Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Hampden-Sydney, Virginia

Hampden-Sydney College: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Hampden-Sydney College starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$52,388

Average net price after aid

$24,668

Total attendance cost

$67,129

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Hampden-Sydney College Expensive?

Hampden-Sydney College reports tuition of $52,388 (out-of-state) / $52,388 (in-state) and an average net price of $24,668. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Hampden-Sydney College is a private nonprofit in Hampden-Sydney, VA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $67,129, the acceptance rate is 50.13%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $67,640.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Hampden-Sydney College’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Hampden-Sydney College tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Hampden-Sydney College fit your shortlist?

Hampden-Sydney College is a private nonprofit in Hampden-Sydney, VA. Its reported average net price is $24,668, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $52,388. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a private nonprofit option in Hampden-Sydney with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 65.27% completion rate and $67,640 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Virginia schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Hampden-Sydney College may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$52,388

Net price

$24,668

Acceptance rate

50.13%

SAT

1,168

ACT

22-31

Graduation rate

65.27%

Salary after graduation

$67,640

ROI payback

1.5 yrs

Reported snapshot

Hampden-Sydney College at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

876

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

Not available

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

9:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

84.95%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Private nonprofit
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 1 College Road, Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943

Admissions

Is Hampden-Sydney College hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 50.13%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

50.13%

SAT overall

1,168

ACT range

22-31

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$52,388

Room and board

$15,110

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$1,000

Net price

$24,668

4-year net price

$98,672

Hampden-Sydney College Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $12,552 $54,577 $1,046/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $12,732 $54,397 $1,061/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $23,831 $43,298 $1,986/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $22,295 $44,834 $1,858/mo
Over $110,000 $33,760 $33,369 $2,813/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Hampden-Sydney College's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

22.00%

Federal loan rate

48.00%

Students with any loan

95.66%

Median completer debt

$26,000

Median monthly payment

$276

Loan principal

$19,500

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 355
3-year repayment count 383
5-year repayment count 372
7-year repayment count 348
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

59.49%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

65.27%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

7.72%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$67,640

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $55,846
10-year median earnings $67,640
10-year mean earnings $59,000
Simple ROI payback 1.5 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 77.85%
77.85%
Hispanic 6.39%
6.39%
Asian 0.80%
0.80%
Black 8.22%
8.22%
Two or more races 4.91%
4.91%
Nonresident alien 0.57%
0.57%

Gender and economic profile

Men 99.89%
99.89%
Women 0.11%
0.11%

First-generation share

Not available

Low-income share

13.78%

Average family income

$392

Pell students

0

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Social sciences 30.00%
30.00%
Business and marketing 22.00%
22.00%
Biological sciences 16.67%
16.67%
History 12.00%
12.00%
English 4.00%
4.00%
Psychology 4.00%
4.00%
Physical sciences 4.00%
4.00%
Philosophy and religious studies 2.67%
2.67%
Engineering 2.00%
2.00%
Mathematics 1.33%
1.33%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Business/Managerial Economics Bachelor's Degree 69 $51,328
Economics Bachelor's Degree 36 $46,247
History Bachelor's Degree 33 $42,949
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 25 $33,709
Political Science and Government Bachelor's Degree 20 $34,709
International Relations and National Security Studies Bachelor's Degree 15 Not reported
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 11 Not reported
Applied Mathematics Bachelor's Degree 9 Not reported
Engineering Physics Bachelor's Degree 8 Not reported
Physics Bachelor's Degree 8 Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Bachelor's Degree 7 Not reported
Philosophy Bachelor's Degree 6 Not reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported
English Language and Literature, General Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported
Chemistry Bachelor's Degree 5 Not reported
Computer Science Bachelor's Degree 3 Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies Bachelor's Degree 3 Not reported

Highest reported program salary signals

Business/Managerial Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$51,328

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

$46,247

History

Bachelor's Degree

$42,949

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

$34,709

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

$33,709

Published tuition and cost components

Hampden-Sydney College tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $52,388
In-state tuition $52,388
Out-of-state tuition $52,388
Cost per year $67,129
Average net price $24,668
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $268,516
Estimated 4-year net price $98,672

Hampden-Sydney College In-State Tuition

Hampden-Sydney College in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $52,388. Hampden-Sydney College is listed as Private nonprofit. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Hampden-Sydney College Out-of-State Tuition

Hampden-Sydney College out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $52,388. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in the federal source fields used for this guide.

Hampden-Sydney College Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Hampden-Sydney College cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $67,129, while the average net price after aid is $24,668.

Cost per year

$67,129

4-year attendance estimate

$268,516

4-year net price estimate

$98,672

Hampden-Sydney College Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 50.13%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 50.13%
SAT average/range 1,168
SAT Math middle range 520-610
SAT Reading middle range 540-620
ACT middle range 22-31
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Hampden-Sydney College SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Hampden-Sydney College are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,168, SAT Math range is 520-610, and SAT Reading range is 540-620.

Hampden-Sydney College ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Hampden-Sydney College should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 22-31.

Hampden-Sydney College GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Hampden-Sydney College Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Hampden-Sydney College admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 50.13%
SAT data: 1,168
ACT data: 22-31

Hampden-Sydney College Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Hampden-Sydney College Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Hampden-Sydney College's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Hampden-Sydney College provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Hampden-Sydney College Financial Aid

Hampden-Sydney College financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 22.00% and federal loan rate is 48.00%.

Hampden-Sydney College Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Hampden-Sydney College.

Hampden-Sydney College Net Price by Family Income

Hampden-Sydney College net price is $24,668 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Hampden-Sydney College Rankings 2026

Hampden-Sydney College ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 65.27%
Salary after graduation $67,640
10-year median earnings $67,640
State average net price $17,997
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.5 years simple payback

Hampden-Sydney College Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Hampden-Sydney College has 26 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Business/Managerial Economics

Bachelor's Degree

69 reported awards

Program

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

36 reported awards

Program

History

Bachelor's Degree

33 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

25 reported awards

Program

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

20 reported awards

Program

International Relations and National Security Studies

Bachelor's Degree

15 reported awards

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

11 reported awards

Program

Applied Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

9 reported awards

Hampden-Sydney College Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Business/Managerial Economics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $51,328

Economics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $46,247

History

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $42,949

Political Science and Government

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $34,709

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $33,709

International Relations and National Security Studies

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: Not reported

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: Not reported

Applied Mathematics

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: Not reported

Hampden-Sydney College Graduation Rate

Hampden-Sydney College graduation rate per College Scorecard is 65.27%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Hampden-Sydney College Salary After Graduation

Hampden-Sydney College salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $67,640 for 10-year median earnings.

Hampden-Sydney College ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Hampden-Sydney College reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.5 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Hampden-Sydney College Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$52,388

Out-of-state tuition

$52,388

Average net price

$24,668

Attendance cost

$67,129

Hampden-Sydney College Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Hampden-Sydney College.

Tuition

Per semester: $26,194

Annual: $52,388

Room and board

Per semester: $7,555

Annual: $15,110

Books and supplies

Per semester: $500

Annual: $1,000

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $500

Annual: $1,000

Attendance cost

Per semester: $33,565

Annual: $67,129

Hampden-Sydney College Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$209,552

Four-year attendance estimate

$268,516

Four-year average net price

$98,672

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Hampden-Sydney College is listed as Private nonprofit per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $52,388 and out-of-state tuition is $52,388. The reported in-state and out-of-state tuition values match in this dataset.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Hampden-Sydney College as Private nonprofit. Private colleges commonly report one tuition rate rather than separate resident and nonresident rates. In this dataset, Hampden-Sydney College reports $52,388 for out-of-state tuition and $52,388 for in-state tuition. International student billing, visa expenses, health insurance and aid eligibility should be verified directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$15,110

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$11,480

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,000

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$1,000

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$67,129

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Hampden-Sydney College pays approximately $24,668 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Virginia average of $17,997 and above the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

50.13%

SAT Average

1,168

ACT Range

22-31

Hampden-Sydney College Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 50.13%. This means approximately 501 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 876 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

50.13%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$52,388

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$52,388

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$67,129

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$24,668

State avg: $17,997. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

22.00%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

48.00%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Hampden-Sydney College Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$52,388

Room and board

$15,110

Books and supplies

$1,000

Other expenses

$1,000

Sticker price

$67,129

Average net price

$24,668

Average aid coverage

63%

$42,461 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Hampden-Sydney College pays approximately $24,668 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Virginia average of $17,997 and above the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Hampden-Sydney College?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Virginia and national averages.

Hampden-Sydney College net price

$24,668

Virginia average

$17,997

National average

$17,506

Hampden-Sydney College Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $52,388 and average net price at $24,668. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$52,388

Current net price

$24,668

Current out-of-state tuition $52,388
Current average net price $24,668

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

65.27%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$67,640

Undergraduates

876

10-Year Median Earnings - Hampden-Sydney College vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Hampden-Sydney College graduates earn about 1.5x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Hampden-Sydney College?

Undergraduates

876

Completion rate

65.27%

Above national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

22.00%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

48.00%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 22.00% of Hampden-Sydney College students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 48.00% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

22.00%

Federal loan rate

48.00%

Students with any loan

95.66%

Average net price

$24,668

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Hampden-Sydney College

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Hampden-Sydney College's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$19,500

Median completer debt

$26,000

Median monthly payment

$276

Federal loan rate

48.00%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Hampden-Sydney College Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Hampden-Sydney College's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Hampden-Sydney College's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Hampden-Sydney College's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Hampden-Sydney College Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$242,199,104

Endowment per undergraduate

$276,483

Faculty salary field

$8,837

Tuition revenue per FTE

$13,777

Instructional spend per FTE

$19,893

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Hampden-Sydney College lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Hampden-Sydney College is listed at 1 College Road, Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

1 College Road
Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Hampden-Sydney College with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Hampden-Sydney College
Accept. rate
50.13%
Tuition
$52,388
Net price
$24,668
10-yr earnings
$67,640
Washington and Lee University
Accept. rate
17.36%
Tuition
$64,525
Net price
$23,911
10-yr earnings
$94,810
Chamberlain University-Virginia
Accept. rate
100.00%
Tuition
$20,462
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$92,405
University of Virginia-Main Campus
Accept. rate
16.86%
Tuition
$58,014
Net price
$22,881
10-yr earnings
$86,863
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Accept. rate
57.03%
Tuition
$36,694
Net price
$23,790
10-yr earnings
$81,698

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Hampden-Sydney College tuition?

Hampden-Sydney College out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $52,388. In-state tuition is $52,388. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Hampden-Sydney College's average net price?

Hampden-Sydney College's average net price per College Scorecard is $24,668. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Hampden-Sydney College fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Hampden-Sydney College.

What is Hampden-Sydney College's acceptance rate?

Hampden-Sydney College's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 50.13%.

What does Hampden-Sydney College cost for families earning under $30,000?

College Scorecard income-bracket data shows an average net price of $12,552 for Hampden-Sydney College students from families earning under $30,000. Actual costs vary; use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

What is Hampden-Sydney College's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $67,640 for Hampden-Sydney College.

Is Hampden-Sydney College accredited?

Hampden-Sydney College's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Hampden-Sydney College?

Per College Scorecard, 876 undergraduate students at Hampden-Sydney College.

What percentage of Hampden-Sydney College students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Hampden-Sydney College per College Scorecard is 22.00%.

What is the federal loan rate at Hampden-Sydney College?

The federal loan rate for Hampden-Sydney College per College Scorecard is 48.00%.

Where should I verify Hampden-Sydney College data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Hampden-Sydney College or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Hampden-Sydney College report?

Hampden-Sydney College reports SAT data around 1,168, with math 520-610 and reading 540-620 where available.

What GPA requirements does Hampden-Sydney College have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Hampden-Sydney College application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Hampden-Sydney College offer?

Hampden-Sydney College has reported program records including Business/Managerial Economics, Economics, History. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Hampden-Sydney College's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.5 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.