Quick Answer: Is Texas Tech University Expensive?
Texas Tech University reports tuition of $24,451 (out-of-state) / $11,852 (in-state) and an average net price of $20,071. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.
Texas Tech University is a public in Lubbock, TX. The total estimated cost of attendance is $27,472, the acceptance rate is 70.89%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $62,454.
Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Texas Tech University’s official website before applying.
Need the cost-focused view? View Texas Tech University tuition fees and ROI details .
Verify before applying
Official links and next steps
Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.
Shortlist check
Could Texas Tech University fit your shortlist?
Texas Tech University is a public in Lubbock, TX. Its reported average net price is $20,071, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $24,451. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.
Keep it on your list if
- You want to compare a public option in Lubbock with nearby alternatives.
- Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
- You are comfortable comparing the reported 67.47% completion rate and $62,454 10-year earnings with similar schools.
Compare other options first if
- Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
- You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
- You have not compared Texas schools by net price, aid and outcomes.
Financial fit check
When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit
A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Texas Tech University may not be the right choice if:
- Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
- You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
- Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.
Table of Contents
Decision guide
Start with cost, then test the fit
A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.
Tuition fees
$24,451
Net price
$20,071
Acceptance rate
70.89%
SAT
1,182
ACT
22-28
Graduation rate
67.47%
Salary after graduation
$62,454
ROI payback
1.3 yrs
Reported snapshot
Texas Tech University at a glance
Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.
Enrollment
32,446
Undergraduate students reported
Graduate students
8,138
Graduate enrollment where reported
Student faculty ratio
21:1
Classroom access signal
Retention rate
84.87%
Full-time first-year retention
| Profile field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Institution type | Public |
| Accreditor | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges |
| Admissions policy | Selective admissions policy reported |
| Main campus | Main campus reported |
| Online only | Campus or mixed delivery |
| Address | Broadway and University Avenue, Lubbock, TX 79409-5005 |
Admissions
Is Texas Tech University hard to get into?
Acceptance rate is 70.89%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.
Acceptance rate
70.89%
SAT overall
1,182
ACT range
22-28
GPA requirement
Verify official source
How to use these admissions signals
Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.
Application checklist
- Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
- Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
- Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
- Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.
Interactive cost planning
What you may pay after aid
Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.
Tuition
$24,451
Room and board
$10,460
Books and supplies
$1,200
Other expenses
$4,510
Net price
$20,071
4-year net price
$80,284
Texas Tech University Net Price by Income Bracket
| Family income | Avg net price | Savings vs sticker | Monthly view | Estimator |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $13,922 | $13,550 | $1,160/mo | |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,173 | $12,299 | $1,264/mo | |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $18,376 | $9,096 | $1,531/mo | |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $23,239 | $4,233 | $1,937/mo | |
| Over $110,000 | $24,903 | $2,569 | $2,075/mo |
Estimated net price for :
Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Texas Tech University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
Financial aid and borrowing
How aid and loans affect the price
Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.
Pell Grant rate
25.75%
Federal loan rate
43.48%
Students with any loan
86.11%
Median completer debt
$21,500
Median monthly payment
$228
Loan principal
$15,250
| Repayment field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| 1-year repayment count | 9,004 |
| 3-year repayment count | 9,532 |
| 5-year repayment count | 8,555 |
| 7-year repayment count | 7,434 |
| 3-year default rate | 0.00% |
Outcomes and ROI
What to check after cost
This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.
Graduation rate 4-year
44.48%
Normal time
Graduation rate 150%
67.47%
Federal 150% completion
Transfer rate
20.53%
Full-time transfer outcome
10-year earnings
$62,454
Median after entry
ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.
| Earnings and ROI field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| 6 years after entry | $52,588 |
| 10-year median earnings | $62,454 |
| 10-year mean earnings | $61,600 |
| Simple ROI payback | 1.3 years |
Student body
Campus community context
Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.
Racial and ethnic diversity
Gender and economic profile
First-generation share
32.38%
Low-income share
30.99%
Average family income
$9,699
Pell students
1
Programs and earnings
Programs with reported salary signals
Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.
Popular areas of study
| Major / program | Credential | Awards | Program salary |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Bachelor's Degree | 416 | $49,470 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 357 | $70,609 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Bachelor's Degree | 351 | $44,133 |
| Health and Physical Education/Fitness | Bachelor's Degree | 349 | $31,330 |
| Psychology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 345 | $29,061 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Bachelor's Degree | 309 | $69,234 |
| Education, General | Bachelor's Degree | 305 | Not reported |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | Bachelor's Degree | 299 | $38,482 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | 283 | $47,375 |
| Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | 264 | Not reported |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General | Bachelor's Degree | 252 | $32,914 |
| Business/Commerce, General | Master's Degree | 243 | Not reported |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Bachelor's Degree | 237 | $34,291 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Master's Degree | 234 | $81,271 |
| Communication and Media Studies | Bachelor's Degree | 231 | $35,046 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Bachelor's Degree | 231 | $47,589 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | Bachelor's Degree | 226 | $52,649 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | Bachelor's Degree | 209 | $32,838 |
Highest reported program salary signals
Business Administration, Management and Operations
Master's Degree
$81,271
Mechanical Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
$70,609
Computer and Information Sciences, General
Bachelor's Degree
$69,234
Finance and Financial Management Services
Bachelor's Degree
$52,649
Business Administration, Management and Operations
Bachelor's Degree
$49,470
Accounting and Related Services
Bachelor's Degree
$47,589
Marketing
Bachelor's Degree
$47,375
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
Bachelor's Degree
$44,133
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
Bachelor's Degree
$38,482
Communication and Media Studies
Bachelor's Degree
$35,046
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Bachelor's Degree
$34,291
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
Bachelor's Degree
$32,914
Published tuition and cost components
Texas Tech University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.
| Cost field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Tuition fees | $24,451 |
| In-state tuition | $11,852 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $24,451 |
| Cost per year | $27,472 |
| Average net price | $20,071 |
| Estimated 4-year attendance cost | $109,888 |
| Estimated 4-year net price | $80,284 |
Texas Tech University In-State Tuition
Texas Tech University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $11,852. Texas Tech University is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.
Texas Tech University Out-of-State Tuition
Texas Tech University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $24,451. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.
Residency cost comparison
Should You Establish Texas Residency for Texas Tech University?
Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $12,599 per year, or $50,396 across four years before aid changes.
4-year in-state tuition
$47,408
4-year out-of-state tuition
$97,804
4-year premium
$50,396
- 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
- 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
- 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.
Texas Tech University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total
Texas Tech University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $27,472, while the average net price after aid is $20,071.
Cost per year
$27,472
4-year attendance estimate
$109,888
4-year net price estimate
$80,284
Texas Tech University Acceptance Rate 2026
Acceptance rate is 70.89%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.
| Admissions field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 70.89% |
| SAT average/range | 1,182 |
| SAT Math middle range | 540-630 |
| SAT Reading middle range | 550-640 |
| ACT middle range | 22-28 |
| Admissions policy | Selective admissions policy reported |
| GPA requirements | Verify with official admissions |
| Application deadline | Verify with official admissions |
Texas Tech University SAT Requirements
SAT requirements for Texas Tech University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,182, SAT Math range is 540-630, and SAT Reading range is 550-640.
Texas Tech University ACT Requirements
ACT requirements for Texas Tech University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 22-28.
Texas Tech University GPA Requirements
GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.
Texas Tech University Admissions Requirements
Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Texas Tech University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.
Texas Tech University Application Deadline 2026
Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.
Check Official Admissions DeadlinesHow to Apply to Texas Tech University Step-by-Step
-
1. Open the official admissions page
Start at Texas Tech University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.
Open resource -
2. Review admissions requirements
Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.
-
3. Estimate cost before applying
Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Texas Tech University provides one.
Open resource -
4. Submit the application and aid forms
Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.
Open resource
Texas Tech University Financial Aid
Texas Tech University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 25.75% and federal loan rate is 43.48%.
Texas Tech University Scholarships
Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Texas Tech University.
Texas Tech University Net Price by Family Income
Texas Tech University net price is $20,071 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.
Texas Tech University Rankings 2026
Texas Tech University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.
| Outcome field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 67.47% |
| Salary after graduation | $62,454 |
| 10-year median earnings | $62,454 |
| State average net price | $17,343 |
| National average net price | $17,506 |
| ROI estimate | 1.3 years simple payback |
Texas Tech University Most Popular Majors
Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Texas Tech University has 290 program records per College Scorecard.
Program
Business Administration, Management and Operations
Bachelor's Degree
416 reported awards
Program
Mechanical Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
357 reported awards
Program
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
Bachelor's Degree
351 reported awards
Program
Health and Physical Education/Fitness
Bachelor's Degree
349 reported awards
Program
Psychology, General
Bachelor's Degree
345 reported awards
Program
Computer and Information Sciences, General
Bachelor's Degree
309 reported awards
Program
Education, General
Bachelor's Degree
305 reported awards
Program
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
Bachelor's Degree
299 reported awards
Texas Tech University Best Programs & Schools
Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.
Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering
Master's Degree
Program earnings: $93,550
Petroleum Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $89,229
Information Science/Studies
Master's Degree
Program earnings: $87,966
Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and Research
Doctoral Degree
Program earnings: $82,752
Business Administration, Management and Operations
Master's Degree
Program earnings: $81,271
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
Master's Degree
Program earnings: $76,829
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $76,708
Chemical Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $75,153
Texas Tech University Graduation Rate
Texas Tech University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 67.47%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.
Texas Tech University Salary After Graduation
Texas Tech University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $62,454 for 10-year median earnings.
Texas Tech University ROI - Return on Investment
Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Texas Tech University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.3 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.
ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.
ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.
Texas Tech University Tuition Snapshot
Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.
In-state tuition
$11,852
Out-of-state tuition
$24,451
Average net price
$20,071
Attendance cost
$27,472
Texas Tech University Estimated Per-Semester Cost
Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Texas Tech University.
Tuition
Per semester: $12,226
Annual: $24,451
Room and board
Per semester: $5,230
Annual: $10,460
Books and supplies
Per semester: $600
Annual: $1,200
Other on-campus expenses
Per semester: $2,255
Annual: $4,510
Attendance cost
Per semester: $13,736
Annual: $27,472
Texas Tech University Estimated Four-Year Cost
The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.
Four-year tuition estimate
$97,804
Four-year attendance estimate
$109,888
Four-year average net price
$80,284
In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition
Texas Tech University is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $11,852 and out-of-state tuition is $24,451. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.
International Student and Private College Tuition Note
The College Scorecard lists Texas Tech University as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.
Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost
Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.
Room and board, on campus
$10,460
Housing and meal estimate where reported.
Room and board, off campus
$10,460
Off-campus living estimate where reported.
Books and supplies
$1,200
Academic supply estimate.
Other expenses, on campus
$4,510
Personal and miscellaneous estimate.
Total attendance cost
$27,472
Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.
Average Net Price After Aid
Based on available data, the average student at Texas Tech University pays approximately $20,071 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Texas average of $17,343 and above the national average of $17,506.
Acceptance Rate and Outcomes
Acceptance Rate
70.89%
SAT Average
1,182
ACT Range
22-28
Texas Tech University Acceptance Rate Trend
The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 70.89%. This means approximately 709 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 32,446 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.
Current dataset
70.89%
Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot
Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.
Tuition and Cost Breakdown
Accreditation
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Institutional accreditor where reported.
In-state tuition
$11,852
National avg: $20,567
Out-of-state tuition
$24,451
National avg: $20,567
Attendance cost
$27,472
Use with aid and net price.
Average net price
$20,071
State avg: $17,343. National avg: $17,506.
Pell grant rate
25.75%
Federal need-based grant indicator.
Federal loan rate
43.48%
Share using federal loans.
What Does Texas Tech University Cost?
Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.
Tuition
$24,451
Room and board
$10,460
Books and supplies
$1,200
Other expenses
$4,510
Sticker price
$27,472
Average net price
$20,071
Average aid coverage
27%
$7,401 below sticker price on average
What You Pay
Based on available data, the average student at Texas Tech University pays approximately $20,071 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Texas average of $17,343 and above the national average of $17,506.
How Affordable Is Texas Tech University?
Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Texas and national averages.
Texas Tech University net price
$20,071
Texas average
$17,343
National average
$17,506
Texas Tech University Tuition and Net Price Trend
The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $24,451 and average net price at $20,071. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.
Current tuition
$24,451
Current net price
$20,071
Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.
Student Outcomes
Completion Rate (150% Time)
67.47%
Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.
10-Year Earnings
$62,454
Undergraduates
32,446
10-Year Median Earnings - Texas Tech University vs Peers
Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.
Texas Tech University graduates earn about 1.4x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.
Who Attends Texas Tech University?
Undergraduates
32,446
Completion rate
67.47%
Above national average; national avg: 52.02%
Pell recipients
25.75%
Below national average; national avg: 42.32%
Federal loan rate
43.48%
Above national average; national avg: 40.83%
Completion vs national average
Pell grant recipients
Federal loan usage
Financial Aid and Scholarships
About 25.75% of Texas Tech University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 43.48% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.
Pell grant rate
25.75%
Federal loan rate
43.48%
Students with any loan
86.11%
Average net price
$20,071
Net Price by Income Bracket
Estimate Your Net Price at Texas Tech University
Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.
Estimated net price for :
This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Texas Tech University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.
Student Debt and Borrowing
Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.
Loan principal
$15,250
Median completer debt
$21,500
Median monthly payment
$228
Federal loan rate
43.48%
Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.
Net Price Calculator
Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.
Open Texas Tech University Net Price CalculatorFinancial Aid Application Steps
This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.
-
1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible
Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.
Open resource -
2. Check school-specific aid requirements
Open Texas Tech University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.
Open resource -
3. Use the net price calculator
Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.
Open resource -
4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines
Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.
Payment Guide
Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.
-
1. Confirm published tuition and fees
Review Texas Tech University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.
-
2. Estimate net price after aid
Use Texas Tech University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.
-
3. Review financial aid and payment options
Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.
Texas Tech University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity
These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.
Endowment
$977,855,606
Endowment per undergraduate
$30,138
Faculty salary field
$11,545
Tuition revenue per FTE
$10,275
Instructional spend per FTE
$8,087
These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.
Accreditation
Texas Tech University lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.
Visit AccreditorCampus Location and Contact
Texas Tech University is listed at Broadway and University Avenue, Lubbock, TX 79409-5005. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
Address
Broadway and University Avenue
Lubbock, TX 79409-5005
Official website
Open school websiteAdmissions policy
Selective admissions policy reported
Compare Schools
Compare Texas Tech University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.
- Accept. rate
- 70.89%
- Tuition
- $24,451
- Net price
- $20,071
- 10-yr earnings
- $62,454
- Accept. rate
- Not available
- Tuition
- $16,715
- Net price
- $25,957
- 10-yr earnings
- $102,672
- Accept. rate
- Not available
- Tuition
- Not available
- Net price
- Not available
- 10-yr earnings
- $93,615
- Accept. rate
- Not available
- Tuition
- Not available
- Net price
- Not available
- 10-yr earnings
- $92,961
- Accept. rate
- 95.65%
- Tuition
- $19,686
- Net price
- $32,247
- 10-yr earnings
- $92,405
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is Texas Tech University Tuition?
Texas Tech University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $24,451. In-state tuition is $11,852. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.
What is Texas Tech University's average net price?
Texas Tech University's average net price per College Scorecard is $20,071. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.
Does this page include all Texas Tech University fees?
The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Texas Tech University.
What is Texas Tech University's acceptance rate?
Texas Tech University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 70.89%.
What is Texas Tech University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?
Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $62,454 for Texas Tech University.
Is Texas Tech University accredited?
Texas Tech University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Texas Tech University?
Per College Scorecard, 32,446 undergraduate students at Texas Tech University.
What percentage of Texas Tech University students receive Pell grants?
The Pell grant rate for Texas Tech University per College Scorecard is 25.75%.
What is the federal loan rate at Texas Tech University?
The federal loan rate for Texas Tech University per College Scorecard is 43.48%.
Where should I verify Texas Tech University data?
Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Texas Tech University or the latest official federal education data.
What SAT requirements does Texas Tech University report?
Texas Tech University reports SAT data around 1,182, with math 540-630 and reading 550-640 where available.
What GPA requirements does Texas Tech University have?
GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.
When is the Texas Tech University application deadline?
Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.
What majors and best programs does Texas Tech University offer?
Texas Tech University has reported program records including Business Administration, Management and Operations, Mechanical Engineering, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other. Verify current majors with the official catalog.
What is Texas Tech University's ROI?
A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.3 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.
Data Used on This Page
- Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
- Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
- Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.