Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Swarthmore, Pennsylvania

Swarthmore College: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Swarthmore College starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$62,412

Average net price after aid

$18,686

Total attendance cost

$80,014

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Swarthmore College Expensive?

Swarthmore College reports tuition of $62,412 (out-of-state) / $62,412 (in-state) and an average net price of $18,686. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Swarthmore College is a private nonprofit in Swarthmore, PA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $80,014, the acceptance rate is 6.94%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $80,257.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Swarthmore College’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Swarthmore College tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Swarthmore College fit your shortlist?

Swarthmore College is a private nonprofit in Swarthmore, PA. Its reported average net price is $18,686, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $62,412. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Swarthmore with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 94.13% completion rate and $80,257 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Pennsylvania schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Swarthmore College may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$62,412

Net price

$18,686

Acceptance rate

6.94%

SAT

1,527

ACT

33-34

Graduation rate

94.13%

Salary after graduation

$80,257

ROI payback

0.9 yrs

Reported snapshot

Swarthmore College at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

1,627

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

Not available

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

8:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

97.23%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 500 College Ave, Swarthmore, PA 19081

Admissions

Is Swarthmore College hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 6.94%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

6.94%

SAT overall

1,527

ACT range

33-34

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$62,412

Room and board

$18,964

Books and supplies

$760

Other expenses

$1,967

Net price

$18,686

4-year net price

$74,744

Swarthmore College Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $8,580 $71,434 $715/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $5,592 $74,422 $466/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $8,292 $71,722 $691/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $20,977 $59,037 $1,748/mo
Over $110,000 $47,429 $32,585 $3,952/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Swarthmore College's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

20.01%

Federal loan rate

9.77%

Students with any loan

51.80%

Median completer debt

$17,500

Median monthly payment

$186

Loan principal

$13,000

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 257
3-year repayment count 258
5-year repayment count 279
7-year repayment count 265
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

76.28%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

94.13%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$80,257

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $56,211
10-year median earnings $80,257
10-year mean earnings $70,000
Simple ROI payback 0.9 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 29.50%
29.50%
Hispanic 15.12%
15.12%
Asian 17.58%
17.58%
Black 9.40%
9.40%
Two or more races 11.06%
11.06%
Nonresident alien 14.20%
14.20%

Gender and economic profile

Men 48.56%
48.56%
Women 51.44%
51.44%

First-generation share

26.88%

Low-income share

28.06%

Average family income

$278

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Social sciences 26.16%
26.16%
Computer and information sciences 11.25%
11.25%
Biological sciences 10.51%
10.51%
Engineering 8.07%
8.07%
Mathematics 7.33%
7.33%
Education 6.11%
6.11%
Physical sciences 5.38%
5.38%
Visual and performing arts 5.13%
5.13%
Psychology 3.67%
3.67%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 3.42%
3.42%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Economics Bachelor's Degree 84 $56,029
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 65 $97,897
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 42 $34,425
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 39 $43,119
Mathematics Bachelor's Degree 36 $59,964
Research and Experimental Psychology Bachelor's Degree 33 Not reported
Engineering, General Bachelor's Degree 24 $68,963
Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution Bachelor's Degree 23 Not reported
Natural Resources Conservation and Research Bachelor's Degree 18 Not reported
Education, Other Bachelor's Degree 17 $43,245
English Language and Literature, General Bachelor's Degree 17 Not reported
History Bachelor's Degree 16 Not reported
Fine and Studio Arts Bachelor's Degree 15 Not reported
Sociology and Anthropology Bachelor's Degree 14 Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Bachelor's Degree 13 Not reported
Education, General Bachelor's Degree 12 Not reported
Neurobiology and Neurosciences Bachelor's Degree 11 Not reported
Cognitive Science Bachelor's Degree 10 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

$97,897

Engineering, General

Bachelor's Degree

$68,963

Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

$59,964

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$56,029

Education, Other

Bachelor's Degree

$43,245

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$43,119

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$34,425

Published tuition and cost components

Swarthmore College tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $62,412
In-state tuition $62,412
Out-of-state tuition $62,412
Cost per year $80,014
Average net price $18,686
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $320,056
Estimated 4-year net price $74,744

Swarthmore College In-State Tuition

Swarthmore College in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $62,412. Swarthmore College is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Swarthmore College Out-of-State Tuition

Swarthmore College out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $62,412. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Swarthmore College Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Swarthmore College cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $80,014, while the average net price after aid is $18,686.

Cost per year

$80,014

4-year attendance estimate

$320,056

4-year net price estimate

$74,744

Swarthmore College Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 6.94%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 6.94%
SAT average/range 1,527
SAT Math middle range 740-790
SAT Reading middle range 720-770
ACT middle range 33-34
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Swarthmore College SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Swarthmore College are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,527, SAT Math range is 740-790, and SAT Reading range is 720-770.

Swarthmore College ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Swarthmore College should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 33-34.

Swarthmore College GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Swarthmore College Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Swarthmore College admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 6.94%
SAT data: 1,527
ACT data: 33-34

Swarthmore College Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Swarthmore College Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Swarthmore College's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Swarthmore College provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Swarthmore College Financial Aid

Swarthmore College financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 20.01% and federal loan rate is 9.77%.

Swarthmore College Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Swarthmore College.

Swarthmore College Net Price by Family Income

Swarthmore College net price is $18,686 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Swarthmore College Rankings 2026

Swarthmore College ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 94.13%
Salary after graduation $80,257
10-year median earnings $80,257
State average net price $20,881
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 0.9 years simple payback

Swarthmore College Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Swarthmore College has 66 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

84 reported awards

Program

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

65 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

42 reported awards

Program

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

39 reported awards

Program

Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

36 reported awards

Program

Research and Experimental Psychology

Bachelor's Degree

33 reported awards

Program

Engineering, General

Bachelor's Degree

24 reported awards

Program

Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution

Bachelor's Degree

23 reported awards

Swarthmore College Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $97,897

Engineering, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $68,963

Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $59,964

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $56,029

Education, Other

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $43,245

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $43,119

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $34,425

Research and Experimental Psychology

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: Not reported

Swarthmore College Graduation Rate

Swarthmore College graduation rate per College Scorecard is 94.13%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Swarthmore College Salary After Graduation

Swarthmore College salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $80,257 for 10-year median earnings.

Swarthmore College ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Swarthmore College reaches a simple payback estimate in about 0.9 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Swarthmore College Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$62,412

Out-of-state tuition

$62,412

Average net price

$18,686

Attendance cost

$80,014

Swarthmore College Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Swarthmore College.

Tuition

Per semester: $31,206

Annual: $62,412

Room and board

Per semester: $9,482

Annual: $18,964

Books and supplies

Per semester: $380

Annual: $760

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $984

Annual: $1,967

Attendance cost

Per semester: $40,007

Annual: $80,014

Swarthmore College Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$249,648

Four-year attendance estimate

$320,056

Four-year average net price

$74,744

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Swarthmore College is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $62,412 and out-of-state tuition is $62,412. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Swarthmore College as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Swarthmore College reports $62,412 for out-of-state tuition and $62,412 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$18,964

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

Not available

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$760

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$1,967

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$80,014

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Swarthmore College pays approximately $18,686 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Pennsylvania average of $20,881 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

6.94%

SAT Average

1,527

ACT Range

33-34

Swarthmore College Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 6.94%. This means approximately 69 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 1,627 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

6.94%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$62,412

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$62,412

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$80,014

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$18,686

State avg: $20,881. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

20.01%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

9.77%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Swarthmore College Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$62,412

Room and board

$18,964

Books and supplies

$760

Other expenses

$1,967

Sticker price

$80,014

Average net price

$18,686

Average aid coverage

77%

$61,328 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Swarthmore College pays approximately $18,686 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Pennsylvania average of $20,881 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Swarthmore College?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Pennsylvania and national averages.

Swarthmore College net price

$18,686

Pennsylvania average

$20,881

National average

$17,506

Swarthmore College Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $62,412 and average net price at $18,686. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$62,412

Current net price

$18,686

Current out-of-state tuition $62,412
Current average net price $18,686

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

94.13%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$80,257

Undergraduates

1,627

10-Year Median Earnings - Swarthmore College vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Swarthmore College graduates earn about 1.8x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Swarthmore College?

Undergraduates

1,627

Completion rate

94.13%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

20.01%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

9.77%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 20.01% of Swarthmore College students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 9.77% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

20.01%

Federal loan rate

9.77%

Students with any loan

51.80%

Average net price

$18,686

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Swarthmore College

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Swarthmore College's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$13,000

Median completer debt

$17,500

Median monthly payment

$186

Federal loan rate

9.77%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Swarthmore College Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Swarthmore College's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Swarthmore College's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Swarthmore College's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Swarthmore College Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$2,720,329,000

Endowment per undergraduate

$1,671,991

Faculty salary field

$14,517

Tuition revenue per FTE

$31,087

Instructional spend per FTE

$40,691

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Swarthmore College lists Middle States Commission on Higher Education as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Swarthmore College is listed at 500 College Ave, Swarthmore, PA 19081. Accreditor: Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Address

500 College Ave
Swarthmore, PA 19081

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Swarthmore College with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Swarthmore College
Accept. rate
6.94%
Tuition
$62,412
Net price
$18,686
10-yr earnings
$80,257
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$138,767
Carnegie Mellon University
Accept. rate
11.40%
Tuition
$63,829
Net price
$31,671
10-yr earnings
$114,862
University of Pennsylvania
Accept. rate
5.87%
Tuition
$66,104
Net price
$31,229
10-yr earnings
$111,371
Lehigh University
Accept. rate
29.26%
Tuition
$62,180
Net price
$33,549
10-yr earnings
$105,584

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Swarthmore College Tuition?

Swarthmore College out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $62,412. In-state tuition is $62,412. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Swarthmore College's average net price?

Swarthmore College's average net price per College Scorecard is $18,686. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Swarthmore College fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Swarthmore College.

What is Swarthmore College's acceptance rate?

Swarthmore College's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 6.94%.

What does Swarthmore College cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $8,580 for Swarthmore College students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Swarthmore College's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $80,257 for Swarthmore College.

Is Swarthmore College accredited?

Swarthmore College's accreditor per College Scorecard is Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

How many students attend Swarthmore College?

Per College Scorecard, 1,627 undergraduate students at Swarthmore College.

What percentage of Swarthmore College students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Swarthmore College per College Scorecard is 20.01%.

What is the federal loan rate at Swarthmore College?

The federal loan rate for Swarthmore College per College Scorecard is 9.77%.

Where should I verify Swarthmore College data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Swarthmore College or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Swarthmore College report?

Swarthmore College reports SAT data around 1,527, with math 740-790 and reading 720-770 where available.

What GPA requirements does Swarthmore College have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Swarthmore College application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Swarthmore College offer?

Swarthmore College has reported program records including Economics, Computer and Information Sciences, General, Biology, General. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Swarthmore College's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 0.9 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.