Quick Answer: Is Virginia Military Institute Expensive?
Virginia Military Institute reports tuition of $51,186 (out-of-state) / $20,484 (in-state) and an average net price of $18,849. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.
Virginia Military Institute is a public in Lexington, VA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $33,738, the acceptance rate is 81.73%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $77,369.
Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Virginia Military Institute’s official website before applying.
Need the cost-focused view? View Virginia Military Institute tuition fees and ROI details .
Verify before applying
Official links and next steps
Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.
Shortlist check
Could Virginia Military Institute fit your shortlist?
Virginia Military Institute is a public in Lexington, VA. Its reported average net price is $18,849, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $51,186. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.
Keep it on your list if
- You want to compare a public option in Lexington with nearby alternatives.
- Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
- You are comfortable comparing the reported 81.80% completion rate and $77,369 10-year earnings with similar schools.
Compare other options first if
- Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
- You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
- You have not compared Virginia schools by net price, aid and outcomes.
Financial fit check
When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit
A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Virginia Military Institute may not be the right choice if:
- Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
- You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
- Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.
Table of Contents
Decision guide
Start with cost, then test the fit
A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.
Tuition fees
$51,186
Net price
$18,849
Acceptance rate
81.73%
SAT
1,183
ACT
22-28
Graduation rate
81.80%
Salary after graduation
$77,369
ROI payback
1.0 yrs
Reported snapshot
Virginia Military Institute at a glance
Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.
Enrollment
1,560
Undergraduate students reported
Graduate students
Not available
Graduate enrollment where reported
Student faculty ratio
10:1
Classroom access signal
Retention rate
84.44%
Full-time first-year retention
| Profile field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Institution type | Public |
| Accreditor | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges |
| Admissions policy | Selective admissions policy reported |
| Main campus | Main campus reported |
| Online only | Campus or mixed delivery |
| Address | VMI Parade, Lexington, VA 24450-0304 |
Admissions
Is Virginia Military Institute hard to get into?
Acceptance rate is 81.73%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.
Acceptance rate
81.73%
SAT overall
1,183
ACT range
22-28
GPA requirement
Verify official source
How to use these admissions signals
Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.
Application checklist
- Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
- Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
- Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
- Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.
Interactive cost planning
What you may pay after aid
Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.
Tuition
$51,186
Room and board
$10,990
Books and supplies
$1,200
Other expenses
$2,150
Net price
$18,849
4-year net price
$75,396
Virginia Military Institute Net Price by Income Bracket
| Family income | Avg net price | Savings vs sticker | Monthly view | Estimator |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $3,152 | $30,586 | $263/mo | |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $5,980 | $27,758 | $498/mo | |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $10,551 | $23,187 | $879/mo | |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $16,055 | $17,683 | $1,338/mo | |
| Over $110,000 | $25,359 | $8,379 | $2,113/mo |
Estimated net price for :
Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Virginia Military Institute's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
Financial aid and borrowing
How aid and loans affect the price
Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.
Pell Grant rate
16.47%
Federal loan rate
59.92%
Students with any loan
94.38%
Median completer debt
$22,996
Median monthly payment
$244
Loan principal
$19,000
| Repayment field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| 1-year repayment count | 448 |
| 3-year repayment count | 461 |
| 5-year repayment count | 387 |
| 7-year repayment count | 314 |
| 3-year default rate | 0.00% |
Outcomes and ROI
What to check after cost
This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.
Graduation rate 4-year
71.63%
Normal time
Graduation rate 150%
81.80%
Federal 150% completion
Transfer rate
14.89%
Full-time transfer outcome
10-year earnings
$77,369
Median after entry
ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.
| Earnings and ROI field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| 6 years after entry | $63,545 |
| 10-year median earnings | $77,369 |
| 10-year mean earnings | $65,200 |
| Simple ROI payback | 1.0 years |
Student body
Campus community context
Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.
Racial and ethnic diversity
Gender and economic profile
First-generation share
15.25%
Low-income share
11.24%
Average family income
$516
Pell students
0
Programs and earnings
Programs with reported salary signals
Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.
Popular areas of study
| Major / program | Credential | Awards | Program salary |
|---|---|---|---|
| International Relations and National Security Studies | Bachelor's Degree | 56 | $39,302 |
| Civil Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 52 | $47,030 |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | 50 | $41,118 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | 42 | $39,325 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 41 | $41,215 |
| Psychology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 39 | $38,487 |
| Biology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 38 | $38,712 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | 25 | $43,367 |
| English Language and Literature, General | Bachelor's Degree | 21 | $39,671 |
| Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 18 | Not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | 18 | $39,105 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Bachelor's Degree | 13 | $39,025 |
| Physics | Bachelor's Degree | 12 | $46,641 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | 7 | Not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Bachelor's Degree | 0 | Not reported |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | 0 | Not reported |
Highest reported program salary signals
Civil Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
$47,030
Physics
Bachelor's Degree
$46,641
Computer Science
Bachelor's Degree
$43,367
Mechanical Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
$41,215
Economics
Bachelor's Degree
$41,118
English Language and Literature, General
Bachelor's Degree
$39,671
History
Bachelor's Degree
$39,325
International Relations and National Security Studies
Bachelor's Degree
$39,302
Applied Mathematics
Bachelor's Degree
$39,105
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
Bachelor's Degree
$39,025
Biology, General
Bachelor's Degree
$38,712
Psychology, General
Bachelor's Degree
$38,487
Published tuition and cost components
Virginia Military Institute tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.
| Cost field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Tuition fees | $51,186 |
| In-state tuition | $20,484 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $51,186 |
| Cost per year | $33,738 |
| Average net price | $18,849 |
| Estimated 4-year attendance cost | $134,952 |
| Estimated 4-year net price | $75,396 |
Virginia Military Institute In-State Tuition
Virginia Military Institute in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $20,484. Virginia Military Institute is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.
Virginia Military Institute Out-of-State Tuition
Virginia Military Institute out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $51,186. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.
Residency cost comparison
Should You Establish Virginia Residency for Virginia Military Institute?
Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $30,702 per year, or $122,808 across four years before aid changes.
4-year in-state tuition
$81,936
4-year out-of-state tuition
$204,744
4-year premium
$122,808
- 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
- 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
- 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.
Virginia Military Institute Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total
Virginia Military Institute cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $33,738, while the average net price after aid is $18,849.
Cost per year
$33,738
4-year attendance estimate
$134,952
4-year net price estimate
$75,396
Virginia Military Institute Acceptance Rate 2026
Acceptance rate is 81.73%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.
| Admissions field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 81.73% |
| SAT average/range | 1,183 |
| SAT Math middle range | 510-620 |
| SAT Reading middle range | 530-640 |
| ACT middle range | 22-28 |
| Admissions policy | Selective admissions policy reported |
| GPA requirements | Verify with official admissions |
| Application deadline | Verify with official admissions |
Virginia Military Institute SAT Requirements
SAT requirements for Virginia Military Institute are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,183, SAT Math range is 510-620, and SAT Reading range is 530-640.
Virginia Military Institute ACT Requirements
ACT requirements for Virginia Military Institute should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 22-28.
Virginia Military Institute GPA Requirements
GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.
Virginia Military Institute Admissions Requirements
Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Virginia Military Institute admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.
Virginia Military Institute Application Deadline 2026
Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.
Check Official Admissions DeadlinesHow to Apply to Virginia Military Institute Step-by-Step
-
1. Open the official admissions page
Start at Virginia Military Institute's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.
Open resource -
2. Review admissions requirements
Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.
-
3. Estimate cost before applying
Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Virginia Military Institute provides one.
Open resource -
4. Submit the application and aid forms
Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.
Open resource
Virginia Military Institute Financial Aid
Virginia Military Institute financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 16.47% and federal loan rate is 59.92%.
Virginia Military Institute Scholarships
Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Virginia Military Institute.
Virginia Military Institute Net Price by Family Income
Virginia Military Institute net price is $18,849 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.
Virginia Military Institute Rankings 2026
Virginia Military Institute ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.
| Outcome field | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 81.80% |
| Salary after graduation | $77,369 |
| 10-year median earnings | $77,369 |
| State average net price | $17,997 |
| National average net price | $17,506 |
| ROI estimate | 1.0 years simple payback |
Virginia Military Institute Most Popular Majors
Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Virginia Military Institute has 16 program records per College Scorecard.
Program
International Relations and National Security Studies
Bachelor's Degree
56 reported awards
Program
Civil Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
52 reported awards
Program
Economics
Bachelor's Degree
50 reported awards
Program
History
Bachelor's Degree
42 reported awards
Program
Mechanical Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
41 reported awards
Program
Psychology, General
Bachelor's Degree
39 reported awards
Program
Biology, General
Bachelor's Degree
38 reported awards
Program
Computer Science
Bachelor's Degree
25 reported awards
Virginia Military Institute Best Programs & Schools
Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.
Civil Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $47,030
Physics
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $46,641
Computer Science
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $43,367
Mechanical Engineering
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $41,215
Economics
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $41,118
English Language and Literature, General
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $39,671
History
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $39,325
International Relations and National Security Studies
Bachelor's Degree
Program earnings: $39,302
Virginia Military Institute Graduation Rate
Virginia Military Institute graduation rate per College Scorecard is 81.80%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.
Virginia Military Institute Salary After Graduation
Virginia Military Institute salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $77,369 for 10-year median earnings.
Virginia Military Institute ROI - Return on Investment
Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Virginia Military Institute reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.0 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.
ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.
ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.
Virginia Military Institute Tuition Snapshot
Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.
In-state tuition
$20,484
Out-of-state tuition
$51,186
Average net price
$18,849
Attendance cost
$33,738
Virginia Military Institute Estimated Per-Semester Cost
Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Virginia Military Institute.
Tuition
Per semester: $25,593
Annual: $51,186
Room and board
Per semester: $5,495
Annual: $10,990
Books and supplies
Per semester: $600
Annual: $1,200
Other on-campus expenses
Per semester: $1,075
Annual: $2,150
Attendance cost
Per semester: $16,869
Annual: $33,738
Virginia Military Institute Estimated Four-Year Cost
The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.
Four-year tuition estimate
$204,744
Four-year attendance estimate
$134,952
Four-year average net price
$75,396
In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition
Virginia Military Institute is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $20,484 and out-of-state tuition is $51,186. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.
International Student and Private College Tuition Note
The College Scorecard lists Virginia Military Institute as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.
Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost
Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.
Room and board, on campus
$10,990
Housing and meal estimate where reported.
Room and board, off campus
Not available
Off-campus living estimate where reported.
Books and supplies
$1,200
Academic supply estimate.
Other expenses, on campus
$2,150
Personal and miscellaneous estimate.
Total attendance cost
$33,738
Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.
Average Net Price After Aid
Based on available data, the average student at Virginia Military Institute pays approximately $18,849 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Virginia average of $17,997 and above the national average of $17,506.
Acceptance Rate and Outcomes
Acceptance Rate
81.73%
SAT Average
1,183
ACT Range
22-28
Virginia Military Institute Acceptance Rate Trend
The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 81.73%. This means approximately 817 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 1,560 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.
Current dataset
81.73%
Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot
Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.
Tuition and Cost Breakdown
Accreditation
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Institutional accreditor where reported.
In-state tuition
$20,484
National avg: $20,567
Out-of-state tuition
$51,186
National avg: $20,567
Attendance cost
$33,738
Use with aid and net price.
Average net price
$18,849
State avg: $17,997. National avg: $17,506.
Pell grant rate
16.47%
Federal need-based grant indicator.
Federal loan rate
59.92%
Share using federal loans.
What Does Virginia Military Institute Cost?
Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.
Tuition
$51,186
Room and board
$10,990
Books and supplies
$1,200
Other expenses
$2,150
Sticker price
$33,738
Average net price
$18,849
Average aid coverage
44%
$14,889 below sticker price on average
What You Pay
Based on available data, the average student at Virginia Military Institute pays approximately $18,849 per year after grants and aid. This is above the Virginia average of $17,997 and above the national average of $17,506.
How Affordable Is Virginia Military Institute?
Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Virginia and national averages.
Virginia Military Institute net price
$18,849
Virginia average
$17,997
National average
$17,506
Virginia Military Institute Tuition and Net Price Trend
The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $51,186 and average net price at $18,849. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.
Current tuition
$51,186
Current net price
$18,849
Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.
Student Outcomes
Completion Rate (150% Time)
81.80%
Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.
10-Year Earnings
$77,369
Undergraduates
1,560
10-Year Median Earnings - Virginia Military Institute vs Peers
Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.
Virginia Military Institute graduates earn about 1.8x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.
Who Attends Virginia Military Institute?
Undergraduates
1,560
Completion rate
81.80%
Above national average; national avg: 52.02%
Pell recipients
16.47%
Below national average; national avg: 42.32%
Federal loan rate
59.92%
Above national average; national avg: 40.83%
Completion vs national average
Pell grant recipients
Federal loan usage
Financial Aid and Scholarships
About 16.47% of Virginia Military Institute students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 59.92% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.
Pell grant rate
16.47%
Federal loan rate
59.92%
Students with any loan
94.38%
Average net price
$18,849
Net Price by Income Bracket
Estimate Your Net Price at Virginia Military Institute
Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.
Estimated net price for :
This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Virginia Military Institute's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.
Student Debt and Borrowing
Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.
Loan principal
$19,000
Median completer debt
$22,996
Median monthly payment
$244
Federal loan rate
59.92%
Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.
Net Price Calculator
Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.
Open Virginia Military Institute Net Price CalculatorFinancial Aid Application Steps
This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.
-
1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible
Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.
Open resource -
2. Check school-specific aid requirements
Open Virginia Military Institute's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.
Open resource -
3. Use the net price calculator
Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.
Open resource -
4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines
Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.
Payment Guide
Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.
-
1. Confirm published tuition and fees
Review Virginia Military Institute's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.
-
2. Estimate net price after aid
Use Virginia Military Institute's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.
-
3. Review financial aid and payment options
Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.
Virginia Military Institute Financial Health and Student Support Capacity
These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.
Endowment
$715,617,553
Endowment per undergraduate
$458,729
Faculty salary field
$8,676
Tuition revenue per FTE
$14,784
Instructional spend per FTE
$20,949
These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.
Accreditation
Virginia Military Institute lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.
Visit AccreditorCampus Location and Contact
Virginia Military Institute is listed at VMI Parade, Lexington, VA 24450-0304. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
Address
VMI Parade
Lexington, VA 24450-0304
Official website
Open school websiteAdmissions policy
Selective admissions policy reported
Compare Schools
Compare Virginia Military Institute with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.
- Accept. rate
- 81.73%
- Tuition
- $51,186
- Net price
- $18,849
- 10-yr earnings
- $77,369
- Accept. rate
- 17.36%
- Tuition
- $64,525
- Net price
- $23,911
- 10-yr earnings
- $94,810
- Accept. rate
- 100.00%
- Tuition
- $20,462
- Net price
- Not available
- 10-yr earnings
- $92,405
- Accept. rate
- 16.86%
- Tuition
- $58,014
- Net price
- $22,881
- 10-yr earnings
- $86,863
- Accept. rate
- 57.03%
- Tuition
- $36,694
- Net price
- $23,790
- 10-yr earnings
- $81,698
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is Virginia Military Institute tuition?
Virginia Military Institute out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $51,186. In-state tuition is $20,484. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.
What is Virginia Military Institute's average net price?
Virginia Military Institute's average net price per College Scorecard is $18,849. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.
Does this page include all Virginia Military Institute fees?
The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Virginia Military Institute.
What is Virginia Military Institute's acceptance rate?
Virginia Military Institute's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 81.73%.
What is Virginia Military Institute's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?
Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $77,369 for Virginia Military Institute.
Is Virginia Military Institute accredited?
Virginia Military Institute's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Virginia Military Institute?
Per College Scorecard, 1,560 undergraduate students at Virginia Military Institute.
What percentage of Virginia Military Institute students receive Pell grants?
The Pell grant rate for Virginia Military Institute per College Scorecard is 16.47%.
What is the federal loan rate at Virginia Military Institute?
The federal loan rate for Virginia Military Institute per College Scorecard is 59.92%.
Where should I verify Virginia Military Institute data?
Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Virginia Military Institute or the latest official federal education data.
What SAT requirements does Virginia Military Institute report?
Virginia Military Institute reports SAT data around 1,183, with math 510-620 and reading 530-640 where available.
What GPA requirements does Virginia Military Institute have?
GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.
When is the Virginia Military Institute application deadline?
Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.
What majors and best programs does Virginia Military Institute offer?
Virginia Military Institute has reported program records including International Relations and National Security Studies, Civil Engineering, Economics. Verify current majors with the official catalog.
What is Virginia Military Institute's ROI?
A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.0 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.
Data Used on This Page
- Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
- Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
- Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.