Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Brownwood, Texas

Howard Payne University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Howard Payne University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$33,322

Average net price after aid

$25,255

Total attendance cost

$44,579

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Howard Payne University Expensive?

Howard Payne University reports tuition of $33,322 (out-of-state) / $33,322 (in-state) and an average net price of $25,255. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Howard Payne University is a private nonprofit in Brownwood, TX. The total estimated cost of attendance is $44,579, the acceptance rate is 67.69%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $48,376.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Howard Payne University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Howard Payne University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Howard Payne University fit your shortlist?

Howard Payne University is a private nonprofit in Brownwood, TX. Its reported average net price is $25,255, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $33,322. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Brownwood with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 31.12% completion rate and $48,376 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Texas schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Howard Payne University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$33,322

Net price

$25,255

Acceptance rate

67.69%

SAT

1,019

ACT

18-25

Graduation rate

31.12%

Salary after graduation

$48,376

ROI payback

2.1 yrs

Reported snapshot

Howard Payne University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

716

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

65

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

10:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

54.77%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 1000 Fisk St., Brownwood, TX 76801-2794

Admissions

Is Howard Payne University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 67.69%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

67.69%

SAT overall

1,019

ACT range

18-25

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$33,322

Room and board

$10,074

Books and supplies

$1,500

Other expenses

$3,082

Net price

$25,255

4-year net price

$101,020

Howard Payne University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $20,589 $23,990 $1,716/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $22,305 $22,274 $1,859/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $26,844 $17,735 $2,237/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $29,620 $14,959 $2,468/mo
Over $110,000 $29,652 $14,927 $2,471/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Howard Payne University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

42.17%

Federal loan rate

66.11%

Students with any loan

93.44%

Median completer debt

$26,793

Median monthly payment

$284

Loan principal

$11,892

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 616
3-year repayment count 660
5-year repayment count 645
7-year repayment count 607
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

24.90%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

31.12%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

48.96%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$48,376

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $38,212
10-year median earnings $48,376
10-year mean earnings $40,500
Simple ROI payback 2.1 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 53.07%
53.07%
Hispanic 27.23%
27.23%
Asian 0.84%
0.84%
Black 9.92%
9.92%
Two or more races 4.89%
4.89%
Nonresident alien 0.14%
0.14%

Gender and economic profile

Men 53.07%
53.07%
Women 46.93%
46.93%

First-generation share

37.40%

Low-income share

30.76%

Average family income

$686

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Associate Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Education 24.58%
24.58%
Business and marketing 16.10%
16.10%
Social sciences 11.86%
11.86%
Parks, recreation and fitness 11.02%
11.02%
Health professions 8.47%
8.47%
Theology Religious Vocation 5.93%
5.93%
Biological sciences 5.08%
5.08%
Computer and information sciences 3.39%
3.39%
History 2.54%
2.54%
Communication and journalism 2.54%
2.54%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 29 $30,093
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas Bachelor's Degree 21 $35,854
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 19 $54,344
Criminology Bachelor's Degree 18 $33,568
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 17 $26,229
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Bachelor's Degree 14 $35,694
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 13 Not reported
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 9 $18,880
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities Bachelor's Degree 8 Not reported
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 7 Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication Bachelor's Degree 6 Not reported
Non-Professional General Legal Studies (Undergraduate) Bachelor's Degree 6 Not reported
Theological and Ministerial Studies Bachelor's Degree 6 Not reported
Theological and Ministerial Studies Master's Degree 6 Not reported
Social Work Bachelor's Degree 6 Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported
Music Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$54,344

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Bachelor's Degree

$35,854

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

$35,694

Criminology

Bachelor's Degree

$33,568

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$30,093

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

$26,229

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$18,880

Published tuition and cost components

Howard Payne University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $33,322
In-state tuition $33,322
Out-of-state tuition $33,322
Cost per year $44,579
Average net price $25,255
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $178,316
Estimated 4-year net price $101,020

Howard Payne University In-State Tuition

Howard Payne University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $33,322. Howard Payne University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Howard Payne University Out-of-State Tuition

Howard Payne University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $33,322. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Howard Payne University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Howard Payne University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $44,579, while the average net price after aid is $25,255.

Cost per year

$44,579

4-year attendance estimate

$178,316

4-year net price estimate

$101,020

Howard Payne University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 67.69%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 67.69%
SAT average/range 1,019
SAT Math middle range 430-530
SAT Reading middle range 450-570
ACT middle range 18-25
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Howard Payne University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Howard Payne University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,019, SAT Math range is 430-530, and SAT Reading range is 450-570.

Howard Payne University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Howard Payne University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 18-25.

Howard Payne University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Howard Payne University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Howard Payne University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 67.69%
SAT data: 1,019
ACT data: 18-25

Howard Payne University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Howard Payne University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Howard Payne University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Howard Payne University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Howard Payne University Financial Aid

Howard Payne University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 42.17% and federal loan rate is 66.11%.

Howard Payne University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Howard Payne University.

Howard Payne University Net Price by Family Income

Howard Payne University net price is $25,255 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Howard Payne University Rankings 2026

Howard Payne University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 31.12%
Salary after graduation $48,376
10-year median earnings $48,376
State average net price $17,343
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 2.1 years simple payback

Howard Payne University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Howard Payne University has 52 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

29 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Bachelor's Degree

21 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

19 reported awards

Program

Criminology

Bachelor's Degree

18 reported awards

Program

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

17 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

14 reported awards

Program

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

13 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

9 reported awards

Howard Payne University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $54,344

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $35,854

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $35,694

Criminology

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $33,568

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $30,093

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $26,229

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $18,880

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: Not reported

Howard Payne University Graduation Rate

Howard Payne University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 31.12%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Howard Payne University Salary After Graduation

Howard Payne University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $48,376 for 10-year median earnings.

Howard Payne University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Howard Payne University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 2.1 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Howard Payne University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$33,322

Out-of-state tuition

$33,322

Average net price

$25,255

Attendance cost

$44,579

Howard Payne University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Howard Payne University.

Tuition

Per semester: $16,661

Annual: $33,322

Room and board

Per semester: $5,037

Annual: $10,074

Books and supplies

Per semester: $750

Annual: $1,500

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,541

Annual: $3,082

Attendance cost

Per semester: $22,290

Annual: $44,579

Howard Payne University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$133,288

Four-year attendance estimate

$178,316

Four-year average net price

$101,020

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Howard Payne University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $33,322 and out-of-state tuition is $33,322. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Howard Payne University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Howard Payne University reports $33,322 for out-of-state tuition and $33,322 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$10,074

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$8,544

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,500

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$3,082

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$44,579

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Howard Payne University pays approximately $25,255 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Texas average of $17,343 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

67.69%

SAT Average

1,019

ACT Range

18-25

Howard Payne University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 67.69%. This means approximately 677 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 716 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

67.69%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$33,322

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$33,322

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$44,579

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$25,255

State avg: $17,343. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

42.17%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

66.11%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Howard Payne University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$33,322

Room and board

$10,074

Books and supplies

$1,500

Other expenses

$3,082

Sticker price

$44,579

Average net price

$25,255

Average aid coverage

43%

$19,324 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Howard Payne University pays approximately $25,255 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Texas average of $17,343 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Howard Payne University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Texas and national averages.

Howard Payne University net price

$25,255

Texas average

$17,343

National average

$17,506

Howard Payne University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $33,322 and average net price at $25,255. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$33,322

Current net price

$25,255

Current out-of-state tuition $33,322
Current average net price $25,255

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

31.12%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$48,376

Undergraduates

716

10-Year Median Earnings - Howard Payne University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Howard Payne University graduates earn about 1.1x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Howard Payne University?

Undergraduates

716

Completion rate

31.12%

Below national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

42.17%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

66.11%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 42.17% of Howard Payne University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 66.11% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

42.17%

Federal loan rate

66.11%

Students with any loan

93.44%

Average net price

$25,255

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Howard Payne University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Howard Payne University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$11,892

Median completer debt

$26,793

Median monthly payment

$284

Federal loan rate

66.11%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Howard Payne University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Howard Payne University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Howard Payne University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Howard Payne University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Howard Payne University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$83,111,367

Endowment per undergraduate

$116,077

Faculty salary field

$6,440

Tuition revenue per FTE

$12,456

Instructional spend per FTE

$9,885

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Howard Payne University lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Howard Payne University is listed at 1000 Fisk St., Brownwood, TX 76801-2794. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

1000 Fisk St.
Brownwood, TX 76801-2794

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Howard Payne University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Howard Payne University
Accept. rate
67.69%
Tuition
$33,322
Net price
$25,255
10-yr earnings
$48,376
West Coast University-Texas
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
$16,715
Net price
$25,957
10-yr earnings
$102,672
University of North Texas Health Science Center
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$93,615
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$92,961
Chamberlain University-Texas
Accept. rate
95.65%
Tuition
$19,686
Net price
$32,247
10-yr earnings
$92,405

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Howard Payne University tuition?

Howard Payne University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $33,322. In-state tuition is $33,322. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Howard Payne University's average net price?

Howard Payne University's average net price per College Scorecard is $25,255. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Howard Payne University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Howard Payne University.

What is Howard Payne University's acceptance rate?

Howard Payne University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 67.69%.

What does Howard Payne University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $20,589 for Howard Payne University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Howard Payne University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $48,376 for Howard Payne University.

Is Howard Payne University accredited?

Howard Payne University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Howard Payne University?

Per College Scorecard, 716 undergraduate students at Howard Payne University.

What percentage of Howard Payne University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Howard Payne University per College Scorecard is 42.17%.

What is the federal loan rate at Howard Payne University?

The federal loan rate for Howard Payne University per College Scorecard is 66.11%.

Where should I verify Howard Payne University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Howard Payne University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Howard Payne University report?

Howard Payne University reports SAT data around 1,019, with math 430-530 and reading 450-570 where available.

What GPA requirements does Howard Payne University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Howard Payne University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Howard Payne University offer?

Howard Payne University has reported program records including Business Administration, Management and Operations, Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas, Business Administration, Management and Operations. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Howard Payne University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 2.1 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.