Skip to content
US Best USA Colleges 6,321 verified college profiles

Norfolk, Virginia

Old Dominion University: Cost, Admissions and Outcomes Guide 2026

Choosing Old Dominion University starts with the price after aid, not the sticker price alone. Review reported tuition, net price, admissions selectivity, financial aid, completion and earnings here, then confirm final costs and deadlines with the university.

Out-of-state tuition

$32,662

Average net price after aid

$14,170

Total attendance cost

$27,180

Record updated March 7, 2026. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived data.

Quick Answer: Is Old Dominion University Expensive?

Old Dominion University reports tuition of $32,662 (out-of-state) / $12,262 (in-state) and an average net price of $14,170. Net price is usually more useful than tuition because it reflects grants and scholarships where reported.

Old Dominion University is a public in Norfolk, VA. The total estimated cost of attendance is $27,180, the acceptance rate is 90.52%, and median earnings 10 years after enrollment are $54,914.

Use these numbers for comparison only. Confirm current tuition, aid, deadlines and program requirements on Old Dominion University’s official website before applying.

Need the cost-focused view? View Old Dominion University tuition fees and ROI details .

Verify before applying

Official links and next steps

Federal data supports comparisons, but the university sets current tuition, aid policies and application requirements. Use these official resources before you submit an application or accept an aid offer.

Shortlist check

Could Old Dominion University fit your shortlist?

Old Dominion University is a public in Norfolk, VA. Its reported average net price is $14,170, compared with published out-of-state tuition of $32,662. Use your actual aid estimate to decide whether the cost is manageable.

Keep it on your list if

  • You want to compare a public option in Norfolk with nearby alternatives.
  • Your official net price estimate is affordable after grants, scholarships and living costs.
  • You are comfortable comparing the reported 44.35% completion rate and $54,914 10-year earnings with similar schools.

Compare other options first if

  • Your net price calculator result is above your budget or requires borrowing you have not reviewed.
  • You need a specific program, scholarship or deadline that is not confirmed in the official university materials.
  • You have not compared Virginia schools by net price, aid and outcomes.

Financial fit check

When This School May Not Be the Right Financial Fit

A college is only a good investment if it matches your family's budget. Old Dominion University may not be the right choice if:

  • Your official net price calculator result is much higher than your family budget.
  • You would need large private loans without comparing lower-cost options.
  • Your intended program has extra fees not reflected in general tuition data.

Table of Contents

Decision guide

Start with cost, then test the fit

A useful comparison starts with tuition and average net price, then adds admission difficulty, aid, programs and outcomes. The figures below use imported federal fields when reported. This page leaves unavailable requirements and deadlines for official verification instead of filling gaps with estimates.

Tuition fees

$32,662

Net price

$14,170

Acceptance rate

90.52%

SAT

1,190

ACT

22-27

Graduation rate

44.35%

Salary after graduation

$54,914

ROI payback

1.0 yrs

Reported snapshot

Old Dominion University at a glance

Use this snapshot for an initial screen of cost, admissions and student outcomes. If a value matters to your decision, follow the official resource links above before applying or committing to attendance.

Enrollment

17,521

Undergraduate students reported

Graduate students

4,805

Graduate enrollment where reported

Student faculty ratio

15:1

Classroom access signal

Retention rate

75.92%

Full-time first-year retention

Profile field Reported value
Institution type Public
Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
Main campus Main campus reported
Online only Campus or mixed delivery
Address 5115 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23529

Admissions

Is Old Dominion University hard to get into?

Acceptance rate is 90.52%. Reported SAT and ACT fields help you compare applicant context where available. The imported dataset does not establish current GPA requirements, essays or deadlines, so confirm those items with the official university before applying.

Acceptance rate

90.52%

SAT overall

1,190

ACT range

22-27

GPA requirement

Verify official source

How to use these admissions signals

Acceptance rate shows selectivity, SAT and ACT data show admitted-student testing context, and the official admissions page should confirm current application deadline, GPA requirements, essays, recommendations, test-optional rules and transfer requirements.

Application checklist

  • Confirm application deadline and priority scholarship deadline.
  • Review SAT requirements, ACT requirements and test-optional policy.
  • Check GPA requirements and transcript requirements.
  • Compare net price and financial aid before submitting.

Interactive cost planning

What you may pay after aid

Sticker price tells only part of the story. Compare reported tuition with attendance cost and net price by income where the data is available, then use the official net price calculator for a personal estimate.

Tuition

$32,662

Room and board

$14,592

Books and supplies

$1,800

Other expenses

$3,000

Net price

$14,170

4-year net price

$56,680

Old Dominion University Net Price by Income Bracket

Family income Avg net price Savings vs sticker Monthly view Estimator
$0–$30,000 $9,627 $17,553 $802/mo
$30,001–$48,000 $9,883 $17,297 $824/mo
$48,001–$75,000 $13,142 $14,038 $1,095/mo
$75,001–$110,000 $18,121 $9,059 $1,510/mo
Over $110,000 $22,658 $4,522 $1,888/mo

Estimated net price for :

Actual costs can vary by residency, housing, aid eligibility, program, scholarships and billing rules. Use Old Dominion University's official net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Financial aid and borrowing

How aid and loans affect the price

Financial aid research should separate grants and scholarships from loans. This block summarizes Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate, students with any loan, median completer debt, monthly payment and repayment counts so families can compare affordability beyond tuition fees.

Pell Grant rate

36.94%

Federal loan rate

42.17%

Students with any loan

86.93%

Median completer debt

$24,000

Median monthly payment

$254

Loan principal

$16,300

Repayment field Reported value
1-year repayment count 7,984
3-year repayment count 8,463
5-year repayment count 7,651
7-year repayment count 5,889
3-year default rate 0.00%

Outcomes and ROI

What to check after cost

This dashboard combines graduation rate, salary after graduation, transfer outcome, repayment data and a simple ROI payback estimate. It gives readers a stronger college value picture than tuition or net price alone.

Graduation rate 4-year

25.75%

Normal time

Graduation rate 150%

44.35%

Federal 150% completion

Transfer rate

26.35%

Full-time transfer outcome

10-year earnings

$54,914

Median after entry

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

Earnings and ROI field Reported value
6 years after entry $46,732
10-year median earnings $54,914
10-year mean earnings $48,700
Simple ROI payback 1.0 years

Student body

Campus community context

Student body context helps readers understand the campus community before comparing tuition fees, admissions requirements, majors and ROI. Values below use the imported federal student profile fields where reported.

Racial and ethnic diversity

White 41.36%
41.36%
Hispanic 10.64%
10.64%
Asian 5.36%
5.36%
Black 32.25%
32.25%
Two or more races 6.97%
6.97%
Nonresident alien 1.18%
1.18%

Gender and economic profile

Men 45.64%
45.64%
Women 54.36%
54.36%

First-generation share

33.21%

Low-income share

40.20%

Average family income

$8,904

Pell students

1

Programs and earnings

Programs with reported salary signals

Review the reported program mix and available earnings fields before choosing a major. Salary values describe published outcomes in the federal source; they are not salary promises for individual graduates.

Bachelor Certificate Associate / Bachelor Certificate / Degree

Popular areas of study

Health professions 17.88%
17.88%
Business and marketing 13.81%
13.81%
Social sciences 8.70%
8.70%
Psychology 8.34%
8.34%
Computer and information sciences 7.63%
7.63%
Education 7.33%
7.33%
English 6.26%
6.26%
Engineering 5.93%
5.93%
Multi/interdisciplinary studies 5.74%
5.74%
Biological sciences 5.14%
5.14%
Major / program Credential Awards Program salary
Psychology, General Bachelor's Degree 336 $30,237
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's Degree 280 $36,782
Criminology Bachelor's Degree 239 $33,849
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's Degree 239 $61,928
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies Bachelor's Degree 225 $32,547
Biology, General Bachelor's Degree 222 $28,135
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions Bachelor's Degree 220 $32,167
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas Bachelor's Degree 198 $30,133
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's Degree 181 $40,791
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, Other Bachelor's Degree 170 $57,601
Management Information Systems and Services Bachelor's Degree 162 $45,867
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's Degree 150 $64,804
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Master's Degree 137 $46,354
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other Bachelor's Degree 120 $41,326
Finance and Financial Management Services Bachelor's Degree 118 $42,956
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's Degree 115 $59,112
Engineering, Other Master's Degree 115 $98,047
Engineering, General Master's Degree 106 $79,161

Highest reported program salary signals

Engineering, Other

Master's Degree

$98,047

Engineering, General

Master's Degree

$79,161

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor's Degree

$64,804

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

$61,928

Computer and Information Sciences, General

Bachelor's Degree

$59,112

Engineering Technologies/Technicians, Other

Bachelor's Degree

$57,601

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Master's Degree

$46,354

Management Information Systems and Services

Bachelor's Degree

$45,867

Finance and Financial Management Services

Bachelor's Degree

$42,956

Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other

Bachelor's Degree

$41,326

Business Administration, Management and Operations

Bachelor's Degree

$40,791

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

$36,782

Published tuition and cost components

Old Dominion University tuition fees are reported here per College Scorecard/IPEDS cost fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost and net price are shown as the supported cost components.

Cost field Reported value
Tuition fees $32,662
In-state tuition $12,262
Out-of-state tuition $32,662
Cost per year $27,180
Average net price $14,170
Estimated 4-year attendance cost $108,720
Estimated 4-year net price $56,680

Old Dominion University In-State Tuition

Old Dominion University in-state tuition per College Scorecard is $12,262. Old Dominion University is listed as Public. If residency, program level, online status or campus location can change billing, verify the final in-state rate with the official tuition office.

Old Dominion University Out-of-State Tuition

Old Dominion University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $32,662. The reported in-state and out-of-state values differ, so residency status may matter when estimating cost.

Residency cost comparison

Should You Establish Virginia Residency for Old Dominion University?

Residency can be one of the largest cost differences for public universities. Based on reported tuition fields, the out-of-state premium is $20,400 per year, or $81,600 across four years before aid changes.

4-year in-state tuition

$49,048

4-year out-of-state tuition

$130,648

4-year premium

$81,600

  1. 1. Verify rules earlyResidency rules are state-specific and can depend on legal domicile, tax records and dependency status.
  2. 2. Confirm with the registrarUse the official school residency office before assuming future tuition changes.
  3. 3. Compare aid impactFinancial aid, housing and program fees can change the final cost beyond tuition alone.

Old Dominion University Cost Per Year - 4-Year Total

Old Dominion University cost per year is best reviewed through attendance cost and average net price. The reported annual attendance cost is $27,180, while the average net price after aid is $14,170.

Cost per year

$27,180

4-year attendance estimate

$108,720

4-year net price estimate

$56,680

Old Dominion University Acceptance Rate 2026

Acceptance rate is 90.52%. Acceptance rate should be read with test scores, high school preparation, application strength and program competitiveness, not as a guarantee of admission.

Admissions field Reported value
Acceptance rate 90.52%
SAT average/range 1,190
SAT Math middle range 540-630
SAT Reading middle range 570-660
ACT middle range 22-27
Admissions policy Selective admissions policy reported
GPA requirements Verify with official admissions
Application deadline Verify with official admissions

Old Dominion University SAT Requirements

SAT requirements for Old Dominion University are represented by reported SAT data when the school provides it to the federal dataset. Overall SAT is 1,190, SAT Math range is 540-630, and SAT Reading range is 570-660.

Old Dominion University ACT Requirements

ACT requirements for Old Dominion University should be verified with the current admissions office because test policies can change. The reported ACT middle range per College Scorecard is 22-27.

Old Dominion University GPA Requirements

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

Old Dominion University Admissions Requirements

Use the reported acceptance rate, SAT, ACT and admissions policy as the data-backed starting point for Old Dominion University admissions requirements. Students should still confirm transcripts, essays, recommendations, fee waivers, test-optional rules and program-specific requirements with the official admissions page.

Admissions policy: Selective admissions policy reported
Acceptance rate: 90.52%
SAT data: 1,190
ACT data: 22-27

Old Dominion University Application Deadline 2026

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

Check Official Admissions Deadlines

How to Apply to Old Dominion University Step-by-Step

  1. 1. Open the official admissions page

    Start at Old Dominion University's official website so deadlines, application platform links and program-specific requirements are current.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Review admissions requirements

    Check whether transcripts, essays, recommendations, SAT/ACT scores, GPA details, portfolio materials or transfer documents apply to your applicant type.

  3. 3. Estimate cost before applying

    Compare tuition, net price, scholarships and financial aid, then use the net price calculator if Old Dominion University provides one.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Submit the application and aid forms

    Submit the application before the official deadline and complete FAFSA or other aid forms when eligible.

    Open resource

Old Dominion University Financial Aid

Old Dominion University financial aid context includes average net price, Pell Grant rate, federal loan rate and income-bracket net price where reported. Pell Grant rate is 36.94% and federal loan rate is 42.17%.

Old Dominion University Scholarships

Scholarship-level award names are not imported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use average net price, Pell Grant rate and loan rate here to understand aid signals, then verify merit scholarships, need-based grants, deadlines and renewal rules directly with Old Dominion University.

Old Dominion University Net Price by Family Income

Old Dominion University net price is $14,170 per College Scorecard. Net price is often more useful than tuition alone because it reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Old Dominion University Rankings 2026

Old Dominion University ranking data from commercial ranking publishers is not included in the federal source fields used here. This page uses measurable ranking signals: tuition, net price, acceptance rate, graduation rate, salary after graduation and program outcomes.

Outcome field Reported value
Graduation rate 44.35%
Salary after graduation $54,914
10-year median earnings $54,914
State average net price $17,997
National average net price $17,506
ROI estimate 1.0 years simple payback

Old Dominion University Most Popular Majors

Major data comes from reported College Scorecard program records where available. Old Dominion University has 166 program records per College Scorecard.

Program

Psychology, General

Bachelor's Degree

336 reported awards

Program

Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Bachelor's Degree

280 reported awards

Program

Criminology

Bachelor's Degree

239 reported awards

Program

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Bachelor's Degree

239 reported awards

Program

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies

Bachelor's Degree

225 reported awards

Program

Biology, General

Bachelor's Degree

222 reported awards

Program

Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions

Bachelor's Degree

220 reported awards

Program

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas

Bachelor's Degree

198 reported awards

Old Dominion University Best Programs & Schools

Best programs are ranked here by available program earnings first and reported awards second. This keeps the page data-backed without inventing third-party rankings.

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $193,012

Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $105,948

Engineering, Other

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $98,047

Engineering, General

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $79,161

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $76,609

Education, Other

Doctoral Degree

Program earnings: $74,043

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Master's Degree

Program earnings: $72,357

Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Bachelor's Degree

Program earnings: $65,838

Old Dominion University Graduation Rate

Old Dominion University graduation rate per College Scorecard is 44.35%. This reflects students completing within 150% of normal time where the federal dataset reports the field.

Old Dominion University Salary After Graduation

Old Dominion University salary after graduation is represented by 10-year median earnings where reported. Per College Scorecard, $54,914 for 10-year median earnings.

Old Dominion University ROI - Return on Investment

Based on average net price and 10-year median earnings, Old Dominion University reaches a simple payback estimate in about 1.0 years. This is a directional ROI signal, not a personal financial forecast.

ROI disclaimer: ROI payback is a simple directional comparison using average net price and reported earnings. It is not a loan repayment estimate, salary guarantee, or financial advice.

ROI depends on personal aid, borrowing, major, graduation timing and career path. Use this as a dataset-based starting point, then compare official aid offers and program outcomes.

Old Dominion University Tuition Snapshot

Use these cost cards as the first-pass money view before checking the detailed breakdown and official resources.

In-state tuition

$12,262

Out-of-state tuition

$32,662

Average net price

$14,170

Attendance cost

$27,180

Old Dominion University Estimated Per-Semester Cost

Many tuition guides break annual costs into fall and spring estimates. The values below divide reported annual College Scorecard cost fields by two, so use them as planning estimates and verify the actual billing schedule with Old Dominion University.

Tuition

Per semester: $16,331

Annual: $32,662

Room and board

Per semester: $7,296

Annual: $14,592

Books and supplies

Per semester: $900

Annual: $1,800

Other on-campus expenses

Per semester: $1,500

Annual: $3,000

Attendance cost

Per semester: $13,590

Annual: $27,180

Old Dominion University Estimated Four-Year Cost

The estimates below multiply current reported annual values by four. They do not include future tuition increases, changes in housing, program fees, financial aid changes or personal expenses.

Four-year tuition estimate

$130,648

Four-year attendance estimate

$108,720

Four-year average net price

$56,680

In-State vs Out-of-State Tuition

Old Dominion University is listed as Public per College Scorecard. In-state tuition is $12,262 and out-of-state tuition is $32,662. Compare both values before estimating your bill, especially if residency status may affect pricing.

International Student and Private College Tuition Note

The College Scorecard lists Old Dominion University as Public. Public colleges often use residency-based pricing, so international and nonresident students may face the out-of-state tuition rate. Verify residency, international student fees and aid eligibility directly with the school.

Room and Board / Total Attendance Cost

Separate mandatory fee data is not available in the College Scorecard-derived table; use tuition, room/board, books, other expenses and attendance cost as the supported cost components.

Room and board, on campus

$14,592

Housing and meal estimate where reported.

Room and board, off campus

$14,592

Off-campus living estimate where reported.

Books and supplies

$1,800

Academic supply estimate.

Other expenses, on campus

$3,000

Personal and miscellaneous estimate.

Total attendance cost

$27,180

Use as the sticker-price baseline before aid.

Average Net Price After Aid

Based on available data, the average student at Old Dominion University pays approximately $14,170 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Virginia average of $17,997 and below the national average of $17,506.

Acceptance Rate and Outcomes

Acceptance Rate

90.52%

SAT Average

1,190

ACT Range

22-27

Old Dominion University Acceptance Rate Trend

The current College Scorecard value in this College Scorecard is 90.52%. This means approximately 905 applicants were admitted per 1,000 who applied, based on the College Scorecard enrollment of 17,521 undergraduates. Historical year-by-year acceptance rate data will appear here after multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Current dataset

90.52%

Current College Scorecard admissions snapshot

Multi-year acceptance trend data is not shown until verified historical releases are imported. This avoids presenting decorative bars as real admissions history.

Tuition and Cost Breakdown

Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Institutional accreditor where reported.

In-state tuition

$12,262

National avg: $20,567

Out-of-state tuition

$32,662

National avg: $20,567

Attendance cost

$27,180

Use with aid and net price.

Average net price

$14,170

State avg: $17,997. National avg: $17,506.

Pell grant rate

36.94%

Federal need-based grant indicator.

Federal loan rate

42.17%

Share using federal loans.

What Does Old Dominion University Cost?

Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the College Scorecard data.

Tuition Room and board Books and supplies Other expenses

Tuition

$32,662

Room and board

$14,592

Books and supplies

$1,800

Other expenses

$3,000

Sticker price

$27,180

Average net price

$14,170

Average aid coverage

48%

$13,010 below sticker price on average

What You Pay

Based on available data, the average student at Old Dominion University pays approximately $14,170 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Virginia average of $17,997 and below the national average of $17,506.

How Affordable Is Old Dominion University?

Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Virginia and national averages.

Old Dominion University net price

$14,170

Virginia average

$17,997

National average

$17,506

Old Dominion University Tuition and Net Price Trend

The current College Scorecard and IPEDS-derived source fields show tuition at $32,662 and average net price at $14,170. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.

Current tuition

$32,662

Current net price

$14,170

Current out-of-state tuition $32,662
Current average net price $14,170

Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.

Student Outcomes

Completion Rate (150% Time)

44.35%

Full-time, first-time students completing within 150% of normal time.

10-Year Earnings

$54,914

Undergraduates

17,521

10-Year Median Earnings - Old Dominion University vs Peers

Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.

Old Dominion University graduates earn about 1.3x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.

Who Attends Old Dominion University?

Undergraduates

17,521

Completion rate

44.35%

Below national average; national avg: 52.02%

Pell recipients

36.94%

Below national average; national avg: 42.32%

Federal loan rate

42.17%

Above national average; national avg: 40.83%

Completion vs national average

Pell grant recipients

Federal loan usage

Financial Aid and Scholarships

About 36.94% of Old Dominion University students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid per College Scorecard. 42.17% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.

Pell grant rate

36.94%

Federal loan rate

42.17%

Students with any loan

86.93%

Average net price

$14,170

Net Price by Income Bracket

Estimate Your Net Price at Old Dominion University

Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.

Estimated net price for :

This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Old Dominion University's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.

Student Debt and Borrowing

Borrowing metrics help explain how students finance the gap between sticker price, aid and net price. Loans can make a bill payable, but they do not reduce the underlying cost like grants and scholarships.

Loan principal

$16,300

Median completer debt

$24,000

Median monthly payment

$254

Federal loan rate

42.17%

Debt and payment fields come from federal aid data where reported. Actual borrowing can vary by degree level, dependency status, aid package, family contribution and program costs.

Net Price Calculator

Use the official net price calculator for a personalized estimate. The averages on this page help with comparison, but your final price can change based on residency, aid eligibility, housing, program fees and scholarships.

Open Old Dominion University Net Price Calculator

Financial Aid Application Steps

This guide keeps the steps generic and accurate for College Scorecard and IPEDS data, then points readers to official school and federal resources.

  1. 1. Complete the FAFSA when eligible

    Use the federal FAFSA form to start federal student aid eligibility. Some private or selective schools may require additional institutional forms.

    Open resource
  2. 2. Check school-specific aid requirements

    Open Old Dominion University's official financial aid or admissions site to confirm whether CSS Profile, tax documents or institutional forms are required.

    Open resource
  3. 3. Use the net price calculator

    Compare the personalized estimate with the average net price and income-bracket values shown on this page.

    Open resource
  4. 4. Review grants, loans and payment deadlines

    Separate grant aid from loan financing and verify billing deadlines directly with the school before committing.

Payment Guide

Use these generic steps to review tuition, aid and billing before making an enrollment decision.

  1. 1. Confirm published tuition and fees

    Review Old Dominion University's official tuition page and compare it with the tuition and attendance cost fields on this page.

  2. 2. Estimate net price after aid

    Use Old Dominion University's official net price calculator when available, then compare the estimate with average net price and income-bracket data.

  3. 3. Review financial aid and payment options

    Check grants, scholarships, federal loans, payment plans and billing deadlines directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

Old Dominion University Financial Health and Student Support Capacity

These institutional context fields help explain financial capacity beyond student-facing tuition. They are not a bill, but they add useful background for affordability, aid and student support research.

Endowment

$310,940,822

Endowment per undergraduate

$17,747

Faculty salary field

$10,154

Tuition revenue per FTE

$7,028

Instructional spend per FTE

$12,032

These fields come from federal institutional data and should be read as context, not as student charges. Endowment capacity can help explain how a school may support aid, instruction and long-term affordability for qualifying students.

Accreditation

Old Dominion University lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor per College Scorecard. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.

Visit Accreditor

Campus Location and Contact

Old Dominion University is listed at 5115 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23529. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Address

5115 Hampton Blvd
Norfolk, VA 23529

Official website

Open school website

Admissions policy

Selective admissions policy reported

Open Directions in Google Maps

Compare Schools

Compare Old Dominion University with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.

Old Dominion University
Accept. rate
90.52%
Tuition
$32,662
Net price
$14,170
10-yr earnings
$54,914
Washington and Lee University
Accept. rate
17.36%
Tuition
$64,525
Net price
$23,911
10-yr earnings
$94,810
Chamberlain University-Virginia
Accept. rate
100.00%
Tuition
$20,462
Net price
Not available
10-yr earnings
$92,405
University of Virginia-Main Campus
Accept. rate
16.86%
Tuition
$58,014
Net price
$22,881
10-yr earnings
$86,863
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Accept. rate
57.03%
Tuition
$36,694
Net price
$23,790
10-yr earnings
$81,698

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is Old Dominion University Tuition?

Old Dominion University out-of-state tuition per College Scorecard is $32,662. In-state tuition is $12,262. Verify current tuition directly with the school before making enrollment decisions.

What is Old Dominion University's average net price?

Old Dominion University's average net price per College Scorecard is $14,170. Net price reflects average cost after grants and scholarships where reported.

Does this page include all Old Dominion University fees?

The College Scorecard supports tuition, room and board, books, other expenses, attendance cost, net price and aid fields. Separate mandatory fee data is not available for every school, so fees should be verified with Old Dominion University.

What is Old Dominion University's acceptance rate?

Old Dominion University's acceptance rate per College Scorecard is 90.52%.

What is Old Dominion University's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?

Per College Scorecard, 10-year median earnings of $54,914 for Old Dominion University.

Is Old Dominion University accredited?

Old Dominion University's accreditor per College Scorecard is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How many students attend Old Dominion University?

Per College Scorecard, 17,521 undergraduate students at Old Dominion University.

What percentage of Old Dominion University students receive Pell grants?

The Pell grant rate for Old Dominion University per College Scorecard is 36.94%.

What is the federal loan rate at Old Dominion University?

The federal loan rate for Old Dominion University per College Scorecard is 42.17%.

Where should I verify Old Dominion University data?

Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Old Dominion University or the latest official federal education data.

What SAT requirements does Old Dominion University report?

Old Dominion University reports SAT data around 1,190, with math 540-630 and reading 570-660 where available.

What GPA requirements does Old Dominion University have?

GPA requirements are not reported in the College Scorecard and IPEDS data. Use the acceptance rate, SAT/ACT ranges and admissions policy here as context, then verify GPA expectations with the official admissions office.

When is the Old Dominion University application deadline?

Application deadline data is not reported in the College Scorecard/IPEDS fields used here. Check the official admissions site for Early Action, Regular Decision, priority scholarship and transfer deadline dates.

What majors and best programs does Old Dominion University offer?

Old Dominion University has reported program records including Psychology, General, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other, Criminology. Verify current majors with the official catalog.

What is Old Dominion University's ROI?

A simple ROI payback estimate is about 1.0 years using average net price and 10-year median earnings per College Scorecard.

Data Used on This Page

  • Tuition and net price: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard/IPEDS-derived data.
  • Admissions and test signals: Reported federal fields where available.
  • Official verification: School website and net price calculator where available.