's Degree 29 $93,985
Computer Science Bachelor's Degree 28 $40,491

Highest reported program salary signals

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

$93,985

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$63,608

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$46,155

Public Administration

Master's Degree

$45,056

Law

First Professional Degree

$41,467

Computer Science

Bachelor's Degree

$40,491

Criminal Justice and Corrections

Master's Degree

$35,369

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

$34,252

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$33,461

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$32,812

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$31,782

Agriculture, General

Bachelor's Degree

$30,865

Published tuition and cost components

Southern University and A & M College tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $17,198
In-state tuition $9,940
Out-of-state tuition $17,198
Cost per year $26,076
Average net price $19,740
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $104,304
Estimated 4-year net price $78,960

Southern University and A & M College In-State Tuition

Southern University and A & M College in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $9,940. Southern University and A & M College is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Southern University and A & M College Out-of-State Tuition

Southern University and A & M College out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $17,198. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Louisiana Residency for Southern University and A & M College?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $7,258 per year, or $29,032 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$39,760

4-year out-of-state tuition

$68,792

4-year premium

$29,032

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

Southern University and A & M College Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Southern University and A & M College cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $26,076, while the average net price after aid is $19,740.

Cost per year

$26,076

4-year attendance estimate

$104,304

4-year net price estimate

$78,960

Southern University and A & M College Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 49.87%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 49.87%
SAT average/range 938
SAT Math middle range 380-490
SAT Reading middle range 418-510
ACT middle range 15-19
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Southern University and A & M College SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Southern University and A & M College are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 938, SAT Math range is 380-490, and SAT Reading range is 418-510.

Southern University and A & M College ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Southern University and A & M College should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 15-19.

Southern University and A & M College GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Southern University and A & M College Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Southern University and A & M College admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 49.87%
SAT data: 938
ACT data: 15-19

Southern University and A & M College Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Southern University and A & M College Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Southern University and A & M College's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Southern University and A & M College provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Southern University and A & M College Financial Aid

Southern University and A & M College financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 64.58% and federal loan rate is 70.10%.

Southern University and A & M College Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Southern University and A & M College.

Southern University and A & M College Net Price by Family Income

Southern University and A & M College net price is $19,740 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Southern University and A & M College Rankings 2026

Southern University and A & M College ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 28.45%
Salary after graduation $43,371
10-year median earnings $43,371
State average net price $17,038
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.8 years simple payback

Southern University and A & M College Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Southern University and A & M College has 66 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Law

First Professional Degree

151 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

102 reported awards

Program

Criminal Justice and Corrections

Bachelor's Degree

68 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

50 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

48 reported awards

Program

Communication Disorders Sciences and Services

Bachelor's Degree

47 reported awards

Program

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Bachelor's Degree

46 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

43 reported awards

Southern University and A & M College Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $93,985

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $72,173

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $63,608

English Language and Literature, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $56,037

Civil Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $51,400

Communication Disorders Sciences and Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $50,522

Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $48,710

Educational Administration and Supervision

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $47,639

Southern University and A & M College Graduation Rate

Southern University and A & M College graduation rate per College Scorecard is 28.45%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Southern University and A & M College Salary After Graduation

Southern University and A & M College salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $43,371 for 10-year median earnings.

Southern University and A & M College ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Southern University and A & M College reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.8 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Southern University and A & M College Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$9,940

Out-of-state tuition

$17,198

Average net price

$19,740

Attendance cost

$26,076

Southern University and A & M College Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Southern University and A & M College.

Tuition

Per semester: $8,599

Annual: $17,198

Room and board

Per semester: $4,683

Annual: $9,366

Books and supplies

Per semester: $650

Annual: $1,300

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $2,735

Annual: $5,470

Attendance cost

Per semester: $13,038

Annual: $26,076

Southern University and A & M College Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$68,792

Four-year attendance estimate

$104,304

Four-year average net price

$78,960

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Southern University and A & M College is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $9,940 and out-of-state tuition is $17,198. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Southern University and A & M College as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$9,366

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$10,468

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,300

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$5,470

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$26,076

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Southern University and A & M College pays approximately $19,740 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Louisiana average of $17,038 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

49.87%

SAT Average

938

ACT Range

15-19

Southern University and A & M College Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 49.87%. This means approximately 499 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 5,323 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

49.87%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$9,940

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$17,198

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$26,076

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$19,740

State avg: $17,038. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

64.58%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

70.10%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Southern University and A & M College Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$17,198

Room and board

$9,366

Books and supplies

$1,300

Other expenses

$5,470

Sticker price

$26,076

Average net price

$19,740

Average aid coverage

24%

$6,336 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Southern University and A & M College pays approximately $19,740 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Louisiana average of $17,038 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Southern University and A & M College?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Louisiana and national averages.

Southern University and A & M College net price

$19,740

Louisiana average

$17,038

National average

$17,506

Southern University and A & M College Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $17,198 and average net price at $19,740. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$17,198

Current net price

$19,740

Current out-of-state tuition $17,198
Current average net price $19,740

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

28.45%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$43,371

Undergraduates

5,323

10-Year Median Earnings - Southern University and A & M College vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Southern University and A & M College graduates earn about 1.0x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Southern University and A & M College?

Undergraduates

5,323

Completion rate

28.45%

Below national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

64.58%

Above national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

70.10%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 64.58% of Southern University and A & M College students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 70.10% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

64.58%

Federal loan rate

70.10%

Students with any loan

92.59%

Average net price

$19,740

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Southern University and A & M College

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Southern University and A & M College's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$15,455

Median completer debt

$29,251

Median monthly payment

$310

Federal loan rate

70.10%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Southern University and A & M College Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Southern University and A & M College's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Southern University and A & M College's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Southern University and A & M College's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Southern University and A & M College Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$12,017,647

Endowment per undergraduate

$2,258

Faculty salary field

$7,535

Tuition revenue per FTE

$6,563

Instructional spend per FTE

$5,475

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Southern University and A & M College lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Southern University and A & M College is listed at P.O. Box 9374, Harding Blvd, Baton Rouge, LA 70813. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

P.O. Box 9374, Harding Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70813

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Southern University and A & M College with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Southern University and A & M College
Accept. rate
49.87%
Tuition
$17,198
Net price
$19,740
10-yr earnings
$43,371
Chamberlain University-Louisiana
Accept. rate
90.91%
Tuition
$19,686
Net price
$36,972
10-yr earnings
$92,405
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$78,495
Baton Rouge General Medical Center School of Nursing & School of Radiologic Technology
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$75,071
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$74,671

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Southern University Baton Rouge Tuition?

Southern University and A & M College out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $17,198. In-state tuition is $9,940. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Southern University and A & M College's average net price?

Southern University and A & M College's average net price per College Scorecard is $19,740. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Southern University and A & M College fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Southern University and A & M College.

What is Southern University and A & M College's acceptance rate?

Southern University and A & M College's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 49.87%.

What is Southern University and A & M College's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $43,371 for Southern University and A & M College.

Is Southern University and A & M College accredited?

Southern University and A & M College's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Southern University and A & M College?

Per College Scorecard, 5,323 undergraduate students at Southern University and A & M College.

What percentage of Southern University and A & M College students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Southern University and A & M College per College Scorecard is 64.58%.

What is the federal loan rate at Southern University and A & M College?

The federal loan rate for Southern University and A & M College per College Scorecard is 70.10%.

Where should I verify Southern University and A & M College data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Southern University and A & M College or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Southern University and A & M College report?

Southern University and A & M College reports SAT data around 938, with math 380-490 and reading 418-510 where available.

What GPA requirements does Southern University and A & M College have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Southern University and A & M College application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Southern University and A & M College offer?

Southern University and A & M College has reported program records including Law, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Criminal Justice and Corrections. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Southern University and A & M College's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.8 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.