Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Detroit, Michigan

University of Detroit Mercy: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing University of Detroit Mercy starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$32,300

Average net price after aid

$16,179

Total attendance cost

$40,069

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is University of Detroit Mercy Expensive?

University of Detroit Mercy reports tuition of $32,300 (out-of-state) / $32,300 (in-state) and an average net price of $16,179. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Detroit Mercy is a private nonprofit in Detroit, MI. The total estimated cost of attendance is $40,069, the acceptance rate is 80.14%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $71,030.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on University of Detroit Mercy’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View University of Detroit Mercy tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could University of Detroit Mercy fit your shortlist?

University of Detroit Mercy is a private nonprofit in Detroit, MI. Its reported average net price is $16,179, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $32,300. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Detroit with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 68.10% completion rate and $71,030 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Michigan schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. University of Detroit Mercy may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$32,300

Net price

$16,179

Acceptance rate

80.14%

SAT

1,136

ACT

22-28

Graduation rate

68.10%

Salary after graduation

$71,030

ROI payback

0.9 yrs

Reported snapshot

University of Detroit Mercy at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

2,289

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

2,176

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

12:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

82.48%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 4001 W McNichols Rd, Detroit, MI 48221-3038

Admissions

Is University of Detroit Mercy hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 80.14%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

80.14%

SAT overall

1,136

ACT range

22-28

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$32,300

Room and board

$10,738

Books and supplies

$1,376

Other expenses

$3,076

Net price

$16,179

4-year net price

$64,716

University of Detroit Mercy Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $12,616 $27,453 $1,051/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $12,414 $27,655 $1,035/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $15,090 $24,979 $1,258/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $17,762 $22,307 $1,480/mo
Over $110,000 $22,663 $17,406 $1,889/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use University of Detroit Mercy's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

25.13%

Federal loan rate

30.61%

Students with any loan

90.48%

Median completer debt

$23,250

Median monthly payment

$246

Loan principal

$19,950

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 1,431
3-year repayment count 1,484
5-year repayment count 1,722
7-year repayment count 1,501
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

53.36%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

68.10%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

21.27%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$71,030

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $64,534
10-year median earnings $71,030
10-year mean earnings $53,700
Simple ROI payback 0.9 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 53.52%
53.52%
Hispanic 9.31%
9.31%
Asian 7.21%
7.21%
Black 10.92%
10.92%
Two or more races 2.14%
2.14%
Nonresident alien 9.31%
9.31%

Gender and economic profile

Men 36.30%
36.30%
Women 63.70%
63.70%

First-generation share

28.71%

Low-income share

38.50%

Average family income

$1,239

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Health professions 37.84%
37.84%
Biological sciences 22.07%
22.07%
Business and marketing 7.81%
7.81%
Architecture 5.56%
5.56%
Engineering 5.26%
5.26%
Foreign languages 3.90%
3.90%
Psychology 3.30%
3.30%
Computer and information sciences 2.85%
2.85%
Legal 2.40%
2.40%
Homeland security and law enforcement 2.25%
2.25%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 249 $60,926
Law First Professional Degree 192 $55,089
Dentistry First Professional Degree 149 $127,238
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 141 $21,838
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 65 $64,144
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's Degree 64 $95,922
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Master's Degree 57 $104,944
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 55 $55,515
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology Master's Degree 41 $48,300
Architectural Sciences and Technology Bachelor's Degree 37 Not reported
Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree 34 Not reported
Engineering, General Bachelor's Degree 28 Not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Bachelor's Degree 28 $42,032
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 25 $78,552
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management Master's Degree 24 $78,535
Architectural Sciences and Technology Master's Degree 23 Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma 23 Not reported
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma 20 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Dentistry

First Professional Degree

$127,238

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

$104,944

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

$95,922

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$78,552

Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Master's Degree

$78,535

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$64,144

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$60,926

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$55,515

Law

First Professional Degree

$55,089

Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Master's Degree

$48,300

Dental Support Services and Allied Professions

Bachelor's Degree

$42,032

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$21,838

Published tuition and cost components

University of Detroit Mercy tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $32,300
In-state tuition $32,300
Out-of-state tuition $32,300
Cost per year $40,069
Average net price $16,179
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $160,276
Estimated 4-year net price $64,716

University of Detroit Mercy In-State Tuition

University of Detroit Mercy in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $32,300. University of Detroit Mercy is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

University of Detroit Mercy Out-of-State Tuition

University of Detroit Mercy out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $32,300. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

University of Detroit Mercy Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

University of Detroit Mercy cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $40,069, while the average net price after aid is $16,179.

Cost per year

$40,069

4-year attendance estimate

$160,276

4-year net price estimate

$64,716

University of Detroit Mercy Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 80.14%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 80.14%
SAT average/range 1,136
SAT Math middle range 510-630
SAT Reading middle range 510-630
ACT middle range 22-28
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

University of Detroit Mercy SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for University of Detroit Mercy are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,136, SAT Math range is 510-630, and SAT Reading range is 510-630.

University of Detroit Mercy ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for University of Detroit Mercy should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 22-28.

University of Detroit Mercy GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

University of Detroit Mercy Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for University of Detroit Mercy admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 80.14%
SAT data: 1,136
ACT data: 22-28

University of Detroit Mercy Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to University of Detroit Mercy Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at University of Detroit Mercy's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if University of Detroit Mercy provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

University of Detroit Mercy Financial Aid

University of Detroit Mercy financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 25.13% and federal loan rate is 30.61%.

University of Detroit Mercy Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with University of Detroit Mercy.

University of Detroit Mercy Net Price by Family Income

University of Detroit Mercy net price is $16,179 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Detroit Mercy Rankings 2026

University of Detroit Mercy ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 68.10%
Salary after graduation $71,030
10-year median earnings $71,030
State average net price $16,178
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 0.9 years simple payback

University of Detroit Mercy Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. University of Detroit Mercy has 111 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

249 reported awards

Program

Law

First Professional Degree

192 reported awards

Program

Dentistry

First Professional Degree

149 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

141 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

65 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

64 reported awards

Program

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

57 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

55 reported awards

University of Detroit Mercy Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $201,665

Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences

Graduate/Professional Certificate

Program earnings: $199,973

Dentistry

First Professional Degree

Program earnings: $127,238

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $104,944

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $95,922

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $78,552

Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $78,535

Management Information Systems and Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $70,579

University of Detroit Mercy Graduation Rate

University of Detroit Mercy graduation rate per College Scorecard is 68.10%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

University of Detroit Mercy Salary After Graduation

University of Detroit Mercy salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $71,030 for 10-year median earnings.

University of Detroit Mercy ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, University of Detroit Mercy reaches a simple payback estimate in about 0.9 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

University of Detroit Mercy Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$32,300

Out-of-state tuition

$32,300

Average net price

$16,179

Attendance cost

$40,069

University of Detroit Mercy Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with University of Detroit Mercy.

Tuition

Per semester: $16,150

Annual: $32,300

Room and board

Per semester: $5,369

Annual: $10,738

Books and supplies

Per semester: $688

Annual: $1,376

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,538

Annual: $3,076

Attendance cost

Per semester: $20,035

Annual: $40,069

University of Detroit Mercy Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$129,200

Four-year attendance estimate

$160,276

Four-year average net price

$64,716

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

University of Detroit Mercy is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $32,300 and out-of-state tuition is $32,300. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists University of Detroit Mercy as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, University of Detroit Mercy reports $32,300 for out-of-state tuition and $32,300 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$10,738

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$12,198

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,376

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$3,076

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$40,069

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at University of Detroit Mercy pays approximately $16,179 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Michigan average of $16,178 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

80.14%

SAT Average

1,136

ACT Range

22-28

University of Detroit Mercy Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 80.14%. This means approximately 801 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 2,289 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

80.14%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Higher Learning Commission

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$32,300

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$32,300

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$40,069

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$16,179

State avg: $16,178. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

25.13%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

30.61%

Share using federal loans.

What Does University of Detroit Mercy Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$32,300

Room and board

$10,738

Books and supplies

$1,376

Other expenses

$3,076

Sticker price

$40,069

Average net price

$16,179

Average aid coverage

60%

$23,890 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at University of Detroit Mercy pays approximately $16,179 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Michigan average of $16,178 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is University of Detroit Mercy?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Michigan and national averages.

University of Detroit Mercy net price

$16,179

Michigan average

$16,178

National average

$17,506

University of Detroit Mercy Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $32,300 and average net price at $16,179. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$32,300

Current net price

$16,179

Current out-of-state tuition $32,300
Current average net price $16,179

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

68.10%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$71,030

Undergraduates

2,289

10-Year Median Earnings - University of Detroit Mercy vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

University of Detroit Mercy graduates earn about 1.6x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends University of Detroit Mercy?

Undergraduates

2,289

Completion rate

68.10%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

25.13%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

30.61%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 25.13% of University of Detroit Mercy students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 30.61% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

25.13%

Federal loan rate

30.61%

Students with any loan

90.48%

Average net price

$16,179

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at University of Detroit Mercy

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use University of Detroit Mercy's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$19,950

Median completer debt

$23,250

Median monthly payment

$246

Federal loan rate

30.61%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open University of Detroit Mercy Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open University of Detroit Mercy's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review University of Detroit Mercy's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use University of Detroit Mercy's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

University of Detroit Mercy Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$95,365,208

Endowment per undergraduate

$41,662

Faculty salary field

$10,394

Tuition revenue per FTE

$25,622

Instructional spend per FTE

$13,803

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

University of Detroit Mercy lists Higher Learning Commission as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

University of Detroit Mercy is listed at 4001 W McNichols Rd, Detroit, MI 48221-3038. Accreditor: Higher Learning Commission.

Address

4001 W McNichols Rd
Detroit, MI 48221-3038

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare University of Detroit Mercy with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

University of Detroit Mercy
Accept. rate
80.14%
Tuition
$32,300
Net price
$16,179
10-yr earnings
$71,030
Kettering University
Accept. rate
79.09%
Tuition
$46,380
Net price
$33,092
10-yr earnings
$94,823
Chamberlain University-Michigan
Accept. rate
88.89%
Tuition
$19,686
Net price
$26,870
10-yr earnings
$92,405
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Accept. rate
17.94%
Tuition
$58,072
Net price
$14,832
10-yr earnings
$83,648
Michigan Technological University
Accept. rate
87.94%
Tuition
$41,340
Net price
$15,729
10-yr earnings
$78,198

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is University of Detroit Mercy Tuition?

University of Detroit Mercy out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $32,300. In-state tuition is $32,300. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is University of Detroit Mercy's average net price?

University of Detroit Mercy's average net price per College Scorecard is $16,179. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all University of Detroit Mercy fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with University of Detroit Mercy.

What is University of Detroit Mercy's acceptance rate?

University of Detroit Mercy's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 80.14%.

What does University of Detroit Mercy cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $12,616 for University of Detroit Mercy students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is University of Detroit Mercy's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $71,030 for University of Detroit Mercy.

Is University of Detroit Mercy accredited?

University of Detroit Mercy's accreditor per College Scorecard is Higher Learning Commission.

How many students attend University of Detroit Mercy?

Per College Scorecard, 2,289 undergraduate students at University of Detroit Mercy.

What percentage of University of Detroit Mercy students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for University of Detroit Mercy per College Scorecard is 25.13%.

What is the federal loan rate at University of Detroit Mercy?

The federal loan rate for University of Detroit Mercy per College Scorecard is 30.61%.

Where should I verify University of Detroit Mercy data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with University of Detroit Mercy or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does University of Detroit Mercy report?

University of Detroit Mercy reports SAT data around 1,136, with math 510-630 and reading 510-630 where available.

What GPA requirements does University of Detroit Mercy have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the University of Detroit Mercy application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does University of Detroit Mercy offer?

University of Detroit Mercy has reported program records including Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Law, Dentistry. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is University of Detroit Mercy's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 0.9 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.