Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Saint Paul, Minnesota

Macalester College: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Macalester College starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$64,908

Average net price after aid

$29,980

Total attendance cost

$78,900

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Macalester College Expensive?

Macalester College reports tuition of $64,908 (out-of-state) / $64,908 (in-state) and an average net price of $29,980. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Macalester College is a private nonprofit in Saint Paul, MN. The total estimated cost of attendance is $78,900, the acceptance rate is 28.21%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $63,878.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Macalester College’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Macalester College tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Macalester College fit your shortlist?

Macalester College is a private nonprofit in Saint Paul, MN. Its reported average net price is $29,980, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $64,908. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Saint Paul with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 90.41% completion rate and $63,878 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Minnesota schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Macalester College may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$64,908

Net price

$29,980

Acceptance rate

28.21%

SAT

1,424

ACT

30-33

Graduation rate

90.41%

Salary after graduation

$63,878

ROI payback

1.9 yrs

Reported snapshot

Macalester College at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

2,131

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

Not available

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

10:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

94.57%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 1600 Grand Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55105-1899

Admissions

Is Macalester College hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 28.21%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

28.21%

SAT overall

1,424

ACT range

30-33

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$64,908

Room and board

$15,477

Books and supplies

$926

Other expenses

$1,680

Net price

$29,980

4-year net price

$119,920

Macalester College Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $12,877 $66,023 $1,073/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $11,441 $67,459 $953/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $13,050 $65,850 $1,088/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $26,584 $52,316 $2,215/mo
Over $110,000 $43,253 $35,647 $3,604/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Macalester College's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

17.33%

Federal loan rate

37.47%

Students with any loan

93.19%

Median completer debt

$23,000

Median monthly payment

$244

Loan principal

$19,500

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 508
3-year repayment count 515
5-year repayment count 535
7-year repayment count 465
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

81.55%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

90.41%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

3.32%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$63,878

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $46,244
10-year median earnings $63,878
10-year mean earnings $55,800
Simple ROI payback 1.9 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 51.71%
51.71%
Hispanic 11.31%
11.31%
Asian 8.54%
8.54%
Black 5.77%
5.77%
Two or more races 8.40%
8.40%
Nonresident alien 13.28%
13.28%

Gender and economic profile

Men 42.28%
42.28%
Women 57.72%
57.72%

First-generation share

12.83%

Low-income share

14.98%

Average family income

$514

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Social sciences 22.11%
22.11%
Biological sciences 13.31%
13.31%
Computer and information sciences 9.78%
9.78%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 8.81%
8.81%
Mathematics 7.63%
7.63%
Physical sciences 7.63%
7.63%
Psychology 6.26%
6.26%
Foreign languages 5.28%
5.28%
Natural resources 4.31%
4.31%
Visual and performing arts 3.91%
3.91%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Mathematics Bachelor's Degree 60 $60,896
Economics Bachelor's Degree 57 $47,163
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 56 $32,091
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 47 $73,129
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 39 $28,635
Research and Experimental Psychology Bachelor's Degree 33 $38,027
International/Global Studies Bachelor's Degree 32 $22,368
Neurobiology and Neurosciences Bachelor's Degree 30 $35,029
Geography and Cartography Bachelor's Degree 22 $28,253
Natural Resources Conservation and Research Bachelor's Degree 19 $26,444
Physics Bachelor's Degree 19 Not reported
Chemistry Bachelor's Degree 17 Not reported
Philosophy Bachelor's Degree 16 Not reported
Anthropology Bachelor's Degree 16 Not reported
History Bachelor's Degree 16 Not reported
Education, General Bachelor's Degree 14 Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies Bachelor's Degree 14 $29,487
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services Bachelor's Degree 12 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

$73,129

Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

$60,896

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$47,163

Research and Experimental Psychology

Bachelor's Degree

$38,027

Neurobiology and Neurosciences

Bachelor's Degree

$35,029

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$32,091

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$29,487

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$28,635

Geography and Cartography

Bachelor's Degree

$28,253

Natural Resources Conservation and Research

Bachelor's Degree

$26,444

International/Global Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$22,368

Published tuition and cost components

Macalester College tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $64,908
In-state tuition $64,908
Out-of-state tuition $64,908
Cost per year $78,900
Average net price $29,980
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $315,600
Estimated 4-year net price $119,920

Macalester College In-State Tuition

Macalester College in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,908. Macalester College is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Macalester College Out-of-State Tuition

Macalester College out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,908. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Macalester College Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Macalester College cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $78,900, while the average net price after aid is $29,980.

Cost per year

$78,900

4-year attendance estimate

$315,600

4-year net price estimate

$119,920

Macalester College Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 28.21%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 28.21%
SAT average/range 1,424
SAT Math middle range 670-760
SAT Reading middle range 680-750
ACT middle range 30-33
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Macalester College SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Macalester College are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,424, SAT Math range is 670-760, and SAT Reading range is 680-750.

Macalester College ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Macalester College should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 30-33.

Macalester College GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Macalester College Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Macalester College admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 28.21%
SAT data: 1,424
ACT data: 30-33

Macalester College Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Macalester College Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Macalester College's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Macalester College provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Macalester College Financial Aid

Macalester College financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 17.33% and federal loan rate is 37.47%.

Macalester College Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Macalester College.

Macalester College Net Price by Family Income

Macalester College net price is $29,980 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Macalester College Rankings 2026

Macalester College ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 90.41%
Salary after graduation $63,878
10-year median earnings $63,878
State average net price $17,382
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.9 years simple payback

Macalester College Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Macalester College has 37 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

60 reported awards

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

57 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

56 reported awards

Program

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

47 reported awards

Program

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

39 reported awards

Program

Research and Experimental Psychology

Bachelor's Degree

33 reported awards

Program

International/Global Studies

Bachelor's Degree

32 reported awards

Program

Neurobiology and Neurosciences

Bachelor's Degree

30 reported awards

Macalester College Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $73,129

Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $60,896

Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity Studies

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $47,198

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $47,163

Research and Experimental Psychology

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $38,027

Neurobiology and Neurosciences

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $35,029

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $32,091

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $29,487

Macalester College Graduation Rate

Macalester College graduation rate per College Scorecard is 90.41%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Macalester College Salary After Graduation

Macalester College salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $63,878 for 10-year median earnings.

Macalester College ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Macalester College reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.9 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Macalester College Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$64,908

Out-of-state tuition

$64,908

Average net price

$29,980

Attendance cost

$78,900

Macalester College Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Macalester College.

Tuition

Per semester: $32,454

Annual: $64,908

Room and board

Per semester: $7,739

Annual: $15,477

Books and supplies

Per semester: $463

Annual: $926

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $840

Annual: $1,680

Attendance cost

Per semester: $39,450

Annual: $78,900

Macalester College Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$259,632

Four-year attendance estimate

$315,600

Four-year average net price

$119,920

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Macalester College is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $64,908 and out-of-state tuition is $64,908. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Macalester College as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Macalester College reports $64,908 for out-of-state tuition and $64,908 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$15,477

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

Not available

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$926

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$1,680

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$78,900

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Macalester College pays approximately $29,980 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Minnesota average of $17,382 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

28.21%

SAT Average

1,424

ACT Range

30-33

Macalester College Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 28.21%. This means approximately 282 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 2,131 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

28.21%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Higher Learning Commission

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$64,908

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$64,908

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$78,900

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$29,980

State avg: $17,382. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

17.33%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

37.47%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Macalester College Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$64,908

Room and board

$15,477

Books and supplies

$926

Other expenses

$1,680

Sticker price

$78,900

Average net price

$29,980

Average aid coverage

62%

$48,920 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Macalester College pays approximately $29,980 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Minnesota average of $17,382 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Macalester College?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Minnesota and national averages.

Macalester College net price

$29,980

Minnesota average

$17,382

National average

$17,506

Macalester College Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $64,908 and average net price at $29,980. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$64,908

Current net price

$29,980

Current out-of-state tuition $64,908
Current average net price $29,980

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

90.41%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$63,878

Undergraduates

2,131

10-Year Median Earnings - Macalester College vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Macalester College graduates earn about 1.5x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Macalester College?

Undergraduates

2,131

Completion rate

90.41%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

17.33%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

37.47%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 17.33% of Macalester College students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 37.47% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

17.33%

Federal loan rate

37.47%

Students with any loan

93.19%

Average net price

$29,980

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Macalester College

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Macalester College's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$19,500

Median completer debt

$23,000

Median monthly payment

$244

Federal loan rate

37.47%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Macalester College Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Macalester College's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Macalester College's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Macalester College's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Macalester College Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$834,667,000

Endowment per undergraduate

$391,679

Faculty salary field

$11,661

Tuition revenue per FTE

$26,198

Instructional spend per FTE

$24,298

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Macalester College lists Higher Learning Commission as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Macalester College is listed at 1600 Grand Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55105-1899. Accreditor: Higher Learning Commission.

Address

1600 Grand Ave
Saint Paul, MN 55105-1899

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Macalester College with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Macalester College
Accept. rate
28.21%
Tuition
$64,908
Net price
$29,980
10-yr earnings
$63,878
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science
Accept. rate
38.71%
Tuition
$3,257
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$79,652
Saint Johns University
Accept. rate
90.48%
Tuition
$53,942
Net price
$27,018
10-yr earnings
$76,786
Carleton College
Accept. rate
22.28%
Tuition
$65,457
Net price
$27,320
10-yr earnings
$75,525
University of Minnesota-Rochester
Accept. rate
71.83%
Tuition
$14,400
Net price
$12,785
10-yr earnings
$69,020

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Macalester College tuition?

Macalester College out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,908. In-state tuition is $64,908. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Macalester College's average net price?

Macalester College's average net price per College Scorecard is $29,980. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Macalester College fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Macalester College.

What is Macalester College's acceptance rate?

Macalester College's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 28.21%.

What does Macalester College cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $12,877 for Macalester College students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Macalester College's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $63,878 for Macalester College.

Is Macalester College accredited?

Macalester College's accreditor per College Scorecard is Higher Learning Commission.

How many students attend Macalester College?

Per College Scorecard, 2,131 undergraduate students at Macalester College.

What percentage of Macalester College students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Macalester College per College Scorecard is 17.33%.

What is the federal loan rate at Macalester College?

The federal loan rate for Macalester College per College Scorecard is 37.47%.

Where should I verify Macalester College data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Macalester College or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Macalester College report?

Macalester College reports SAT data around 1,424, with math 670-760 and reading 680-750 where available.

What GPA requirements does Macalester College have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Macalester College application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Macalester College offer?

Macalester College has reported program records including Mathematics, Economics, Biology, General. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Macalester College's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.9 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.