Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Charlottesville, Virginia

University of Virginia-Main Campus: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing University of Virginia-Main Campus starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$58,014

Average net price after aid

$22,881

Total attendance cost

$38,132

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is University of Virginia-Main Campus Expensive?

University of Virginia-Main Campus reports tuition of $58,014 (out-of-state) / $20,986 (in-state) and an average net price of $22,881. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Virginia-Main Campus is a public in Charlottesville, VA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $38,132, the acceptance rate is 16.86%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $86,863.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on University of Virginia-Main Campus’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View University of Virginia-Main Campus tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could University of Virginia-Main Campus fit your shortlist?

University of Virginia-Main Campus is a public in Charlottesville, VA. Its reported average net price is $22,881, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $58,014. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Charlottesville with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 95.30% completion rate and $86,863 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Virginia schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. University of Virginia-Main Campus may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$58,014

Net price

$22,881

Acceptance rate

16.86%

SAT

1,488

ACT

32-34

Graduation rate

95.30%

Salary after graduation

$86,863

ROI payback

1.1 yrs

Reported snapshot

University of Virginia-Main Campus at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

17,315

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

8,312

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

15:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

97.34%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 1827 University Avenue, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2628

Admissions

Is University of Virginia-Main Campus hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 16.86%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

16.86%

SAT overall

1,488

ACT range

32-34

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$58,014

Room and board

$13,940

Books and supplies

$1,480

Other expenses

$3,520

Net price

$22,881

4-year net price

$91,524

University of Virginia-Main Campus Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $10,123 $28,009 $844/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $8,842 $29,290 $737/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $14,658 $23,474 $1,222/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $24,023 $14,109 $2,002/mo
Over $110,000 $34,777 $3,355 $2,898/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use University of Virginia-Main Campus's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

13.71%

Federal loan rate

20.41%

Students with any loan

84.84%

Median completer debt

$17,500

Median monthly payment

$186

Loan principal

$15,153

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 2,647
3-year repayment count 2,725
5-year repayment count 2,535
7-year repayment count 2,307
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

91.81%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

95.30%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

2.61%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$86,863

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $72,359
10-year median earnings $86,863
10-year mean earnings $79,400
Simple ROI payback 1.1 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 50.45%
50.45%
Hispanic 7.36%
7.36%
Asian 19.12%
19.12%
Black 7.57%
7.57%
Two or more races 5.79%
5.79%
Nonresident alien 4.59%
4.59%

Gender and economic profile

Men 43.42%
43.42%
Women 56.58%
56.58%

First-generation share

15.80%

Low-income share

22.66%

Average family income

$3,080

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Liberal arts and humanities 17.56%
17.56%
Social sciences 12.24%
12.24%
Homeland security and law enforcement 9.97%
9.97%
Engineering 9.18%
9.18%
Business and marketing 8.48%
8.48%
Computer and information sciences 6.13%
6.13%
Biological sciences 5.20%
5.20%
Psychology 3.70%
3.70%
Health professions 3.38%
3.38%
Physical sciences 2.81%
2.81%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities Bachelor's Degree 1,289 Not reported
Economics Bachelor's Degree 511 $62,202
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 468 $157,071
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods Bachelor's Degree 349 $93,565
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 346 $23,465
Law First Professional Degree 318 $185,710
International Relations and National Security Studies Bachelor's Degree 270 $45,350
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 263 $29,899
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 251 $83,639
Criminal Justice and Corrections Graduate/Professional Certificate 205 Not reported
English Language and Literature, General Bachelor's Degree 187 $32,559
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods Master's Degree 167 $99,250
Medicine First Professional Degree 153 $58,098
History Bachelor's Degree 149 $38,890
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Bachelor's Degree 146 $35,907
Education, General Master's Degree 143 Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's Degree 139 $87,239
Systems Engineering Bachelor's Degree 126 $79,487

Highest reported program salary signals

Law

First Professional Degree

$185,710

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$157,071

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

$99,250

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Bachelor's Degree

$93,565

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

$87,239

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

$83,639

Systems Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$79,487

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$62,202

Medicine

First Professional Degree

$58,098

International Relations and National Security Studies

Bachelor's Degree

$45,350

History

Bachelor's Degree

$38,890

Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics

Bachelor's Degree

$35,907

Published tuition and cost components

University of Virginia-Main Campus tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $58,014
In-state tuition $20,986
Out-of-state tuition $58,014
Cost per year $38,132
Average net price $22,881
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $152,528
Estimated 4-year net price $91,524

University of Virginia-Main Campus In-State Tuition

University of Virginia-Main Campus in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $20,986. University of Virginia-Main Campus is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Out-of-State Tuition

University of Virginia-Main Campus out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $58,014. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Virginia Residency for University of Virginia-Main Campus?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $37,028 per year, or $148,112 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$83,944

4-year out-of-state tuition

$232,056

4-year premium

$148,112

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

University of Virginia-Main Campus cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $38,132, while the average net price after aid is $22,881.

Cost per year

$38,132

4-year attendance estimate

$152,528

4-year net price estimate

$91,524

University of Virginia-Main Campus Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 16.86%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 16.86%
SAT average/range 1,488
SAT Math middle range 710-780
SAT Reading middle range 700-750
ACT middle range 32-34
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

University of Virginia-Main Campus SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for University of Virginia-Main Campus are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,488, SAT Math range is 710-780, and SAT Reading range is 700-750.

University of Virginia-Main Campus ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for University of Virginia-Main Campus should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 32-34.

University of Virginia-Main Campus GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for University of Virginia-Main Campus admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 16.86%
SAT data: 1,488
ACT data: 32-34

University of Virginia-Main Campus Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to University of Virginia-Main Campus Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at University of Virginia-Main Campus's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if University of Virginia-Main Campus provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

University of Virginia-Main Campus Financial Aid

University of Virginia-Main Campus financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 13.71% and federal loan rate is 20.41%.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with University of Virginia-Main Campus.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Net Price by Family Income

University of Virginia-Main Campus net price is $22,881 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Rankings 2026

University of Virginia-Main Campus ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 95.30%
Salary after graduation $86,863
10-year median earnings $86,863
State average net price $17,997
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.1 years simple payback

University of Virginia-Main Campus Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. University of Virginia-Main Campus has 210 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities

Bachelor's Degree

1,289 reported awards

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

511 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

468 reported awards

Program

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Bachelor's Degree

349 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

346 reported awards

Program

Law

First Professional Degree

318 reported awards

Program

International Relations and National Security Studies

Bachelor's Degree

270 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

263 reported awards

University of Virginia-Main Campus Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Law

First Professional Degree

Program earnings: $185,710

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $157,071

Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $156,433

Management Information Systems and Services

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $139,548

Systems Engineering

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $108,239

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $107,180

Business/Commerce, General

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $103,426

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $99,250

University of Virginia-Main Campus Graduation Rate

University of Virginia-Main Campus graduation rate per College Scorecard is 95.30%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Salary After Graduation

University of Virginia-Main Campus salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $86,863 for 10-year median earnings.

University of Virginia-Main Campus ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, University of Virginia-Main Campus reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.1 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$20,986

Out-of-state tuition

$58,014

Average net price

$22,881

Attendance cost

$38,132

University of Virginia-Main Campus Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with University of Virginia-Main Campus.

Tuition

Per semester: $29,007

Annual: $58,014

Room and board

Per semester: $6,970

Annual: $13,940

Books and supplies

Per semester: $740

Annual: $1,480

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,760

Annual: $3,520

Attendance cost

Per semester: $19,066

Annual: $38,132

University of Virginia-Main Campus Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$232,056

Four-year attendance estimate

$152,528

Four-year average net price

$91,524

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

University of Virginia-Main Campus is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $20,986 and out-of-state tuition is $58,014. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists University of Virginia-Main Campus as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$13,940

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$13,940

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,480

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$3,520

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$38,132

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at University of Virginia-Main Campus pays approximately $22,881 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Virginia average of $17,997 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

16.86%

SAT Average

1,488

ACT Range

32-34

University of Virginia-Main Campus Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 16.86%. This means approximately 169 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 17,315 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

16.86%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$20,986

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$58,014

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$38,132

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$22,881

State avg: $17,997. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

13.71%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

20.41%

Share using federal loans.

What Does University of Virginia-Main Campus Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$58,014

Room and board

$13,940

Books and supplies

$1,480

Other expenses

$3,520

Sticker price

$38,132

Average net price

$22,881

Average aid coverage

40%

$15,251 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at University of Virginia-Main Campus pays approximately $22,881 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Virginia average of $17,997 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is University of Virginia-Main Campus?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Virginia and national averages.

University of Virginia-Main Campus net price

$22,881

Virginia average

$17,997

National average

$17,506

University of Virginia-Main Campus Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $58,014 and average net price at $22,881. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$58,014

Current net price

$22,881

Current out-of-state tuition $58,014
Current average net price $22,881

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

95.30%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$86,863

Undergraduates

17,315

10-Year Median Earnings - University of Virginia-Main Campus vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

University of Virginia-Main Campus graduates earn about 2.0x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends University of Virginia-Main Campus?

Undergraduates

17,315

Completion rate

95.30%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

13.71%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

20.41%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 13.71% of University of Virginia-Main Campus students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 20.41% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

13.71%

Federal loan rate

20.41%

Students with any loan

84.84%

Average net price

$22,881

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at University of Virginia-Main Campus

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use University of Virginia-Main Campus's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$15,153

Median completer debt

$17,500

Median monthly payment

$186

Federal loan rate

20.41%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open University of Virginia-Main Campus Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open University of Virginia-Main Campus's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review University of Virginia-Main Campus's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use University of Virginia-Main Campus's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

University of Virginia-Main Campus Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$9,644,274,803

Endowment per undergraduate

$556,990

Faculty salary field

$16,881

Tuition revenue per FTE

$24,561

Instructional spend per FTE

$22,810

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

University of Virginia-Main Campus lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

University of Virginia-Main Campus is listed at 1827 University Avenue, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2628. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

1827 University Avenue
Charlottesville, VA 22903-2628

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare University of Virginia-Main Campus with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

University of Virginia-Main Campus
Accept. rate
16.86%
Tuition
$58,014
Net price
$22,881
10-yr earnings
$86,863
Washington and Lee University
Accept. rate
17.36%
Tuition
$64,525
Net price
$23,911
10-yr earnings
$94,810
Chamberlain University-Virginia
Accept. rate
100.00%
Tuition
$20,462
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$92,405
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Accept. rate
57.03%
Tuition
$36,694
Net price
$23,790
10-yr earnings
$81,698
Sentara College of Health Sciences
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$77,821

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is University of Virginia-Main Campus tuition?

University of Virginia-Main Campus out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $58,014. In-state tuition is $20,986. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is University of Virginia-Main Campus's average net price?

University of Virginia-Main Campus's average net price per College Scorecard is $22,881. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all University of Virginia-Main Campus fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with University of Virginia-Main Campus.

What is University of Virginia-Main Campus's acceptance rate?

University of Virginia-Main Campus's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 16.86%.

What is University of Virginia-Main Campus's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $86,863 for University of Virginia-Main Campus.

Is University of Virginia-Main Campus accredited?

University of Virginia-Main Campus's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend University of Virginia-Main Campus?

Per College Scorecard, 17,315 undergraduate students at University of Virginia-Main Campus.

What percentage of University of Virginia-Main Campus students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for University of Virginia-Main Campus per College Scorecard is 13.71%.

What is the federal loan rate at University of Virginia-Main Campus?

The federal loan rate for University of Virginia-Main Campus per College Scorecard is 20.41%.

Where should I verify University of Virginia-Main Campus data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with University of Virginia-Main Campus or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does University of Virginia-Main Campus report?

University of Virginia-Main Campus reports SAT data around 1,488, with math 710-780 and reading 700-750 where available.

What GPA requirements does University of Virginia-Main Campus have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the University of Virginia-Main Campus application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does University of Virginia-Main Campus offer?

University of Virginia-Main Campus has reported program records including Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Economics, Business Administration, Management and Operations. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is University of Virginia-Main Campus's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.1 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.