Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Lexington, Virginia

Washington and Lee University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Washington and Lee University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$64,525

Average net price after aid

$23,911

Total attendance cost

$82,990

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Washington and Lee University Expensive?

Washington and Lee University reports tuition of $64,525 (out-of-state) / $64,525 (in-state) and an average net price of $23,911. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Washington and Lee University is a private nonprofit in Lexington, VA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $82,990, the acceptance rate is 17.36%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $94,810.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Washington and Lee University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Washington and Lee University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Washington and Lee University fit your shortlist?

Washington and Lee University is a private nonprofit in Lexington, VA. Its reported average net price is $23,911, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $64,525. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Lexington with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 94.90% completion rate and $94,810 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Virginia schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Washington and Lee University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$64,525

Net price

$23,911

Acceptance rate

17.36%

SAT

1,504

ACT

32-35

Graduation rate

94.90%

Salary after graduation

$94,810

ROI payback

1.0 yrs

Reported snapshot

Washington and Lee University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

1,884

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

379

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

8:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

95.38%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 204 West Washington Street, Lexington, VA 24450-2116

Admissions

Is Washington and Lee University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 17.36%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

17.36%

SAT overall

1,504

ACT range

32-35

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$64,525

Room and board

$17,685

Books and supplies

$2,290

Other expenses

$2,500

Net price

$23,911

4-year net price

$95,644

Washington and Lee University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $76 $82,914 $6/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $887 $82,103 $74/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $6,983 $76,007 $582/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $9,222 $73,768 $769/mo
Over $110,000 $42,745 $40,245 $3,562/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Washington and Lee University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

11.09%

Federal loan rate

15.05%

Students with any loan

85.21%

Median completer debt

$19,500

Median monthly payment

$207

Loan principal

$16,617

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 228
3-year repayment count 232
5-year repayment count 267
7-year repayment count 237
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

91.51%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

94.90%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$94,810

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $76,516
10-year median earnings $94,810
10-year mean earnings $93,300
Simple ROI payback 1.0 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 70.06%
70.06%
Hispanic 8.44%
8.44%
Asian 4.30%
4.30%
Black 4.41%
4.41%
Two or more races 4.51%
4.51%
Nonresident alien 7.06%
7.06%

Gender and economic profile

Men 48.57%
48.57%
Women 51.43%
51.43%

First-generation share

Not available

Low-income share

10.92%

Average family income

$284

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Business and marketing 28.92%
28.92%
Social sciences 23.18%
23.18%
Biological sciences 11.48%
11.48%
Psychology 5.30%
5.30%
Communication and journalism 4.42%
4.42%
Physical sciences 4.19%
4.19%
English 3.53%
3.53%
Engineering 3.53%
3.53%
Computer and information sciences 3.09%
3.09%
History 2.43%
2.43%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Law First Professional Degree 154 $63,586
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 98 $56,231
Economics Bachelor's Degree 63 $51,643
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's Degree 61 $81,625
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 59 $47,231
History Bachelor's Degree 28 $67,315
Research and Experimental Psychology Bachelor's Degree 25 Not reported
Mathematics Bachelor's Degree 23 Not reported
English Language and Literature, General Bachelor's Degree 22 $57,710
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 22 Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication Bachelor's Degree 21 Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Bachelor's Degree 19 Not reported
Neurobiology and Neurosciences Bachelor's Degree 18 Not reported
Computer Science Bachelor's Degree 17 Not reported
Sociology and Anthropology Bachelor's Degree 16 Not reported
Fine and Studio Arts Bachelor's Degree 15 Not reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology Bachelor's Degree 14 Not reported
Philosophy Bachelor's Degree 14 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

$81,625

History

Bachelor's Degree

$67,315

Law

First Professional Degree

$63,586

English Language and Literature, General

Bachelor's Degree

$57,710

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$56,231

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$51,643

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$47,231

Published tuition and cost components

Washington and Lee University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $64,525
In-state tuition $64,525
Out-of-state tuition $64,525
Cost per year $82,990
Average net price $23,911
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $331,960
Estimated 4-year net price $95,644

Washington and Lee University In-State Tuition

Washington and Lee University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,525. Washington and Lee University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Washington and Lee University Out-of-State Tuition

Washington and Lee University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,525. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Washington and Lee University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Washington and Lee University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $82,990, while the average net price after aid is $23,911.

Cost per year

$82,990

4-year attendance estimate

$331,960

4-year net price estimate

$95,644

Washington and Lee University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 17.36%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 17.36%
SAT average/range 1,504
SAT Math middle range 700-780
SAT Reading middle range 710-750
ACT middle range 32-35
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Washington and Lee University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Washington and Lee University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,504, SAT Math range is 700-780, and SAT Reading range is 710-750.

Washington and Lee University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Washington and Lee University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 32-35.

Washington and Lee University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Washington and Lee University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Washington and Lee University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 17.36%
SAT data: 1,504
ACT data: 32-35

Washington and Lee University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Washington and Lee University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Washington and Lee University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Washington and Lee University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Washington and Lee University Financial Aid

Washington and Lee University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 11.09% and federal loan rate is 15.05%.

Washington and Lee University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Washington and Lee University.

Washington and Lee University Net Price by Family Income

Washington and Lee University net price is $23,911 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Washington and Lee University Rankings 2026

Washington and Lee University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 94.90%
Salary after graduation $94,810
10-year median earnings $94,810
State average net price $17,997
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.0 years simple payback

Washington and Lee University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Washington and Lee University has 37 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Law

First Professional Degree

154 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

98 reported awards

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

63 reported awards

Program

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

61 reported awards

Program

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

59 reported awards

Program

History

Bachelor's Degree

28 reported awards

Program

Research and Experimental Psychology

Bachelor's Degree

25 reported awards

Program

Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

23 reported awards

Washington and Lee University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Accounting and Related Services

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $81,625

Journalism

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $71,492

History

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $67,315

Law

First Professional Degree

Program earnings: $63,586

English Language and Literature, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $57,710

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $56,231

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $51,643

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $47,231

Washington and Lee University Graduation Rate

Washington and Lee University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 94.90%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Washington and Lee University Salary After Graduation

Washington and Lee University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $94,810 for 10-year median earnings.

Washington and Lee University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Washington and Lee University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.0 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Washington and Lee University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$64,525

Out-of-state tuition

$64,525

Average net price

$23,911

Attendance cost

$82,990

Washington and Lee University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Washington and Lee University.

Tuition

Per semester: $32,263

Annual: $64,525

Room and board

Per semester: $8,843

Annual: $17,685

Books and supplies

Per semester: $1,145

Annual: $2,290

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,250

Annual: $2,500

Attendance cost

Per semester: $41,495

Annual: $82,990

Washington and Lee University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$258,100

Four-year attendance estimate

$331,960

Four-year average net price

$95,644

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Washington and Lee University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $64,525 and out-of-state tuition is $64,525. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Washington and Lee University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Washington and Lee University reports $64,525 for out-of-state tuition and $64,525 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$17,685

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

Not available

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$2,290

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$2,500

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$82,990

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Washington and Lee University pays approximately $23,911 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Virginia average of $17,997 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

17.36%

SAT Average

1,504

ACT Range

32-35

Washington and Lee University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 17.36%. This means approximately 174 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 1,884 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

17.36%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$64,525

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$64,525

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$82,990

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$23,911

State avg: $17,997. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

11.09%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

15.05%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Washington and Lee University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$64,525

Room and board

$17,685

Books and supplies

$2,290

Other expenses

$2,500

Sticker price

$82,990

Average net price

$23,911

Average aid coverage

71%

$59,079 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Washington and Lee University pays approximately $23,911 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Virginia average of $17,997 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Washington and Lee University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Virginia and national averages.

Washington and Lee University net price

$23,911

Virginia average

$17,997

National average

$17,506

Washington and Lee University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $64,525 and average net price at $23,911. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$64,525

Current net price

$23,911

Current out-of-state tuition $64,525
Current average net price $23,911

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

94.90%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$94,810

Undergraduates

1,884

10-Year Median Earnings - Washington and Lee University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Washington and Lee University graduates earn about 2.2x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Washington and Lee University?

Undergraduates

1,884

Completion rate

94.90%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

11.09%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

15.05%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 11.09% of Washington and Lee University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 15.05% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

11.09%

Federal loan rate

15.05%

Students with any loan

85.21%

Average net price

$23,911

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Washington and Lee University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Washington and Lee University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$16,617

Median completer debt

$19,500

Median monthly payment

$207

Federal loan rate

15.05%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Washington and Lee University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Washington and Lee University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Washington and Lee University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Washington and Lee University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Washington and Lee University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$1,973,892,000

Endowment per undergraduate

$1,047,713

Faculty salary field

$13,879

Tuition revenue per FTE

$32,777

Instructional spend per FTE

$39,474

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Washington and Lee University lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Washington and Lee University is listed at 204 West Washington Street, Lexington, VA 24450-2116. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

204 West Washington Street
Lexington, VA 24450-2116

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Washington and Lee University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Washington and Lee University
Accept. rate
17.36%
Tuition
$64,525
Net price
$23,911
10-yr earnings
$94,810
Chamberlain University-Virginia
Accept. rate
100.00%
Tuition
$20,462
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$92,405
University of Virginia-Main Campus
Accept. rate
16.86%
Tuition
$58,014
Net price
$22,881
10-yr earnings
$86,863
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Accept. rate
57.03%
Tuition
$36,694
Net price
$23,790
10-yr earnings
$81,698
Sentara College of Health Sciences
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$77,821

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Washington and Lee University Tuition?

Washington and Lee University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $64,525. In-state tuition is $64,525. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Washington and Lee University's average net price?

Washington and Lee University's average net price per College Scorecard is $23,911. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Washington and Lee University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Washington and Lee University.

What is Washington and Lee University's acceptance rate?

Washington and Lee University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 17.36%.

What does Washington and Lee University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $76 for Washington and Lee University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Washington and Lee University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $94,810 for Washington and Lee University.

Is Washington and Lee University accredited?

Washington and Lee University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Washington and Lee University?

Per College Scorecard, 1,884 undergraduate students at Washington and Lee University.

What percentage of Washington and Lee University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Washington and Lee University per College Scorecard is 11.09%.

What is the federal loan rate at Washington and Lee University?

The federal loan rate for Washington and Lee University per College Scorecard is 15.05%.

Where should I verify Washington and Lee University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Washington and Lee University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Washington and Lee University report?

Washington and Lee University reports SAT data around 1,504, with math 700-780 and reading 710-750 where available.

What GPA requirements does Washington and Lee University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Washington and Lee University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Washington and Lee University offer?

Washington and Lee University has reported program records including Law, Business Administration, Management and Operations, Economics. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Washington and Lee University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.0 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.