Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Bellingham, Washington

Western Washington University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Western Washington University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$27,853

Average net price after aid

$18,680

Total attendance cost

$28,305

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Western Washington University Expensive?

Western Washington University reports tuition of $27,853 (out-of-state) / $9,286 (in-state) and an average net price of $18,680. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Western Washington University is a public in Bellingham, WA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $28,305, the acceptance rate is 91.31%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $62,569.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Western Washington University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Western Washington University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Western Washington University fit your shortlist?

Western Washington University is a public in Bellingham, WA. Its reported average net price is $18,680, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $27,853. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Bellingham with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 65.55% completion rate and $62,569 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Washington schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Western Washington University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$27,853

Net price

$18,680

Acceptance rate

91.31%

SAT

1,235

ACT

23-29

Graduation rate

65.55%

Salary after graduation

$62,569

ROI payback

1.2 yrs

Reported snapshot

Western Washington University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

13,574

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

947

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

17:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

79.73%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 516 High Street, Bellingham, WA 98225-9008

Admissions

Is Western Washington University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 91.31%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

91.31%

SAT overall

1,235

ACT range

23-29

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$27,853

Room and board

$14,915

Books and supplies

$1,176

Other expenses

$4,590

Net price

$18,680

4-year net price

$74,720

Western Washington University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $11,416 $16,889 $951/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $12,741 $15,564 $1,062/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $16,177 $12,128 $1,348/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $21,581 $6,724 $1,798/mo
Over $110,000 $25,698 $2,607 $2,142/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Western Washington University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

20.76%

Federal loan rate

28.16%

Students with any loan

83.83%

Median completer debt

$18,500

Median monthly payment

$196

Loan principal

$13,500

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 4,781
3-year repayment count 4,964
5-year repayment count 4,492
7-year repayment count 4,018
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

41.97%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

65.55%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$62,569

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $45,272
10-year median earnings $62,569
10-year mean earnings $50,600
Simple ROI payback 1.2 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 69.39%
69.39%
Hispanic 10.98%
10.98%
Asian 5.80%
5.80%
Black 1.98%
1.98%
Two or more races 9.11%
9.11%
Nonresident alien 0.80%
0.80%

Gender and economic profile

Men 42.44%
42.44%
Women 57.56%
57.56%

First-generation share

26.69%

Low-income share

31.96%

Average family income

$4,553

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 12.09%
12.09%
Social sciences 9.85%
9.85%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 8.82%
8.82%
Psychology 7.31%
7.31%
Natural resources 6.59%
6.59%
Education 6.50%
6.50%
Visual and performing arts 6.13%
6.13%
English 5.74%
5.74%
Biological sciences 5.68%
5.68%
Computer and information sciences 4.68%
4.68%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Natural Resources Conservation and Research Bachelor's Degree 272 $25,380
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 224 $27,918
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 158 $42,166
Sociology Bachelor's Degree 145 $26,202
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's Degree 133 $22,773
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 128 $69,837
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies Bachelor's Degree 122 $22,536
Marketing Bachelor's Degree 115 $40,450
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General Bachelor's Degree 106 $28,664
Human Services, General Bachelor's Degree 106 $33,003
Communication and Media Studies Bachelor's Degree 105 $32,487
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 103 $29,100
Special Education and Teaching Bachelor's Degree 93 $49,253
Fine and Studio Arts Bachelor's Degree 92 $24,490
English Language and Literature, General Bachelor's Degree 90 $22,884
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 89 $46,243
Economics Bachelor's Degree 82 $38,176
History Bachelor's Degree 79 $24,557

Highest reported program salary signals

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

$69,837

Special Education and Teaching

Bachelor's Degree

$49,253

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$46,243

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$42,166

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

$40,450

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$38,176

Human Services, General

Bachelor's Degree

$33,003

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$32,487

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$29,100

Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General

Bachelor's Degree

$28,664

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$27,918

Sociology

Bachelor's Degree

$26,202

Published tuition and cost components

Western Washington University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $27,853
In-state tuition $9,286
Out-of-state tuition $27,853
Cost per year $28,305
Average net price $18,680
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $113,220
Estimated 4-year net price $74,720

Western Washington University In-State Tuition

Western Washington University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $9,286. Western Washington University is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Western Washington University Out-of-State Tuition

Western Washington University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $27,853. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Washington Residency for Western Washington University?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $18,567 per year, or $74,268 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$37,144

4-year out-of-state tuition

$111,412

4-year premium

$74,268

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

Western Washington University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Western Washington University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $28,305, while the average net price after aid is $18,680.

Cost per year

$28,305

4-year attendance estimate

$113,220

4-year net price estimate

$74,720

Western Washington University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 91.31%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 91.31%
SAT average/range 1,235
SAT Math middle range 540-660
SAT Reading middle range 570-690
ACT middle range 23-29
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Western Washington University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Western Washington University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,235, SAT Math range is 540-660, and SAT Reading range is 570-690.

Western Washington University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Western Washington University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 23-29.

Western Washington University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Western Washington University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Western Washington University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 91.31%
SAT data: 1,235
ACT data: 23-29

Western Washington University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Western Washington University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Western Washington University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Western Washington University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Western Washington University Financial Aid

Western Washington University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 20.76% and federal loan rate is 28.16%.

Western Washington University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Western Washington University.

Western Washington University Net Price by Family Income

Western Washington University net price is $18,680 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Western Washington University Rankings 2026

Western Washington University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 65.55%
Salary after graduation $62,569
10-year median earnings $62,569
State average net price $17,377
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.2 years simple payback

Western Washington University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Western Washington University has 117 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Natural Resources Conservation and Research

Bachelor's Degree

272 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

224 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

158 reported awards

Program

Sociology

Bachelor's Degree

145 reported awards

Program

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

133 reported awards

Program

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

128 reported awards

Program

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies

Bachelor's Degree

122 reported awards

Program

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

115 reported awards

Western Washington University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $77,824

Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $72,675

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $71,492

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $69,837

Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $68,568

Manufacturing Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $66,425

Communication Disorders Sciences and Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $61,592

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $60,314

Western Washington University Graduation Rate

Western Washington University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 65.55%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Western Washington University Salary After Graduation

Western Washington University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $62,569 for 10-year median earnings.

Western Washington University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Western Washington University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.2 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Western Washington University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$9,286

Out-of-state tuition

$27,853

Average net price

$18,680

Attendance cost

$28,305

Western Washington University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Western Washington University.

Tuition

Per semester: $13,927

Annual: $27,853

Room and board

Per semester: $7,458

Annual: $14,915

Books and supplies

Per semester: $588

Annual: $1,176

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $2,295

Annual: $4,590

Attendance cost

Per semester: $14,153

Annual: $28,305

Western Washington University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$111,412

Four-year attendance estimate

$113,220

Four-year average net price

$74,720

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Western Washington University is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $9,286 and out-of-state tuition is $27,853. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Western Washington University as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$14,915

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$14,915

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,176

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$4,590

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$28,305

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Western Washington University pays approximately $18,680 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Washington average of $17,377 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

91.31%

SAT Average

1,235

ACT Range

23-29

Western Washington University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 91.31%. This means approximately 913 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 13,574 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

91.31%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$9,286

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$27,853

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$28,305

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$18,680

State avg: $17,377. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

20.76%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

28.16%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Western Washington University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$27,853

Room and board

$14,915

Books and supplies

$1,176

Other expenses

$4,590

Sticker price

$28,305

Average net price

$18,680

Average aid coverage

34%

$9,625 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Western Washington University pays approximately $18,680 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Washington average of $17,377 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Western Washington University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Washington and national averages.

Western Washington University net price

$18,680

Washington average

$17,377

National average

$17,506

Western Washington University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $27,853 and average net price at $18,680. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$27,853

Current net price

$18,680

Current out-of-state tuition $27,853
Current average net price $18,680

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

65.55%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$62,569

Undergraduates

13,574

10-Year Median Earnings - Western Washington University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Western Washington University graduates earn about 1.4x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Western Washington University?

Undergraduates

13,574

Completion rate

65.55%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

20.76%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

28.16%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 20.76% of Western Washington University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 28.16% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

20.76%

Federal loan rate

28.16%

Students with any loan

83.83%

Average net price

$18,680

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Western Washington University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Western Washington University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$13,500

Median completer debt

$18,500

Median monthly payment

$196

Federal loan rate

28.16%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Western Washington University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Western Washington University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Western Washington University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Western Washington University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Western Washington University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$115,126,944

Endowment per undergraduate

$8,481

Faculty salary field

$11,372

Tuition revenue per FTE

$8,951

Instructional spend per FTE

$12,941

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Western Washington University lists Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Western Washington University is listed at 516 High Street, Bellingham, WA 98225-9008. Accreditor: Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

Address

516 High Street
Bellingham, WA 98225-9008

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Western Washington University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Western Washington University
Accept. rate
91.31%
Tuition
$27,853
Net price
$18,680
10-yr earnings
$62,569
Golden Gate University-Seattle
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$87,434
DigiPen Institute of Technology
Accept. rate
68.02%
Tuition
$37,400
Net price
$42,033
10-yr earnings
$79,878
Gonzaga University
Accept. rate
75.96%
Tuition
$53,500
Net price
$36,371
10-yr earnings
$78,892
University of Washington-Bothell Campus
Accept. rate
91.77%
Tuition
$41,913
Net price
$10,898
10-yr earnings
$78,466

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Western Washington University Tuition?

Western Washington University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $27,853. In-state tuition is $9,286. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Western Washington University's average net price?

Western Washington University's average net price per College Scorecard is $18,680. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Western Washington University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Western Washington University.

What is Western Washington University's acceptance rate?

Western Washington University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 91.31%.

What is Western Washington University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $62,569 for Western Washington University.

Is Western Washington University accredited?

Western Washington University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

How many students attend Western Washington University?

Per College Scorecard, 13,574 undergraduate students at Western Washington University.

What percentage of Western Washington University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Western Washington University per College Scorecard is 20.76%.

What is the federal loan rate at Western Washington University?

The federal loan rate for Western Washington University per College Scorecard is 28.16%.

Where should I verify Western Washington University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Western Washington University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Western Washington University report?

Western Washington University reports SAT data around 1,235, with math 540-660 and reading 570-690 where available.

What GPA requirements does Western Washington University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Western Washington University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Western Washington University offer?

Western Washington University has reported program records including Natural Resources Conservation and Research, Psychology, General, Business Administration, Management and Operations. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Western Washington University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.2 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.