Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Charleston, West Virginia

University of Charleston: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing University of Charleston starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$32,842

Average net price after aid

$22,012

Total attendance cost

$44,031

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is University of Charleston Expensive?

University of Charleston reports tuition of $32,842 (out-of-state) / $32,842 (in-state) and an average net price of $22,012. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Charleston is a private nonprofit in Charleston, WV. The total estimated cost of attendance is $44,031, the acceptance rate is 64.53%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $55,774.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on University of Charleston’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View University of Charleston tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could University of Charleston fit your shortlist?

University of Charleston is a private nonprofit in Charleston, WV. Its reported average net price is $22,012, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $32,842. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Charleston with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 46.33% completion rate and $55,774 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared West Virginia schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. University of Charleston may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$32,842

Net price

$22,012

Acceptance rate

64.53%

SAT

Not available

ACT

Not available

Graduation rate

46.33%

Salary after graduation

$55,774

ROI payback

1.6 yrs

Reported snapshot

University of Charleston at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

2,083

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

671

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

15:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

69.07%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 2300 MacCorkle Avenue, SE, Charleston, WV 25304

Admissions

Is University of Charleston hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 64.53%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

64.53%

SAT overall

Not available

ACT range

Not available

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$32,842

Room and board

$11,162

Books and supplies

$2,000

Other expenses

$2,730

Net price

$22,012

4-year net price

$88,048

University of Charleston Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $20,938 $23,093 $1,745/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $21,646 $22,385 $1,804/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $21,133 $22,898 $1,761/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $22,526 $21,505 $1,877/mo
Over $110,000 $23,451 $20,580 $1,954/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use University of Charleston's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

28.63%

Federal loan rate

33.74%

Students with any loan

86.08%

Median completer debt

$19,500

Median monthly payment

$207

Loan principal

$12,666

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 746
3-year repayment count 799
5-year repayment count 603
7-year repayment count 505
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

39.25%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

46.33%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

29.33%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$55,774

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $42,698
10-year median earnings $55,774
10-year mean earnings $46,800
Simple ROI payback 1.6 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 66.35%
66.35%
Hispanic 8.07%
8.07%
Asian 1.20%
1.20%
Black 8.64%
8.64%
Two or more races 4.61%
4.61%
Nonresident alien 7.39%
7.39%

Gender and economic profile

Men 61.35%
61.35%
Women 38.65%
38.65%

First-generation share

43.13%

Low-income share

37.24%

Average family income

$862

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Associate Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 51.25%
51.25%
Health professions 29.64%
29.64%
Parks, recreation and fitness 4.99%
4.99%
Biological sciences 2.91%
2.91%
Homeland security and law enforcement 2.91%
2.91%
Education 1.52%
1.52%
Liberal arts and humanities 1.52%
1.52%
Psychology 1.52%
1.52%
Social sciences 1.25%
1.25%
Communication and journalism 0.97%
0.97%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 368 $55,904
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other Master's Degree 123 $65,971
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Associate's Degree 87 $56,698
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration First Professional Degree 56 Not reported
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other First Professional Degree 56 Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 54 $58,671
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 36 Not reported
Business/Commerce, General Master's Degree 33 $48,859
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Master's Degree 30 $97,686
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 29 $29,188
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate's Degree 23 $37,189
Security Science and Technology Master's Degree 22 Not reported
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 18 $51,052
Graphic Communications Bachelor's Degree 14 Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Bachelor's Degree 13 $48,786
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 12 Not reported
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 12 Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations Associate's Degree 12 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

$97,686

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other

Master's Degree

$65,971

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$58,671

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Associate's Degree

$56,698

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$55,904

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$51,052

Business/Commerce, General

Master's Degree

$48,859

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Bachelor's Degree

$48,786

Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services

Associate's Degree

$37,189

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$29,188

Published tuition and cost components

University of Charleston tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $32,842
In-state tuition $32,842
Out-of-state tuition $32,842
Cost per year $44,031
Average net price $22,012
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $176,124
Estimated 4-year net price $88,048

University of Charleston In-State Tuition

University of Charleston in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $32,842. University of Charleston is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

University of Charleston Out-of-State Tuition

University of Charleston out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $32,842. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

University of Charleston Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

University of Charleston cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $44,031, while the average net price after aid is $22,012.

Cost per year

$44,031

4-year attendance estimate

$176,124

4-year net price estimate

$88,048

University of Charleston Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 64.53%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 64.53%
SAT average/range Not available
SAT Math middle range Not available
SAT Reading middle range Not available
ACT middle range Not available
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

University of Charleston SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for University of Charleston are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is Not available, SAT Math range is Not available, and SAT Reading range is Not available.

University of Charleston ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for University of Charleston should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is Not available.

University of Charleston GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

University of Charleston Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for University of Charleston admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 64.53%
SAT data: Not available
ACT data: Not available

University of Charleston Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to University of Charleston Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at University of Charleston's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if University of Charleston provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

University of Charleston Financial Aid

University of Charleston financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 28.63% and federal loan rate is 33.74%.

University of Charleston Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with University of Charleston.

University of Charleston Net Price by Family Income

University of Charleston net price is $22,012 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Charleston Rankings 2026

University of Charleston ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 46.33%
Salary after graduation $55,774
10-year median earnings $55,774
State average net price $10,497
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.6 years simple payback

University of Charleston Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. University of Charleston has 41 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

368 reported awards

Program

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other

Master's Degree

123 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Associate's Degree

87 reported awards

Program

Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration

First Professional Degree

56 reported awards

Program

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other

First Professional Degree

56 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

54 reported awards

Program

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

36 reported awards

Program

Business/Commerce, General

Master's Degree

33 reported awards

University of Charleston Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $112,123

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $97,686

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $77,242

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $65,971

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $58,671

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Associate's Degree

Program earnings: $56,698

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $55,904

Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions

Associate's Degree

Program earnings: $52,401

University of Charleston Graduation Rate

University of Charleston graduation rate per College Scorecard is 46.33%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

University of Charleston Salary After Graduation

University of Charleston salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $55,774 for 10-year median earnings.

University of Charleston ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, University of Charleston reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.6 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

University of Charleston Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$32,842

Out-of-state tuition

$32,842

Average net price

$22,012

Attendance cost

$44,031

University of Charleston Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with University of Charleston.

Tuition

Per semester: $16,421

Annual: $32,842

Room and board

Per semester: $5,581

Annual: $11,162

Books and supplies

Per semester: $1,000

Annual: $2,000

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,365

Annual: $2,730

Attendance cost

Per semester: $22,016

Annual: $44,031

University of Charleston Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$131,368

Four-year attendance estimate

$176,124

Four-year average net price

$88,048

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

University of Charleston is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $32,842 and out-of-state tuition is $32,842. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists University of Charleston as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, University of Charleston reports $32,842 for out-of-state tuition and $32,842 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$11,162

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$11,400

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$2,000

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$2,730

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$44,031

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at University of Charleston pays approximately $22,012 per year after grants and aid. This is above the West Virginia average of $10,497 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

64.53%

SAT Average

Not available

ACT Range

Not available

University of Charleston Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 64.53%. This means approximately 645 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 2,083 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

64.53%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Higher Learning Commission

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$32,842

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$32,842

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$44,031

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$22,012

State avg: $10,497. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

28.63%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

33.74%

Share using federal loans.

What Does University of Charleston Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$32,842

Room and board

$11,162

Books and supplies

$2,000

Other expenses

$2,730

Sticker price

$44,031

Average net price

$22,012

Average aid coverage

50%

$22,019 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at University of Charleston pays approximately $22,012 per year after grants and aid. This is above the West Virginia average of $10,497 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is University of Charleston?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to West Virginia and national averages.

University of Charleston net price

$22,012

West Virginia average

$10,497

National average

$17,506

University of Charleston Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $32,842 and average net price at $22,012. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$32,842

Current net price

$22,012

Current out-of-state tuition $32,842
Current average net price $22,012

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

46.33%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$55,774

Undergraduates

2,083

10-Year Median Earnings - University of Charleston vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

University of Charleston graduates earn about 1.3x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends University of Charleston?

Undergraduates

2,083

Completion rate

46.33%

Below national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

28.63%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

33.74%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 28.63% of University of Charleston students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 33.74% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

28.63%

Federal loan rate

33.74%

Students with any loan

86.08%

Average net price

$22,012

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at University of Charleston

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use University of Charleston's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$12,666

Median completer debt

$19,500

Median monthly payment

$207

Federal loan rate

33.74%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open University of Charleston Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open University of Charleston's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review University of Charleston's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use University of Charleston's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

University of Charleston Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$56,895,188

Endowment per undergraduate

$27,314

Faculty salary field

$7,016

Tuition revenue per FTE

$10,611

Instructional spend per FTE

$6,573

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

University of Charleston lists Higher Learning Commission as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

University of Charleston is listed at 2300 MacCorkle Avenue, SE, Charleston, WV 25304. Accreditor: Higher Learning Commission.

Address

2300 MacCorkle Avenue, SE
Charleston, WV 25304

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare University of Charleston with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

University of Charleston
Accept. rate
64.53%
Tuition
$32,842
Net price
$22,012
10-yr earnings
$55,774
West Virginia University Hospital Departments of Rad Tech and Nutrition
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$69,666
Wheeling University
Accept. rate
75.18%
Tuition
$29,475
Net price
$19,040
10-yr earnings
$57,949
Potomac State College of West Virginia University
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
$12,624
Net price
$7,403
10-yr earnings
$55,939
West Virginia University
Accept. rate
86.26%
Tuition
$27,360
Net price
$12,997
10-yr earnings
$55,939

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is University of Charleston Tuition?

University of Charleston out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $32,842. In-state tuition is $32,842. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is University of Charleston's average net price?

University of Charleston's average net price per College Scorecard is $22,012. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all University of Charleston fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with University of Charleston.

What is University of Charleston's acceptance rate?

University of Charleston's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 64.53%.

What does University of Charleston cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $20,938 for University of Charleston students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is University of Charleston's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $55,774 for University of Charleston.

Is University of Charleston accredited?

University of Charleston's accreditor per College Scorecard is Higher Learning Commission.

How many students attend University of Charleston?

Per College Scorecard, 2,083 undergraduate students at University of Charleston.

What percentage of University of Charleston students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for University of Charleston per College Scorecard is 28.63%.

What is the federal loan rate at University of Charleston?

The federal loan rate for University of Charleston per College Scorecard is 33.74%.

Where should I verify University of Charleston data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with University of Charleston or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does University of Charleston report?

SAT score data is not reported for University of Charleston per College Scorecard. Check the official admissions page for current testing policy.

What GPA requirements does University of Charleston have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the University of Charleston application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does University of Charleston offer?

University of Charleston has reported program records including Business Administration, Management and Operations, Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is University of Charleston's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.6 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.