Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Chester, Pennsylvania

Widener University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Widener University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$53,638

Average net price after aid

$30,470

Total attendance cost

$68,305

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Widener University Expensive?

Widener University reports tuition of $53,638 (out-of-state) / $53,638 (in-state) and an average net price of $30,470. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Widener University is a private nonprofit in Chester, PA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $68,305, the acceptance rate is 84.02%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $70,920.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Widener University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Widener University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Widener University fit your shortlist?

Widener University is a private nonprofit in Chester, PA. Its reported average net price is $30,470, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $53,638. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Chester with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 63.51% completion rate and $70,920 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Pennsylvania schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Widener University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$53,638

Net price

$30,470

Acceptance rate

84.02%

SAT

1,170

ACT

Not available

Graduation rate

63.51%

Salary after graduation

$70,920

ROI payback

1.7 yrs

Reported snapshot

Widener University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

2,765

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

2,799

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

11:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

78.24%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address One University Place, Chester, PA 19013-5792

Admissions

Is Widener University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 84.02%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

84.02%

SAT overall

1,170

ACT range

Not available

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$53,638

Room and board

$15,530

Books and supplies

$1,408

Other expenses

$1,890

Net price

$30,470

4-year net price

$121,880

Widener University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $25,328 $42,977 $2,111/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $25,620 $42,685 $2,135/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $28,722 $39,583 $2,394/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $31,013 $37,292 $2,584/mo
Over $110,000 $34,560 $33,745 $2,880/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Widener University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

24.85%

Federal loan rate

73.46%

Students with any loan

97.34%

Median completer debt

$27,000

Median monthly payment

$286

Loan principal

$24,567

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 1,721
3-year repayment count 1,840
5-year repayment count 1,916
7-year repayment count 1,604
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

55.71%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

63.51%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

29.22%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$70,920

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $63,375
10-year median earnings $70,920
10-year mean earnings $59,100
Simple ROI payback 1.7 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 58.66%
58.66%
Hispanic 8.03%
8.03%
Asian 4.05%
4.05%
Black 23.18%
23.18%
Two or more races 1.30%
1.30%
Nonresident alien 1.59%
1.59%

Gender and economic profile

Men 39.78%
39.78%
Women 60.22%
60.22%

First-generation share

30.04%

Low-income share

20.18%

Average family income

$1,690

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Associate Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Health professions 37.57%
37.57%
Engineering 16.81%
16.81%
Business and marketing 15.64%
15.64%
Psychology 7.02%
7.02%
Biological sciences 5.26%
5.26%
Computer and information sciences 3.07%
3.07%
Social sciences 2.49%
2.49%
Homeland security and law enforcement 2.49%
2.49%
Education 1.90%
1.90%
Communication and journalism 1.90%
1.90%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Social Work Master's Degree 296 $47,338
Law First Professional Degree 269 $50,960
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 214 $68,072
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology Master's Degree 65 Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's Degree 51 $103,993
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 51 $79,613
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 45 $32,142
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions First Professional Degree 45 Not reported
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 39 $52,378
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 38 $64,959
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 37 $34,724
Public Health Master's Degree 37 $49,890
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology First Professional Degree 36 Not reported
Civil Engineering Bachelor's Degree 34 $60,130
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Bachelor's Degree 30 $64,740
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other Bachelor's Degree 29 $45,993
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 24 $51,427
Educational Administration and Supervision Doctoral Degree 21 $88,400

Highest reported program salary signals

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

$103,993

Educational Administration and Supervision

Doctoral Degree

$88,400

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$79,613

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$68,072

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$64,959

Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services

Bachelor's Degree

$64,740

Civil Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$60,130

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$52,378

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$51,427

Law

First Professional Degree

$50,960

Public Health

Master's Degree

$49,890

Social Work

Master's Degree

$47,338

Published tuition and cost components

Widener University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $53,638
In-state tuition $53,638
Out-of-state tuition $53,638
Cost per year $68,305
Average net price $30,470
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $273,220
Estimated 4-year net price $121,880

Widener University In-State Tuition

Widener University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $53,638. Widener University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Widener University Out-of-State Tuition

Widener University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $53,638. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Widener University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Widener University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $68,305, while the average net price after aid is $30,470.

Cost per year

$68,305

4-year attendance estimate

$273,220

4-year net price estimate

$121,880

Widener University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 84.02%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 84.02%
SAT average/range 1,170
SAT Math middle range 520-620
SAT Reading middle range 530-640
ACT middle range Not available
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Widener University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Widener University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,170, SAT Math range is 520-620, and SAT Reading range is 530-640.

Widener University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Widener University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is Not available.

Widener University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Widener University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Widener University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 84.02%
SAT data: 1,170
ACT data: Not available

Widener University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Widener University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Widener University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Widener University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Widener University Financial Aid

Widener University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 24.85% and federal loan rate is 73.46%.

Widener University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Widener University.

Widener University Net Price by Family Income

Widener University net price is $30,470 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Widener University Rankings 2026

Widener University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 63.51%
Salary after graduation $70,920
10-year median earnings $70,920
State average net price $20,881
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.7 years simple payback

Widener University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Widener University has 141 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Social Work

Master's Degree

296 reported awards

Program

Law

First Professional Degree

269 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

214 reported awards

Program

Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Master's Degree

65 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

51 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

51 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

45 reported awards

Program

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

First Professional Degree

45 reported awards

Widener University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $103,993

Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $90,088

Educational Administration and Supervision

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $88,400

Business/Commerce, General

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $87,879

Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $82,611

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $79,613

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $76,120

Psychology, Other

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $73,670

Widener University Graduation Rate

Widener University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 63.51%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Widener University Salary After Graduation

Widener University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $70,920 for 10-year median earnings.

Widener University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Widener University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.7 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Widener University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$53,638

Out-of-state tuition

$53,638

Average net price

$30,470

Attendance cost

$68,305

Widener University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Widener University.

Tuition

Per semester: $26,819

Annual: $53,638

Room and board

Per semester: $7,765

Annual: $15,530

Books and supplies

Per semester: $704

Annual: $1,408

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $945

Annual: $1,890

Attendance cost

Per semester: $34,153

Annual: $68,305

Widener University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$214,552

Four-year attendance estimate

$273,220

Four-year average net price

$121,880

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Widener University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $53,638 and out-of-state tuition is $53,638. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Widener University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Widener University reports $53,638 for out-of-state tuition and $53,638 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$15,530

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$8,766

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,408

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$1,890

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$68,305

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Widener University pays approximately $30,470 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Pennsylvania average of $20,881 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

84.02%

SAT Average

1,170

ACT Range

Not available

Widener University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 84.02%. This means approximately 840 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 2,765 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

84.02%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$53,638

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$53,638

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$68,305

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$30,470

State avg: $20,881. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

24.85%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

73.46%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Widener University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$53,638

Room and board

$15,530

Books and supplies

$1,408

Other expenses

$1,890

Sticker price

$68,305

Average net price

$30,470

Average aid coverage

55%

$37,835 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Widener University pays approximately $30,470 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Pennsylvania average of $20,881 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Widener University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Pennsylvania and national averages.

Widener University net price

$30,470

Pennsylvania average

$20,881

National average

$17,506

Widener University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $53,638 and average net price at $30,470. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$53,638

Current net price

$30,470

Current out-of-state tuition $53,638
Current average net price $30,470

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

63.51%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$70,920

Undergraduates

2,765

10-Year Median Earnings - Widener University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Widener University graduates earn about 1.6x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Widener University?

Undergraduates

2,765

Completion rate

63.51%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

24.85%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

73.46%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 24.85% of Widener University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 73.46% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

24.85%

Federal loan rate

73.46%

Students with any loan

97.34%

Average net price

$30,470

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Widener University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Widener University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$24,567

Median completer debt

$27,000

Median monthly payment

$286

Federal loan rate

73.46%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Widener University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Widener University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Widener University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Widener University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Widener University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$113,114,564

Endowment per undergraduate

$40,909

Faculty salary field

$8,665

Tuition revenue per FTE

$22,138

Instructional spend per FTE

$14,063

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Widener University lists Middle States Commission on Higher Education as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Widener University is listed at One University Place, Chester, PA 19013-5792. Accreditor: Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Address

One University Place
Chester, PA 19013-5792

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Widener University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Widener University
Accept. rate
84.02%
Tuition
$53,638
Net price
$30,470
10-yr earnings
$70,920
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$138,767
Carnegie Mellon University
Accept. rate
11.40%
Tuition
$63,829
Net price
$31,671
10-yr earnings
$114,862
University of Pennsylvania
Accept. rate
5.87%
Tuition
$66,104
Net price
$31,229
10-yr earnings
$111,371
Lehigh University
Accept. rate
29.26%
Tuition
$62,180
Net price
$33,549
10-yr earnings
$105,584

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Widener University Tuition?

Widener University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $53,638. In-state tuition is $53,638. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Widener University's average net price?

Widener University's average net price per College Scorecard is $30,470. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Widener University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Widener University.

What is Widener University's acceptance rate?

Widener University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 84.02%.

What does Widener University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $25,328 for Widener University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Widener University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $70,920 for Widener University.

Is Widener University accredited?

Widener University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How many students attend Widener University?

Per College Scorecard, 2,765 undergraduate students at Widener University.

What percentage of Widener University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Widener University per College Scorecard is 24.85%.

What is the federal loan rate at Widener University?

The federal loan rate for Widener University per College Scorecard is 73.46%.

Where should I verify Widener University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Widener University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Widener University report?

Widener University reports SAT data around 1,170, with math 520-620 and reading 530-640 where available.

What GPA requirements does Widener University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Widener University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Widener University offer?

Widener University has reported program records including Social Work, Law, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Widener University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.7 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.