Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Houston, Texas

University of Houston: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing University of Houston starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$22,191

Average net price after aid

$13,853

Total attendance cost

$25,056

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is University of Houston Expensive?

University of Houston reports tuition of $22,191 (out-of-state) / $9,711 (in-state) and an average net price of $13,853. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Houston is a public in Houston, TX. The total estimated cost of attendance is $25,056, the acceptance rate is 69.53%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $62,377.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on University of Houston’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View University of Houston tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could University of Houston fit your shortlist?

University of Houston is a public in Houston, TX. Its reported average net price is $13,853, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $22,191. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Houston with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 64.92% completion rate and $62,377 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Texas schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. University of Houston may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$22,191

Net price

$13,853

Acceptance rate

69.53%

SAT

1,229

ACT

23-28

Graduation rate

64.92%

Salary after graduation

$62,377

ROI payback

0.9 yrs

Reported snapshot

University of Houston at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

37,175

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

8,730

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

21:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

86.44%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 4302 University Drive, Room 212, Houston, TX 77204-2018

Admissions

Is University of Houston hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 69.53%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

69.53%

SAT overall

1,229

ACT range

23-28

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$22,191

Room and board

$10,830

Books and supplies

$1,556

Other expenses

$4,637

Net price

$13,853

4-year net price

$55,412

University of Houston Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $10,327 $14,729 $861/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $10,690 $14,366 $891/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $12,613 $12,443 $1,051/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $19,459 $5,597 $1,622/mo
Over $110,000 $22,969 $2,087 $1,914/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use University of Houston's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

40.89%

Federal loan rate

31.90%

Students with any loan

73.03%

Median completer debt

$18,194

Median monthly payment

$193

Loan principal

$14,000

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 10,787
3-year repayment count 11,537
5-year repayment count 10,624
7-year repayment count 8,652
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

44.55%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

64.92%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

6.75%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$62,377

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $52,768
10-year median earnings $62,377
10-year mean earnings $60,600
Simple ROI payback 0.9 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 17.24%
17.24%
Hispanic 37.52%
37.52%
Asian 23.81%
23.81%
Black 11.42%
11.42%
Two or more races 3.17%
3.17%
Nonresident alien 5.25%
5.25%

Gender and economic profile

Men 48.05%
48.05%
Women 51.95%
51.95%

First-generation share

40.49%

Low-income share

44.74%

Average family income

$13,380

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 27.54%
27.54%
Psychology 8.64%
8.64%
Computer and information sciences 8.31%
8.31%
Engineering 7.03%
7.03%
Biological sciences 6.22%
6.22%
Social sciences 5.90%
5.90%
Health professions 5.78%
5.78%
Parks, recreation and fitness 4.59%
4.59%
Communication and journalism 4.31%
4.31%
Engineering technologies 3.93%
3.93%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 776 $31,245
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 493 $49,877
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 458 $29,345
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 442 $45,390
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 413 $25,573
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 358 $63,082
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 337 $47,454
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's Degree 307 $49,029
Marketing Bachelor's Degree 284 $46,988
Management Information Systems and Services Bachelor's Degree 282 $57,394
Hospitality Administration/Management Bachelor's Degree 257 $37,817
Law First Professional Degree 254 $70,167
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 240 $68,022
Social Work Master's Degree 229 $45,906
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 226 $31,388
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 222 $30,274
Construction Engineering Technologies Bachelor's Degree 209 $66,571
Economics Bachelor's Degree 202 $42,417

Highest reported program salary signals

Law

First Professional Degree

$70,167

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$68,022

Construction Engineering Technologies

Bachelor's Degree

$66,571

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

$63,082

Management Information Systems and Services

Bachelor's Degree

$57,394

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$49,877

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

$49,029

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$47,454

Marketing

Bachelor's Degree

$46,988

Social Work

Master's Degree

$45,906

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$45,390

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$42,417

Published tuition and cost components

University of Houston tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $22,191
In-state tuition $9,711
Out-of-state tuition $22,191
Cost per year $25,056
Average net price $13,853
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $100,224
Estimated 4-year net price $55,412

University of Houston In-State Tuition

University of Houston in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $9,711. University of Houston is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

University of Houston Out-of-State Tuition

University of Houston out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $22,191. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Texas Residency for University of Houston?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $12,480 per year, or $49,920 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$38,844

4-year out-of-state tuition

$88,764

4-year premium

$49,920

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

University of Houston Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

University of Houston cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $25,056, while the average net price after aid is $13,853.

Cost per year

$25,056

4-year attendance estimate

$100,224

4-year net price estimate

$55,412

University of Houston Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 69.53%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 69.53%
SAT average/range 1,229
SAT Math middle range 570-670
SAT Reading middle range 580-660
ACT middle range 23-28
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

University of Houston SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for University of Houston are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,229, SAT Math range is 570-670, and SAT Reading range is 580-660.

University of Houston ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for University of Houston should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 23-28.

University of Houston GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

University of Houston Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for University of Houston admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 69.53%
SAT data: 1,229
ACT data: 23-28

University of Houston Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to University of Houston Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at University of Houston's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if University of Houston provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

University of Houston Financial Aid

University of Houston financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 40.89% and federal loan rate is 31.90%.

University of Houston Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with University of Houston.

University of Houston Net Price by Family Income

University of Houston net price is $13,853 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Houston Rankings 2026

University of Houston ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 64.92%
Salary after graduation $62,377
10-year median earnings $62,377
State average net price $17,343
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 0.9 years simple payback

University of Houston Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. University of Houston has 190 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

776 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

493 reported awards

Program

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

458 reported awards

Program

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

442 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

413 reported awards

Program

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

358 reported awards

Program

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

337 reported awards

Program

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

307 reported awards

University of Houston Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration

First Professional Degree

Program earnings: $110,469

Chemical Engineering

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $105,244

Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $99,747

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $98,237

Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $95,306

Optometry

First Professional Degree

Program earnings: $91,785

Mechanical Engineering

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $90,473

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $89,935

University of Houston Graduation Rate

University of Houston graduation rate per College Scorecard is 64.92%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

University of Houston Salary After Graduation

University of Houston salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $62,377 for 10-year median earnings.

University of Houston ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, University of Houston reaches a simple payback estimate in about 0.9 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

University of Houston Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$9,711

Out-of-state tuition

$22,191

Average net price

$13,853

Attendance cost

$25,056

University of Houston Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with University of Houston.

Tuition

Per semester: $11,096

Annual: $22,191

Room and board

Per semester: $5,415

Annual: $10,830

Books and supplies

Per semester: $778

Annual: $1,556

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $2,319

Annual: $4,637

Attendance cost

Per semester: $12,528

Annual: $25,056

University of Houston Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$88,764

Four-year attendance estimate

$100,224

Four-year average net price

$55,412

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

University of Houston is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $9,711 and out-of-state tuition is $22,191. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists University of Houston as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$10,830

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$11,022

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,556

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$4,637

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$25,056

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at University of Houston pays approximately $13,853 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Texas average of $17,343 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

69.53%

SAT Average

1,229

ACT Range

23-28

University of Houston Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 69.53%. This means approximately 695 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 37,175 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

69.53%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$9,711

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$22,191

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$25,056

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$13,853

State avg: $17,343. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

40.89%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

31.90%

Share using federal loans.

What Does University of Houston Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$22,191

Room and board

$10,830

Books and supplies

$1,556

Other expenses

$4,637

Sticker price

$25,056

Average net price

$13,853

Average aid coverage

45%

$11,203 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at University of Houston pays approximately $13,853 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Texas average of $17,343 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is University of Houston?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Texas and national averages.

University of Houston net price

$13,853

Texas average

$17,343

National average

$17,506

University of Houston Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $22,191 and average net price at $13,853. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$22,191

Current net price

$13,853

Current out-of-state tuition $22,191
Current average net price $13,853

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

64.92%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$62,377

Undergraduates

37,175

10-Year Median Earnings - University of Houston vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

University of Houston graduates earn about 1.4x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends University of Houston?

Undergraduates

37,175

Completion rate

64.92%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

40.89%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

31.90%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 40.89% of University of Houston students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 31.90% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

40.89%

Federal loan rate

31.90%

Students with any loan

73.03%

Average net price

$13,853

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at University of Houston

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use University of Houston's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$14,000

Median completer debt

$18,194

Median monthly payment

$193

Federal loan rate

31.90%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open University of Houston Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open University of Houston's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review University of Houston's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use University of Houston's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

University of Houston Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$1,216,300,190

Endowment per undergraduate

$32,718

Faculty salary field

$13,207

Tuition revenue per FTE

$11,059

Instructional spend per FTE

$9,176

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

University of Houston lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

University of Houston is listed at 4302 University Drive, Room 212, Houston, TX 77204-2018. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

4302 University Drive, Room 212
Houston, TX 77204-2018

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare University of Houston with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

University of Houston
Accept. rate
69.53%
Tuition
$22,191
Net price
$13,853
10-yr earnings
$62,377
West Coast University-Texas
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
$16,715
Net price
$25,957
10-yr earnings
$102,672
University of North Texas Health Science Center
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$93,615
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$92,961
Chamberlain University-Texas
Accept. rate
95.65%
Tuition
$19,686
Net price
$32,247
10-yr earnings
$92,405

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is University of Houston Tuition?

University of Houston out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $22,191. In-state tuition is $9,711. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is University of Houston's average net price?

University of Houston's average net price per College Scorecard is $13,853. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all University of Houston fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with University of Houston.

What is University of Houston's acceptance rate?

University of Houston's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 69.53%.

What is University of Houston's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $62,377 for University of Houston.

Is University of Houston accredited?

University of Houston's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend University of Houston?

Per College Scorecard, 37,175 undergraduate students at University of Houston.

What percentage of University of Houston students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for University of Houston per College Scorecard is 40.89%.

What is the federal loan rate at University of Houston?

The federal loan rate for University of Houston per College Scorecard is 31.90%.

Where should I verify University of Houston data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with University of Houston or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does University of Houston report?

University of Houston reports SAT data around 1,229, with math 570-670 and reading 580-660 where available.

What GPA requirements does University of Houston have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the University of Houston application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does University of Houston offer?

University of Houston has reported program records including Psychology, General, Business Administration, Management and Operations, Health and Physical Education/Fitness. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is University of Houston's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 0.9 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.