Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Houston, Texas

Rice University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Rice University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$58,128

Average net price after aid

$12,640

Total attendance cost

$74,110

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Rice University Expensive?

Rice University reports tuition of $58,128 (out-of-state) / $58,128 (in-state) and an average net price of $12,640. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Rice University is a private nonprofit in Houston, TX. The total estimated cost of attendance is $74,110, the acceptance rate is 7.88%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $89,718.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Rice University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Rice University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Rice University fit your shortlist?

Rice University is a private nonprofit in Houston, TX. Its reported average net price is $12,640, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $58,128. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Houston with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 95.69% completion rate and $89,718 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Texas schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Rice University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$58,128

Net price

$12,640

Acceptance rate

7.88%

SAT

1,553

ACT

34-36

Graduation rate

95.69%

Salary after graduation

$89,718

ROI payback

0.6 yrs

Reported snapshot

Rice University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

4,562

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

3,982

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

6:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

97.58%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 6100 S Main St, Houston, TX 77005-1827

Admissions

Is Rice University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 7.88%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

7.88%

SAT overall

1,553

ACT range

34-36

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$58,128

Room and board

$15,900

Books and supplies

$1,400

Other expenses

$2,850

Net price

$12,640

4-year net price

$50,560

Rice University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $3,221 $70,889 $268/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $3,666 $70,444 $306/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $1,348 $72,762 $112/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $18,783 $55,327 $1,565/mo
Over $110,000 $39,303 $34,807 $3,275/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Rice University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

16.07%

Federal loan rate

6.25%

Students with any loan

63.51%

Median completer debt

$11,000

Median monthly payment

$117

Loan principal

$9,716

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 404
3-year repayment count 413
5-year repayment count 422
7-year repayment count 415
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

89.36%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

95.69%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

0.00%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$89,718

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $79,751
10-year median earnings $89,718
10-year mean earnings $91,600
Simple ROI payback 0.6 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 26.48%
26.48%
Hispanic 16.11%
16.11%
Asian 29.50%
29.50%
Black 8.24%
8.24%
Two or more races 5.20%
5.20%
Nonresident alien 12.47%
12.47%

Gender and economic profile

Men 50.88%
50.88%
Women 49.12%
49.12%

First-generation share

14.48%

Low-income share

18.80%

Average family income

$633

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Biological sciences 17.40%
17.40%
Engineering 16.83%
16.83%
Computer and information sciences 15.02%
15.02%
Social sciences 10.46%
10.46%
Mathematics 7.60%
7.60%
Psychology 4.94%
4.94%
Parks, recreation and fitness 4.66%
4.66%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 3.61%
3.61%
Physical sciences 3.52%
3.52%
Architecture 3.33%
3.33%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods Master's Degree 439 Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's Degree 366 $128,659
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 149 $122,770
Computer and Information Sciences, General Master's Degree 128 Not reported
Health and Physical Education/Fitness Bachelor's Degree 104 $38,232
Economics Bachelor's Degree 101 $87,989
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology Bachelor's Degree 71 $67,158
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 64 $31,474
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 58 $70,400
Music Master's Degree 57 $28,275
Biomedical/Medical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 56 $88,307
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 48 $54,728
Cognitive Science Bachelor's Degree 45 $42,585
Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering Master's Degree 41 Not reported
Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering Bachelor's Degree 38 $96,751
English Language and Literature, General Bachelor's Degree 38 $28,009
Sociology Bachelor's Degree 37 $68,737
Chemical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 36 $78,801

Highest reported program salary signals

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

$128,659

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

$122,770

Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$96,751

Biomedical/Medical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$88,307

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$87,989

Chemical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$78,801

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$70,400

Sociology

Bachelor's Degree

$68,737

Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology

Bachelor's Degree

$67,158

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$54,728

Cognitive Science

Bachelor's Degree

$42,585

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

$38,232

Published tuition and cost components

Rice University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $58,128
In-state tuition $58,128
Out-of-state tuition $58,128
Cost per year $74,110
Average net price $12,640
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $296,440
Estimated 4-year net price $50,560

Rice University In-State Tuition

Rice University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $58,128. Rice University is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Rice University Out-of-State Tuition

Rice University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $58,128. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Rice University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Rice University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $74,110, while the average net price after aid is $12,640.

Cost per year

$74,110

4-year attendance estimate

$296,440

4-year net price estimate

$50,560

Rice University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 7.88%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 7.88%
SAT average/range 1,553
SAT Math middle range 770-800
SAT Reading middle range 730-770
ACT middle range 34-36
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Rice University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Rice University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,553, SAT Math range is 770-800, and SAT Reading range is 730-770.

Rice University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Rice University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 34-36.

Rice University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Rice University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Rice University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 7.88%
SAT data: 1,553
ACT data: 34-36

Rice University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Rice University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Rice University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Rice University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Rice University Financial Aid

Rice University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 16.07% and federal loan rate is 6.25%.

Rice University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Rice University.

Rice University Net Price by Family Income

Rice University net price is $12,640 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Rice University Rankings 2026

Rice University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 95.69%
Salary after graduation $89,718
10-year median earnings $89,718
State average net price $17,343
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 0.6 years simple payback

Rice University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Rice University has 131 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods

Master's Degree

439 reported awards

Program

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

366 reported awards

Program

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

149 reported awards

Program

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Master's Degree

128 reported awards

Program

Health and Physical Education/Fitness

Bachelor's Degree

104 reported awards

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

101 reported awards

Program

Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology

Bachelor's Degree

71 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

64 reported awards

Rice University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $128,659

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $122,770

Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $96,751

Biomedical/Medical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $88,307

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $87,989

International Relations and National Security Studies

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $82,320

Civil Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $80,364

Chemical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $78,801

Rice University Graduation Rate

Rice University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 95.69%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Rice University Salary After Graduation

Rice University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $89,718 for 10-year median earnings.

Rice University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Rice University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 0.6 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Rice University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$58,128

Out-of-state tuition

$58,128

Average net price

$12,640

Attendance cost

$74,110

Rice University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Rice University.

Tuition

Per semester: $29,064

Annual: $58,128

Room and board

Per semester: $7,950

Annual: $15,900

Books and supplies

Per semester: $700

Annual: $1,400

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,425

Annual: $2,850

Attendance cost

Per semester: $37,055

Annual: $74,110

Rice University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$232,512

Four-year attendance estimate

$296,440

Four-year average net price

$50,560

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Rice University is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $58,128 and out-of-state tuition is $58,128. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Rice University as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Rice University reports $58,128 for out-of-state tuition and $58,128 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$15,900

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$15,900

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,400

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$2,850

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$74,110

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Rice University pays approximately $12,640 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Texas average of $17,343 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

7.88%

SAT Average

1,553

ACT Range

34-36

Rice University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 7.88%. This means approximately 79 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 4,562 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

7.88%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$58,128

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$58,128

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$74,110

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$12,640

State avg: $17,343. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

16.07%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

6.25%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Rice University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$58,128

Room and board

$15,900

Books and supplies

$1,400

Other expenses

$2,850

Sticker price

$74,110

Average net price

$12,640

Average aid coverage

83%

$61,470 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Rice University pays approximately $12,640 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Texas average of $17,343 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Rice University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Texas and national averages.

Rice University net price

$12,640

Texas average

$17,343

National average

$17,506

Rice University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $58,128 and average net price at $12,640. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$58,128

Current net price

$12,640

Current out-of-state tuition $58,128
Current average net price $12,640

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

95.69%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$89,718

Undergraduates

4,562

10-Year Median Earnings - Rice University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Rice University graduates earn about 2.1x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Rice University?

Undergraduates

4,562

Completion rate

95.69%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

16.07%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

6.25%

Below national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 16.07% of Rice University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 6.25% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

16.07%

Federal loan rate

6.25%

Students with any loan

63.51%

Average net price

$12,640

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Rice University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Rice University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$9,716

Median completer debt

$11,000

Median monthly payment

$117

Federal loan rate

6.25%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Rice University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Rice University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Rice University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Rice University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Rice University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$7,700,629,000

Endowment per undergraduate

$1,687,994

Faculty salary field

$18,047

Tuition revenue per FTE

$30,531

Instructional spend per FTE

$37,803

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Rice University lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Rice University is listed at 6100 S Main St, Houston, TX 77005-1827. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

6100 S Main St
Houston, TX 77005-1827

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Rice University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Rice University
Accept. rate
7.88%
Tuition
$58,128
Net price
$12,640
10-yr earnings
$89,718
West Coast University-Texas
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
$16,715
Net price
$25,957
10-yr earnings
$102,672
University of North Texas Health Science Center
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$93,615
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Accept. rate
Not available
Tuition
Not available
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$92,961
Chamberlain University-Texas
Accept. rate
95.65%
Tuition
$19,686
Net price
$32,247
10-yr earnings
$92,405

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Rice University Tuition?

Rice University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $58,128. In-state tuition is $58,128. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Rice University's average net price?

Rice University's average net price per College Scorecard is $12,640. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Rice University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Rice University.

What is Rice University's acceptance rate?

Rice University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 7.88%.

What does Rice University cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $3,221 for Rice University students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Rice University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $89,718 for Rice University.

Is Rice University accredited?

Rice University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Rice University?

Per College Scorecard, 4,562 undergraduate students at Rice University.

What percentage of Rice University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Rice University per College Scorecard is 16.07%.

What is the federal loan rate at Rice University?

The federal loan rate for Rice University per College Scorecard is 6.25%.

Where should I verify Rice University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Rice University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Rice University report?

Rice University reports SAT data around 1,553, with math 770-800 and reading 730-770 where available.

What GPA requirements does Rice University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Rice University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Rice University offer?

Rice University has reported program records including Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods, Business Administration, Management and Operations, Computer and Information Sciences, General. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Rice University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 0.6 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.