Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Huntsville, Texas

Sam Houston State University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Sam Houston State University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$19,020

Average net price after aid

$16,025

Total attendance cost

$24,517

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Sam Houston State University Expensive?

Sam Houston State University reports tuition of $19,020 (out-of-state) / $9,228 (in-state) and an average net price of $16,025. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Sam Houston State University is a public in Huntsville, TX. The total estimated cost of attendance is $24,517, the acceptance rate is 85.39%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $54,211.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Sam Houston State University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Sam Houston State University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Sam Houston State University fit your shortlist?

Sam Houston State University is a public in Huntsville, TX. Its reported average net price is $16,025, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $19,020. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Huntsville with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 55.07% completion rate and $54,211 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Texas schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Sam Houston State University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$19,020

Net price

$16,025

Acceptance rate

85.39%

SAT

1,055

ACT

19-25

Graduation rate

55.07%

Salary after graduation

$54,211

ROI payback

1.2 yrs

Reported snapshot

Sam Houston State University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

18,138

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

3,224

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

20:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

75.44%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 1806 Ave J, Huntsville, TX 77340

Admissions

Is Sam Houston State University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 85.39%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

85.39%

SAT overall

1,055

ACT range

19-25

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$19,020

Room and board

$11,720

Books and supplies

$1,380

Other expenses

$3,866

Net price

$16,025

4-year net price

$64,100

Sam Houston State University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $11,736 $12,781 $978/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $12,541 $11,976 $1,045/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $15,419 $9,098 $1,285/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $21,551 $2,966 $1,796/mo
Over $110,000 $23,198 $1,319 $1,933/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Sam Houston State University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

39.85%

Federal loan rate

46.31%

Students with any loan

84.22%

Median completer debt

$21,983

Median monthly payment

$233

Loan principal

$16,500

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 6,439
3-year repayment count 6,699
5-year repayment count 5,982
7-year repayment count 5,395
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

35.22%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

55.07%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

23.45%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$54,211

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $45,337
10-year median earnings $54,211
10-year mean earnings $49,700
Simple ROI payback 1.2 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 46.21%
46.21%
Hispanic 28.10%
28.10%
Asian 2.13%
2.13%
Black 17.43%
17.43%
Two or more races 3.42%
3.42%
Nonresident alien 0.76%
0.76%

Gender and economic profile

Men 37.09%
37.09%
Women 62.91%
62.91%

First-generation share

41.41%

Low-income share

40.02%

Average family income

$7,679

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Homeland security and law enforcement 21.81%
21.81%
Business and marketing 15.84%
15.84%
Health professions 12.49%
12.49%
Education 7.29%
7.29%
Psychology 6.04%
6.04%
Communication and journalism 5.15%
5.15%
Agriculture 5.06%
5.06%
Visual and performing arts 4.67%
4.67%
Engineering technologies 3.44%
3.44%
Parks, recreation and fitness 3.30%
3.30%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Criminal Justice and Corrections Bachelor's Degree 899 $33,981
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's Degree 424 $44,647
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Bachelor's Degree 317 Not reported
Business/Commerce, General Bachelor's Degree 282 $39,919
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 254 $27,958
Communication and Media Studies Bachelor's Degree 177 $33,305
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 143 $34,794
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 142 $67,097
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 137 $41,180
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 136 $32,198
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 135 $43,325
Curriculum and Instruction Master's Degree 131 $49,283
Health and Medical Administrative Services Bachelor's Degree 127 $31,604
Public Health Bachelor's Degree 118 $30,213
Criminal Justice and Corrections Master's Degree 117 $50,710
Animal Sciences Bachelor's Degree 115 $31,802
History Bachelor's Degree 109 $34,328
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 93 $28,302

Highest reported program salary signals

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$67,097

Criminal Justice and Corrections

Master's Degree

$50,710

Curriculum and Instruction

Master's Degree

$49,283

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

$44,647

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$43,325

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$41,180

Business/Commerce, General

Bachelor's Degree

$39,919

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

$34,794

History

Bachelor's Degree

$34,328

Criminal Justice and Corrections

Bachelor's Degree

$33,981

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$33,305

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$32,198

Published tuition and cost components

Sam Houston State University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $19,020
In-state tuition $9,228
Out-of-state tuition $19,020
Cost per year $24,517
Average net price $16,025
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $98,068
Estimated 4-year net price $64,100

Sam Houston State University In-State Tuition

Sam Houston State University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $9,228. Sam Houston State University is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Sam Houston State University Out-of-State Tuition

Sam Houston State University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $19,020. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Texas Residency for Sam Houston State University?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $9,792 per year, or $39,168 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$36,912

4-year out-of-state tuition

$76,080

4-year premium

$39,168

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

Sam Houston State University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Sam Houston State University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $24,517, while the average net price after aid is $16,025.

Cost per year

$24,517

4-year attendance estimate

$98,068

4-year net price estimate

$64,100

Sam Houston State University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 85.39%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 85.39%
SAT average/range 1,055
SAT Math middle range 460-560
SAT Reading middle range 480-580
ACT middle range 19-25
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Sam Houston State University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Sam Houston State University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,055, SAT Math range is 460-560, and SAT Reading range is 480-580.

Sam Houston State University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Sam Houston State University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 19-25.

Sam Houston State University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Sam Houston State University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Sam Houston State University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 85.39%
SAT data: 1,055
ACT data: 19-25

Sam Houston State University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Sam Houston State University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Sam Houston State University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Sam Houston State University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Sam Houston State University Financial Aid

Sam Houston State University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 39.85% and federal loan rate is 46.31%.

Sam Houston State University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Sam Houston State University.

Sam Houston State University Net Price by Family Income

Sam Houston State University net price is $16,025 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Sam Houston State University Rankings 2026

Sam Houston State University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 55.07%
Salary after graduation $54,211
10-year median earnings $54,211
State average net price $17,343
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.2 years simple payback

Sam Houston State University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Sam Houston State University has 137 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Criminal Justice and Corrections

Bachelor's Degree

899 reported awards

Program

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

424 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

317 reported awards

Program

Business/Commerce, General

Bachelor's Degree

282 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

254 reported awards

Program

Communication and Media Studies

Bachelor's Degree

177 reported awards

Program

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

143 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

142 reported awards

Sam Houston State University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $98,059

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $73,554

Educational Administration and Supervision

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $68,691

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $67,097

Construction Engineering Technologies

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $61,438

Accounting and Related Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $59,694

Music

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $59,381

Agricultural Mechanization

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $57,352

Sam Houston State University Graduation Rate

Sam Houston State University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 55.07%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Sam Houston State University Salary After Graduation

Sam Houston State University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $54,211 for 10-year median earnings.

Sam Houston State University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Sam Houston State University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.2 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Sam Houston State University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$9,228

Out-of-state tuition

$19,020

Average net price

$16,025

Attendance cost

$24,517

Sam Houston State University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Sam Houston State University.

Tuition

Per semester: $9,510

Annual: $19,020

Room and board

Per semester: $5,860

Annual: $11,720

Books and supplies

Per semester: $690

Annual: $1,380

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,933

Annual: $3,866

Attendance cost

Per semester: $12,259

Annual: $24,517

Sam Houston State University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$76,080

Four-year attendance estimate

$98,068

Four-year average net price

$64,100

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Sam Houston State University is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $9,228 and out-of-state tuition is $19,020. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Sam Houston State University as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$11,720

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$11,720

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,380

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$3,866

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$24,517

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Sam Houston State University pays approximately $16,025 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Texas average of $17,343 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

85.39%

SAT Average

1,055

ACT Range

19-25

Sam Houston State University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 85.39%. This means approximately 854 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 18,138 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

85.39%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$9,228

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$19,020

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$24,517

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$16,025

State avg: $17,343. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

39.85%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

46.31%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Sam Houston State University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$19,020

Room and board

$11,720

Books and supplies

$1,380

Other expenses

$3,866

Sticker price

$24,517

Average net price

$16,025

Average aid coverage

35%

$8,492 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Sam Houston State University pays approximately $16,025 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Texas average of $17,343 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Sam Houston State University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Texas and national averages.

Sam Houston State University net price

$16,025

Texas average

$17,343

National average

$17,506

Sam Houston State University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $19,020 and average net price at $16,025. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$19,020

Current net price

$16,025

Current out-of-state tuition $19,020
Current average net price $16,025

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

55.07%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$54,211

Undergraduates

18,138

10-Year Median Earnings - Sam Houston State University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Sam Houston State University graduates earn about 1.2x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Sam Houston State University?

Undergraduates

18,138

Completion rate

55.07%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

39.85%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

46.31%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 39.85% of Sam Houston State University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 46.31% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

39.85%

Federal loan rate

46.31%

Students with any loan

84.22%

Average net price

$16,025

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Sam Houston State University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Sam Houston State University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$16,500

Median completer debt

$21,983

Median monthly payment

$233

Federal loan rate

46.31%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Sam Houston State University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Sam Houston State University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Sam Houston State University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Sam Houston State University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Sam Houston State University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$163,691,637

Endowment per undergraduate

$9,025

Faculty salary field

$8,309

Tuition revenue per FTE

$9,906

Instructional spend per FTE

$7,731

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Sam Houston State University lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Sam Houston State University is listed at 1806 Ave J, Huntsville, TX 77340. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

1806 Ave J
Huntsville, TX 77340

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Sam Houston State University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Sam Houston State University
Accept. rate
85.39%
Tuition
$19,020
Net price
$16,025
10-yr earnings
$54,211
West Coast University-Texas
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
$16,715
Net price
$25,957
10-yr earnings
$102,672
University of North Texas Health Science Center
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$93,615
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$92,961
Chamberlain University-Texas
Accept. rate
95.65%
Tuition
$19,686
Net price
$32,247
10-yr earnings
$92,405

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Sam Houston State University Tuition?

Sam Houston State University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $19,020. In-state tuition is $9,228. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Sam Houston State University's average net price?

Sam Houston State University's average net price per College Scorecard is $16,025. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Sam Houston State University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Sam Houston State University.

What is Sam Houston State University's acceptance rate?

Sam Houston State University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 85.39%.

What is Sam Houston State University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $54,211 for Sam Houston State University.

Is Sam Houston State University accredited?

Sam Houston State University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Sam Houston State University?

Per College Scorecard, 18,138 undergraduate students at Sam Houston State University.

What percentage of Sam Houston State University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Sam Houston State University per College Scorecard is 39.85%.

What is the federal loan rate at Sam Houston State University?

The federal loan rate for Sam Houston State University per College Scorecard is 46.31%.

Where should I verify Sam Houston State University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Sam Houston State University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Sam Houston State University report?

Sam Houston State University reports SAT data around 1,055, with math 460-560 and reading 480-580 where available.

What GPA requirements does Sam Houston State University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Sam Houston State University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Sam Houston State University offer?

Sam Houston State University has reported program records including Criminal Justice and Corrections, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other, Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Sam Houston State University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.2 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.